Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Glassell Park Elementary School 5

Posted February 01, 2016
- a parent
I don't have knowledge of the rest of the teachers - so no comment either way. But our Pre-K teacher, Ms. Hosaka has been amazing! The principal is also very involved with the students and families. She know me each time I call.

Glassell Park Elementary School 4

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
I love Glassell Park ! We have the most caring and patient staff. Our principal is on the school yard at recess helping kids even with jump rope! I love that personal interaction!!! Thank you Ms. Sugahara and GP teachers!!!!


Glassell Park Elementary School 2

Posted September 25, 2012
- a parent
What ever happened to Mr. Tagawa and Mr. Orlowski? These guys were real heroes that boys could look up to!! Mr. Tagawa was a really hard worker and actually visited every sixth grader's home! Mr. Orlowski was a true gentleman and taught kids academics as well as modeling lessons in character by his exemplary conduct!! I hope they come back to Glassell Park some day!!!!!!!

Glassell Park Elementary School 2

Posted September 18, 2012
- a community member
Please note that the negative comment below was written by the school's coordinator, not by a parent:)

Glassell Park Elementary School 5

Posted September 14, 2012
- a parent
Although this school has had three different principals in the last four years, the teachers have stayed dedicated and caring. My daughter attended Glassell Park and had great teachers. I know that the school community really works together to create a positive learning environment.


Glassell Park Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2012
- a teacher
Fabulous staff and school community! New principal, Dean Tagawa, is an outstanding leader in the neighborhood! We are moving toward greater success!

Glassell Park Elementary School 5

Posted December 30, 2007
- a parent
I'm very happy with my son's experience in his pre-kinder. He is not just learning social skills, but valuable academic ones as well to prepare him for Kindergarten. Teachers are very kind.

Glassell Park Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 26, 2007
- a parent
I don't really care for the 'off track' sessions. Not including the 2 weeks of Winter vacation, my son ends up being off of school for an additional 6 weeks. This makes it difficult when the school only offers 1 intersession during the entire school year (either during the Summer or Winter). I was not informed of this until last week, & am now in a huge rush to find placement for him. In addition to that, I find that several people working in the office have misinformed me on numerous occassions & have also failed to deliver messages to my son's teacher when he's been sick. Currently, my son is in Pre-k & his teacher (Mrs. Linder) is GREAT! I like her curriculum very much & I can say my son has learned alot.


Glassell Park Elementary School 3

Posted February 14, 2006
- a parent
I don't really like the idea of the tracks, because they only go to school 6 weeks and get out for 6 weeks. it seems like if the school is that overcrowded the surronding school with out track should allow some students to transfer.

Glassell Park Elementary School 3

Posted May 27, 2005
- a teacher
The administration has actively pursued and attained funding for a variety of enrichment programs in the past four years. This school would benefit from more parent involvement but no one has really stepped up to make that happen yet. Scores on standardized testing have risen overall around twelve points in the last three years largely due to the Open Court Reading program, a strictly enforced math curriculum and a committed, talented staff. Music and art education are currently very minimal due to the emphasis on getting standardized scores up - students in fourth and fifth grades recieve the bulk of the extracurricular monies as the focus in lower grades is more on building skills and English language proficiency. The seeds are all there for a great school but economic and language barriers limit the experiences and opportunities for the students and their community.

Nearby schools

Glassell Park Elementary School
2211 West Avenue 30, Los Angeles, CA  90065-1204
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (323) 223-2277
Last modified Glassell Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top