Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


James A. Garfield Senior High School 1

Posted August 16, 2011
- a parent
This school was the worst school that i would not recommend any parent on having there kids going to . Since my son started the 9th grade i asked for help and only one time did he get counciled. He was bullied all though his high school years there. I spoke to his magnet counselor and she never helped. The attendance staff lacks office skills ,customer service asap. The principal has a great challenge ahead of him in order for Garfield to be the best with that staff it will never happen.

James A. Garfield Senior High School 4

Posted May 09, 2011
- a community member
As a former student of Garfield,I too think it is a great school. The AP classes and teachers are excellent,I had the good fortune to be taught by some of those teachers. Overall it is a good school and I had a great time there as a student but if there was one negative it would be the lack of teaching skill of some of the other faculty (non-AP)is not up to par.


James A. Garfield Senior High School 3

Posted December 05, 2009
- a student
Garfield high offers large selection of AP courses, clubs, sports, and other resources. Naturally so, it's student population is extremely large for a school the size of Garfield. There is no racial diversity which doesn't help in preparing students for the 'real world'. However, a student with enough drive can certainly make his experience at Garfield well worth it in terms of preparation for college, and/or life. As a recent Garfield alumni, I know that there are great teachers who really care about their students. The question resides in whether the students care about themselves.

James A. Garfield Senior High School 3

Posted June 24, 2009
- a student
Garfield is really what you make of it. There are the top students which is reflected highly which clubs such as Academic Decathlon or those who are 'demos' always struggling to get their high school diploma. I'd say the resources are there, but you have to look for them. The college center is always open and should become a student's best friend. There are alot of available clubs and that is just as essential to colleges -especially privates- as are grades. Of course it depends on the student's ambition and drive. The teacher's for the most part are friendly. For those lucky students, you experience teachers who have worked for 41 years+. I was able to take 9 AP courses throughout my high school hm I guess life but I had to cross-track. I would say there is a lack of diversity since it is predominant Hispanic.

James A. Garfield Senior High School 3

Posted June 10, 2009
- a student
Garfield is one of the top schools in the eastern region of los angeles. There are many extracurriculars, and many Oppurtunities such as scholarship available. The only thing necessary is for the student him/herself to go and find/ sign up for them. Garfield is a year-round school, so it does sometimes get a little crowded. Just needs to be more diversed in population. I would say; Garfield, great school, just all depends on what the students have ambition for and incline towards.


James A. Garfield Senior High School 5

Posted April 19, 2009
- a parent
Great school for our kids to attend. The school is nice and clean and they have a great lunch program. I recommend parents to think about it an sign up their children to this school.

James A. Garfield Senior High School 5

Posted March 07, 2009
- a parent
good school for advance plcements and the diversity is an example how this High school works with diferent kids

James A. Garfield Senior High School 5

Posted January 15, 2009
- a community member
The Advance Placement courses offered are diverse from Sciences to Foreign Languages and everything in between. Courses are designed to prepare students for the exam, as well as the content of what college courses will demand. GHS is one of the few high schools in a predominately low income sector of Los Angeles County that exceeds in the expectations of their students. Believe in the students, while demanding more from them results in confident prepared college bound students.


James A. Garfield Senior High School 5

Posted November 18, 2008
- a student
This school is very overcrowed but has very great programs such as AVID and Gear Up

James A. Garfield Senior High School 5

Posted October 14, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

James A. Garfield Senior High School
5101 East Sixth Street, Los Angeles, CA  90022
(323) 981-5500
Last modified James A. Garfield Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
James A. Garfield Senior High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top