Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 427
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Glenfeliz Boulevard Elementary School 4

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
I am commenting on another person's quote regarding the new demands from the Common Core Standards on First and Second Grade writing. First, I have to agree that it is a lot that is expected of six year olds. Second, I agree again that not all 6-year olds are developmentally ready for higher-level work. However, if the state has raised the bar, on academic achievement; then, we as parents need to be on the ball with our child's education. How do we do that? For starters, sit with your child when he or she does his/her homework. You'll be surprised to either see how much they know and understand, or where they struggle and need help. Then, speak to your child's teacher at Parent Conferences and ask all the questions you have, and ask for suggestions on how to help your child. They are more than happy to show you strategies to help your child because they too want to see your child succeed in school. Next, get the resources you need to help your child at home. In summary, if we want our children to be successful in their academic life, then we need to act positively in our child's favor.
1 person found this helpful

Glenfeliz Boulevard Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2014
- a parent
Glenfeliz elem is a great school. The teachers are amazing, very welcoming to any parent that wants to become more involved. The school also has a very strong PTA that year round is working to provide a better quality of education for its students, also they bring alot of fun activities to our school. Free after school program LA BEST is wonderful with very responsible and caring coaches. I have been involved with this school for 8 years between my 3 children and have absolutely no complaints.
2 people found this helpful


Glenfeliz Boulevard Elementary School 5

Posted October 16, 2014
- a parent
It's our first year at Glenfeliz Elementary...we love the school,. We love his teacher.... We love Atwater! The only thing thing missing from this school is parent and community involvement. Unfortunately a lot of Atwater families choose Charter, private, or other neighborhood schools. It does feel like the school is changing for the better and so far were happy. Although I'm not that thrilled with the principal and I do feel like she can do more.
2 people found this helpful

Glenfeliz Boulevard Elementary School 5

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
We are very happy with our first year at Glenfeliz Blvd. Elementary. The benefits of our neighborhood school: smaller class sizes, the walk to school, teachers who are caring and responsive, an after-school homework club enrichment program, neighborhood involvement, etc. This fall a new garden (result of efforts all around by the principal, the booster club, grants and fundraising, the work of Enrich L.A., and support from PTA and parents) is being built which will bring new learning opportunities for the students. We are so excited to be a part of this school.
2 people found this helpful

Glenfeliz Boulevard Elementary School 4

Posted August 16, 2011
- a parent
My children attend Glenfeliz Elementary School and we have been very happy there. There are a lot of opportunities to get involved at the school - Friends of Glenfeliz, the PTA, etc., plus lots of great events like Family Reading Night and movie nights that bring our community together. I know some people have issues with our principal, but if you live in the area, I strongly recommend giving your local school a try. (Also, per some of the complaints, there are definitely low-cost after-school programs, even the enrichment program offers scholarships!)
1 person found this helpful


Glenfeliz Boulevard Elementary School 5

Posted December 01, 2010
- a parent
Excellent school, my daughter has learned so much!. Please take the time to speak with the teachers and other parents if you are considering Glenfeliz. My daughter is now in 1st grade and we have had a wonderful experience. The principal is a bit animated but seems to actually care this year since our API score has dropped below 800. Se seems to be tryig in the right directuon. There are afterschool programs for ALL students! not just the ones that can afford it. All of the programs are LOW to NO cost. We love the afterschool Homework club and Enrichment classes. There is parent involvement more than other schools and the seem to really ccare.

Glenfeliz Boulevard Elementary School 1

Posted November 02, 2010
- a parent
for prior postings..i thought teacher names were not allowed??????? after school programs, only if families can afford them...small class sizes...only because others have left the scene...poor school safety: absolutely; any support or "extra" amenities for students who need anything out of the ordinary: non existent.....

Glenfeliz Boulevard Elementary School 5

Posted June 18, 2010
- a parent
Our child just completed her first year and we could not have asked for a better kindergarten teacher. The instruction at the school is outstanding, and there is an amazing after school enrichment program! Our experience with faculty and administration has been overwhelmingly positive. Glenfeliz Blvd. Elementary is an Atwater gem!


Glenfeliz Boulevard Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
The dedicated teachers who do all they can to help their kids. They also have a wonderful after school enrichment program that my son loves!

Glenfeliz Boulevard Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
Our local school is just two blocks from our house, works hard to respond to parents and provide culturally-competent instruction, and offers a socioeconomically diverse environment, where our children can learn what the real world of people around us is like.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Glenfeliz Boulevard Elementary School
3955 Glenfeliz Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA  90039
(323) 666-1431
Last modified Glenfeliz Boulevard Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Glenfeliz Boulevard Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top