Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Garvanza Elementary School 1

Posted May 24, 2014
- a parent
Teacher need more motivation to give to the student and parent need to let new parents to participate.

Garvanza Elementary School 5

Posted November 07, 2012
- a community member
Garvanza Elementary School is an outstanding school! Every child deserves to go to a school like Garvanza.


Garvanza Elementary School 1

Posted April 05, 2010
- a parent
teacher need motivation our kids know when they are being ignore .......

Garvanza Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 27, 2009
- a parent
I must say this is a great elementary school. My daughter attended this school from K-5. The teachers are very nice. The school program is excellent, a lot of activities. The teachers are patient and help the students really well. I 100% recomment this school.

Garvanza Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 04, 2008
- a parent
Hands down, the best elementary school! Both of my kids, who no longer attend because we moved to a different district, attended this school from K-5 and K-3, and absolutely loved it! The teachers are excellent and very caring. The principal and staff are friendly and helpful. The after school program was great, with many activities after school and sometimes on the weekends. There is also help for math in the library. We miss this school, its staff, students and parents. We are glad it's doing very well. Parents: Send your kids to this school, you won't regret it.


Garvanza Elementary School 5

Posted March 09, 2008
- a parent
A good school. The teachers do a good job from what I've seen. My son has done very well here. Parents get as much out of a school as they are willing to demand. Another thing I like is that it's all Mexican kids here. Almost without exception. I don't worry about my about my child being harassed by racist white kids like I saw growing up in Sacramento. I love Garvanza school.

Garvanza Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2007
- a parent
This is my daughter's first and only year at Garvanza Elementary, which is unfortunate, we just moved into the area. She is in the 5th grade. She adapted quickly at Garvanza. Her instructor is on top of her agendas and is very dedicated to having the students in her class reach the level which the students must met at the end of the year. This is a crucial year because these students are headed to a higher and more demanding level in middle school. The administration staff and after school program staff(LA's Best) has been very responsive and helpful to me and my daughter. I wish my daughter was able to be at this school earlier. Compared to the last school she was in, this one rates higher in my opinion.

Garvanza Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2006
- a teacher
Excellent California Distinguished School! The students and staff are wonderful.


Garvanza Elementary School 5

Posted November 14, 2005
- a teacher
Great school! Excellect administrators and staff.

Garvanza Elementary School 1

Posted July 16, 2005
- a parent
The staff at this school treat parents as though we are kids. They don't try to understand the children individually, even though they do go through the motions, and end up passing the buck to someone else like to a councelor at Hathaways. Is there a better school close to this one?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Garvanza Elementary School
317 North Avenue 62, Los Angeles, CA  90042-2808
(323) 254-7328
Last modified Garvanza Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Garvanza Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top