Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 480

4 stars
Based on 61 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


99 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Franklin Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted August 11, 2014
- a parent
Franklin is falling behind and should take cues from better schools. I would much rather be back at Mt Washington Elementary and can see now what made that school above the rest.

Franklin Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted June 25, 2014
- a parent
Great school....superb parent involvement...(mostly) wonderful teachers (maybe couple who should retire) however with that said as an overall this school is awesome. We are more than thrilled to be a Franklin Fox Family.


Franklin Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted May 12, 2014
- a parent
There is a definite bias towards children of parents that are deeply involved with fund raising activities. I had to transfer my son out of Franklin due to continuous problems with bullying. Teachers and administration refuse to take action out of fear of reprisal from a parent that is heavily involved in extracurricular activities. Even after multilple compliants from multiple parents.

Franklin Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted September 25, 2013
- a parent
fun, friendly and an awesome part of the community! The parental involvement makes this school stand out in hard economic times.

Franklin Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
I love this school! Awesome staff, principle, and families!! Thanks to all the continued support from the generous parents and community. Despite the budget cuts Franklin still thrives!


Franklin Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
Franklin was a fantastic experience for my eldest child who graduated last June. He is now thriving at middle school. My younger two are also thriving at Franklin. There is a focus on arts, but still teaches the basics.Test scores keep improving. My kids keep learning and stay interested in the subjects.

Franklin Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
Our school is fantastic! It has wonderful teachers who really cares about the children and their education and value each individual. It has survived cuts in the economy due to involved and generous parents. We love our school!

Franklin Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
Franklin Ave Elementary is a fantastic neighborhood school. The student body is truly diverse (in terms of ethnicity, economics and academic ability), and the teachers seem committed to reaching all the kids. The parent community is very strong, raising money for arts education and other "extras." There are many fun, after school events throughout the year (fairs, etc.) that build community and celebrate the kids.


Franklin Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted August 03, 2013
- a parent
Amazing and caring teachers. Curious, imaginative,loving kids. Learning environment with parents of all cultures who care and get involved!

Franklin Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted August 02, 2013
- a parent
We feel very fortunate to be immersed in an environment with caring teachers and super involved parents. My daughter thrived in her 1st grade class with a teacher that treated each student individually and respectfully. There is a great sense of community at Franklin and when challenges arise due to budget cuts, there is no hesitation for parents and staff to put their heads together to work toward solutions.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Franklin Avenue Elementary School
1910 North Commonwealth Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90027
(323) 663-0320
Last modified Franklin Avenue Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Franklin Avenue Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 99 reviews. Top