Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Grand View Boulevard Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 514 students

LAUSD's First & Only 90:10 Spanish Immersion Program since 1990
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 16 ratings
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted February 2, 2014

Welcome to Grand View! Our Spanish Immersion Program, the first and only 90:10 model in LAUSD, is stronger than ever in its 24th year. Our superb English Learning Academy is reaching new goals in stride with our dedication to rigorous academics. Thanks to our incredibly committed, dynamic teachers, test scores continue to rise at unprecedented levels (API +126 in five years), placing us in the top 5% of schools for growth. We are thrilled this year to integrate students with special needs as part of our extended curriculum in P.S. ARTS, District Arts, Adapted Physical Education and our excellent Garden School Foundation Seed to Table program. Every student has access to a wide range of enrichment choices, plus free before and after-school care with clubs and homework assistance. Meanwhile, parents get involved with workshops at our state-of-the-art Parent Center, or with the PTA, which enthusiastically betters our school and hosts a fun array of educational and cultural events. We are proud to be the home of such a vibrant and collaborative community. Come see for yourself why so many families choose Grand View over any other. Go Dragons! Principal Ortiz

53 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 6, 2013

The Grand View Dual Language Program is the only 90/10 role model in LAUSD. My son was resistant to speak Spanish but after 6 months in the program, he was speaking Spanish to me and his grandparents. Now at the end of Kindergarten I see him and his classmates playing on the school yard and they are speaking in Spanish. The teachers are very passionate and the programs the students have (dia de los muertos & dia del nino) are great. The children are not only learning Spanish but the Latino culture as well. What would I say to a new parent? Come into the classroom and see for yourself the amazing things the kids are doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2013

I love this school and feel so happy to have found it. it's the oldest dual language school in la unified. the teachers are professional, dedicated and warm. the place has heart!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2013

My son is in 2nd grade Dual Language (has been in the program since Pre-K) and my daughter will be entering Pre-K Dual Language in the fall. I have been a teacher at GV for 15 years and have seen the Dual Language absolutely flourish. The teachers are dedicated and the parental involvement is relentlessly passionate. My son has become a fluent reader and writer in Spanish and English and more importantly has made life-long friends with children from diverse cultures. It is a school that should be on your MUST TOUR LIST!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2013

My neighbors thought we were crazy to permit out of our neighborhood "highly desired" school to attend Grand View. Our neighborhood school is exceptional...but we really wanted our kids to learn a second language and that was not possible there. The 90/10 immersion model is highly touted as the best way for non-native speakers to master the language and that's what we found at Grand View. Our child had no exposure to spanish prior to entering and has done beautifully! Understanding, speaking, reading, writing...and with such confidence! We are so impressed with our experience at this school We plan to send our younger ones there as well! Don't let the test scores keep you from checking out this program. Take a tour and see the kids/teachers in action!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2013

We enrolled our kindergartener after being wait-listed at the "other district language" schools, admittedly, not our first choice. It should have been. I can't believe more parents aren't pitching up tents to make sure they get in. They will be soon. It's the only 90/10 DL program in all of LAUSD, which I've researched, is the best way for a non-native speaker to master the 2nd language, and actually excel at it. It's been around for over 20 years, the teachers, the principal, the parents are GREAT!! We recently had hundreds of volunteers over several weekends, beautifying the school - painting, planting, murals, cleaning, fixing, etc. It still needs more work BUT the very passionate and active parents and teachers will get us there. Concerned about API scores? Don't be short-sited. Our Kindergartener is thriving and now even corrects my Spanish. The DL teachers put on a Spring Festival where the kids dance and sing in Spanish. There's art and music 1 x per week vs. 1 x per month like the other schools. The parents are working to make GV the school of 1st choice for Spanish Immersion. Dr. Deasy, LAUSD Superintendent will be visiting to support us in these efforts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

My daughter is at the end of her Kinder year in the Dual Language Spanish Program. We have had a great first year and highly recommend this 90/10 model vs. 50/50 model to any family considering this a dual language program. The teachers are great and the principal is involved. We have a Beautification Day coming up quick and it is sure to transform the looks of the campus. We will be back next year and are going to be very involved in making it an even better place to learn and grow. Come check us out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

Look, it's an underfunded LAUSD city school. It's not pretty, it's not full of bells & whistles. ALL our public schools need more. But guess what? My kids LOVE Grand View. They love their teachers and their friends and there's a real sense of community. The principal, Mr Ortiz, really cares about this school. The teachers are really committed and I know that those in the dual language program are all highly educated with master's degrees or certificates in bilingual education. We decided to permit into the school for one reason: Spanish language. The beauty of it is, since the school has a very high Latino population where Spanish is the language in the home, my kids are playing with their friends on the playground IN SPANISH. It is a true immersion situation. You will not find this anywhere else in West LA. We are very pleased with our choice, and we're on the way to giving our kids the bilingual education we both wish we'd had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2013

This school is a gem of a school. It offers a dual languagebprogram with incredibly astute teachers and a competent dedicated staff. You must tour this campus and see how their 90/10 program nurtures both cultural learning and language aptitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2012

This is a fabulous school. The staff and principal are great. They seem to work really hard to make this a truly great school. One of the things I like about this school is the level of parental involvement. There is always some kind of parent workshop or family event sponsored by the school. My child is in the English and I could not be happier with the teachers he has had. I also know that they have a very successful Dual Language Program in Spanish. I would recommend this school to any one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2011

My wife, Heather, just added the "HUGE advocate" post below. In doing so, she inadvertently deleted the post we had submitted when our son was in Pre-K last year. Because our original post is still true & relevant, I m including it here: "Grand View's Dual Language Program really is a diamond in the rough! We couldn't believe our good fortune when we found such a sought after program right down the street from us. It's an excellent program with highly trained and dedicated faculty whose passion for the program really make it shine! The parents are also very involved and extremely passionate about the program. It's very much like a being part of a big beautiful family at Grand View. We encourage anyone looking for quality education to stop by and get to know us." Update: Our son is in Kindergarten now and is already speaking, reading and writing in Spanish! He's also teaching his grandmother, aunt and neighbors some basic Spanish. He even corrects our pronunciation of certain words in Spanish. Unfortunately we waited until college to learn a second language. We are so glad he doesn't have too! This is a unique opportunity not to be missed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2011

My child is in the Spanish dual immersion program. There are great, engaging and caring people in the program with lots of parent invovlement and there are people who care and a show a true concern for the students. I don't live in the immediate school zone, but I easily permited in and find it welcoming. The teachers have a passion for teaching in the dual immersion program. There are many social and special events in evening that creat a great community. A great parent center too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2011

My son is currently attending the Pre-k class here and has the best teachers. I am so happy and my son genuinely loves his class and his teachers. I highly recommend this program to anyone interested it takes some time and volunteering on your part but it is well,well worth it. Thank you Grand View.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Grand View Elementary is a great school. We had two of our kids attend the school and both were identified as Gifted Students. They continue to excel in their studies. This is possible due to the dedicated teachers Grand View has. We are proud parents and volunteers for the school. Please take a moment of your time to check us out. We have a Parent Resource Center for more information and an informative Community Representative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

because two of my daughter goes to that school . The teachers are really great and they do a wonderful job on let us know on how our kids are doing in school, And my son will start pre k by September at grand view so please check us out our kids deserved it>
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

I Love Grand view because my kids goes to that school they have great teachers and staff so please check the school out. Thank you for your support
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

One word, wonderful. I have three children attending grand view for its wonderful Spanish immersion program. The program has great teachers who are caring, educated and willing to make your work to their potential. You will not be disappointing. Please check us out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

This is one of the best schools around. The teachers and staff really care about the students and help them reach their full potential. They are very supportive and provide with the kids with a vast variety of enrichment programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

Grand View is a true community school. The teachers who live in the area bring their own children to Grand View. To me, this is a very strong endorsement of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

I have been a Grand View parent for the past nine years and both of my kids have received an excellent education through the SEI (English Classes) program. Both have scored highly in their state tests and both have been identified as gifted students. This wouldn't have been possible if it weren't for the great and dedicated SEI teachers @ Grand View Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

I love our Dual Language Program and our dedicated teachers! We have a wonderful community of parents and teachers, who work hard to make our school the best it can be; ever evolving and growing. Both my kids are in the DL program and are testing above average. It is amazing to see my children reading, writing, and speaking in two languages! I feel very blessed to live close enough to attend Grand View and have the option of this program. In other parts of the country, families are on long wait lists to get into programs like this! We also have a wonderful school garden, arts programs, and free before and after-school care.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

804

Change from
2012 to 2013

+29

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

804

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+29

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
29%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students58%
Females67%
Males49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability62%
English learner49%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate54%
Parent education - high school graduate62%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state39%

Math

All Students65%
Females65%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner55%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate62%
Parent education - high school graduate69%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)87%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students32%
Females39%
Males27%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino24%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability31%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate21%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students64%
Females71%
Males59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner43%
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate62%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students46%
Females56%
Males36%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability47%
English learner10%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate39%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students58%
Females65%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability60%
English learner30%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate59%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students57%
Females62%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learner16%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented78%
Parent education - not a high school graduate57%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students71%
Females70%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner45%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduate72%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students59%
Females55%
Males64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented78%
Parent education - not a high school graduate56%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 76%
Black 12%
White 9%
Asian 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/AN/A
English language learners 48%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
Chinese (Mandarin)
Spanish
Hindi, Farsi
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • LASUD API 800+ Honor School (+29 from 2012) (2013)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club: Modern, Flamenco, Zumba
  • Drill team

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • 90:10 Spanish Immersion Model
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Hindi, Farsi
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Gardening
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 235 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
76%
agree
 
District average
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
71%
 

District average

 
70%
 

Students

This school

 
81%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
78%
agree
 
District average
77%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
78%
 

District average

 
74%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
71%
agree
 
District average
70%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
87%
 

District average

 
78%
 

Students

This school

 
55%
 

District average

 
58%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
69%
agree
 
District average
68%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
69%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents12327%
Students11249%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15
School end time
  • 2:40
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Alfredo Ortiz, Principal
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • usona@aol.com
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (310) 390-5836

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • 90:10 Spanish Immersion+Learning Academy
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • 90:10 Spanish Immersion Model
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Hindi, Farsi
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Reading intervention
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Handball
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Best Fit Fitness Program
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Book/reading club
  • Brain Games
  • Chess club
  • Cooking club
  • Dance club: Modern, Flamenco, Zumba
  • Design & Building
  • Drill team
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Game club
  • Gardening
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Math club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Young Authors Program
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
  • Volunteer time before school
More from this school
  • Grand View offers an nurturing, academically rigorous environment where students are inspired to create and learn, from Spanish Immersion to the Learning Academy to Special Education. Our enrichment and extracurricular activities are top notch and ever-expanding. Our active parents are friendly and welcoming to newcomers. The spirit of collaboration and positivity on campus serves our students well. Grand View is the first choice of so many families. We invite you to get to know us and see why.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Mark Twain Middle School World Languages Magnet & Arts Academy
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3951 Grand View Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA 90066
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 390-3618

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Village Glen West
Los Angeles, CA


Thg West
Los Angeles, CA


Summit View?Westside
Los Angeles, CA


Culver City Adventist
Los Angeles, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT