Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hillcrest Drive Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 750 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2013

I think this school is great. My son has learned so much and the staff is so very helpful with speech therapy and counseling. he has come out of his shell and i thank the office staff and teachers he has had. LABEST is not that great... but I love hillcrest, i think it was agreat move to put my son in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2012

Hillcrest has made great strides in improving student achievement over the last 2 years. The principal who came on board 2 years ago has really helped turn the school around. Not only is the school providing the students with much needed intervention, but the school has a full time music teacher and is part of the Arts Cadre, meaning the school receives visual arts, drama, and dance. There is after school care for grades K-5 through the LAs Best program. The one part that is lacking is parent involvement, which the school is working on. The campus is not only a community school, but also a music magnet, with a fabulous instrumental and vocal music teacher. Go Hillcrest!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 9, 2012

Charters are not the answer. And neither are people who have never worked in a school. Charter scores on average the same as public and have to keep being bailed out by big corporations. Why can't these corporations bail out public education, a basic right of every citizen? The teachers of Hillcrest wrote a plan. And in proper English.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 28, 2011

This school is a tragedy! LAUSD please charter it out! Please! Yes, there's a new principal there and although she may be a great person, she has no backbone and has already been caught up in the turmoil that's contributed to the school's sad state of affairs. I sincerely regret enrolling my child at this school - even for the year that she attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

I reluctantly admitted my 3rd grade daughter to Hillcrest, after West Angeles Christian Academy closed its doors. I was hoping that maybe she could survive there at least one school year, while I applied for a magnet school. She was VERY excited to start school, but on her first day when she returned home, her attitude towards school changed dramatically. When asked how her first day went, her response was, 'Mommy all the kids call each other the 'N-word' and they curse at each other and say other words we're not supposed to use.' Now I understand that the teachers cannot regulate everything, but that was just too much for me to bear. After that experience, along with a couple of others, I switched her to a charter school a week later. And I don't regret it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2007

Hillcrest is a great school. The 1st grade teachers work hard with the students and are clearly invested in their success. They care about their students' progress. Also, the Math, Literacy Coaches and school counselors seem to give 110%. The administration is friendly and approachable and have good control. The principal. MS. Smith is no-nonsense while still maintaining a good relationship with students and staff.


Posted November 3, 2007

My daughter started at Hillcrest DR. 2 years ago. She is in the 3rd grade now. My son who is now in the 9th grade, attended Hillcrest DR from kindergarten to 5th grade. Both of my children were pleased to be at Hillcrest DR. I, as a parent am pleased to have my daughter attend the same school as her brother, once did. Mrs. Smith, the Principal, is doing a great job, along with her team members. It take team members working together, on the same page , make positive things happen. It's not always the area of the school, it is the teachers, who make a school worth attending. Not all teachers, I can say that for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2007

Hillcrest elementary is starting to pick up steam, the leadership is looking a little better now, the grounds are clean and in order, school security makes sure kids are where they susposed to be. The music magnet teacher is awesome, have recieved many recognition awards from the city. Parents need to be more involved with the school.Dicipline needs to be focused on more by the parent than the teachers, I saw that some of the teachers were wasting valuable classroom time on discipline than education. Overall my kids loved their teachers, and the school. Go Hillcrest Go. 10/30/2007
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

I am disappointed with the leadership at this school. My child has attended this school for the past three years. I am removing my child from this school, because this school year the school has become a school where the children run the school and leadership and learning is missing. My child will not return to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

I love this school its great, the teachers are very caring and they work with the parents as well to make sure the kids understand the work, I think the music magnet is good , I'm moving and I hate that I have to take my son out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2006

I am a parant of two girls who have attended HDE since Fall 2003. My oldest daughter started kindergarten at this time, while my youngest daughter started pre-K. My daughters have also been enrolled in the afterschool program called LAsBEST at HDE since Fall 2003. The school is located in an area where there are many single parent households and a culture of gang, drugs, and violence. Once the children make it on the campus the principal and staff of HDE try their best to ensure safety of the children from the problems in the neigborhood. These problems include police activity which causes school lockdowns several times a school year. The school is a year round school which may create a small amount of disconnect for returning students and leaving students who may be on a two month vacation in the middle of the traditional school year. The school is improving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2006

Hillcrest School is located in a BAD area. However, the teachers, parents and the principal focus on keeping our children safe and teaching them to reach and write. I remember when Hillcrest was a dirty school and the police where there every day. I was suprised to return to the school and find a clean, safe school with the focus on student learning. I see the children reading on the yard in the morning and I enjoy attending the monthly awards assemblies were parents are invited to see their children getting awards for reading, math, and behavior. My child will often tell me the her school is the best. I send a special thanks to the staff at Hillcrest for teaching our children and keeping them safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2006

I like the way the children begin their day. Each morning the children are asked 'Why did they come to school today?' The child always say 'To learn!' I think this helps children understanding that school is a place to learn. Keep up the good work Hillcrest staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2006

Hillcrest Drive Elementary is a great school. I was glad to met the principal and my child's teacher. The school is concerned about student learning. I am glad to have my child enrolled at Hillcrest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2005

Great school, caring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2005

Hillcrest has all the necessary academic programs in place and even has the added benefit of a Music Magnet. With all the right ingredients, one has to wonder why the school is not on the right track. Hillcrest lacks instructional leadership. The school is clean and routines are in place, but the overall focus is on what children can't do therefore Hillcrest's students don't achieve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2005

This school principal has based her entire time to discipline in which has shows the reflections on the scores our kids our receiving. I do understand why she has focused so much on discipline due to the fact of the enviornment that the school is located in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

My experience with this school has not been a pleasurable one. Fortunately, my children have had good teachers while attending Hillcrest Drive Elem., however; the overall focus at the school, in my opinion, is not placed on academics but placed on discipline. I understand how important it is to have well behaved students and I commend them on their efforts, but some of the tactics that are used in this school are more along the lines of scare tactics rather than educational ones. The focus of the school needs to be placed back on educating the students and finding ways to bring the schools overall test scores up. The afterschool program at this school is wonderful, and I encourage the staff of the afterschool program to keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2005

This was the first school my children attended moving to L.A. it was not very good at all in a bad area and no extracurricular activities. The teacher qulity was awful they didnt show much interest in the students at all. This was my worst experience at any school my kids have attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2004

This school is very militeristic. Quiet zone for eating. Time out on the dot for students who misbehave, sometimes the entire class is on the dot. Special Ed students are left out of school wide activities. Principal is very autoritarian and teachers do not work as a team. When the principal does not like you, you become the scapegoat.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

705

Change from
2012 to 2013

+13

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

705

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+13

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

1 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
30%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
12%

2010

 
 
14%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
23%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
26%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
20%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
25%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students33%
Females43%
Males21%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability34%
English learner21%
Fluent-English proficient and English only40%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate21%
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)30%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state40%

Math

All Students36%
Females40%
Males31%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability38%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only39%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate32%
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)30%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students35%
Females36%
Males35%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability36%
English learner13%
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate39%
Parent education - high school graduate32%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)38%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state37%

Math

All Students58%
Females52%
Males66%
African American59%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate61%
Parent education - high school graduate63%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)31%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students39%
Females36%
Males41%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability39%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented86%
Parent education - not a high school graduate39%
Parent education - high school graduate25%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state39%

Math

All Students55%
Females51%
Males58%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner52%
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students28%
Females26%
Males32%
African American23%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability29%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only36%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate25%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state33%

Math

All Students35%
Females34%
Males37%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability36%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only40%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state35%

Science

All Students29%
Females27%
Males30%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability30%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only37%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate27%
Parent education - high school graduate25%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state23%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 52%
Black 46%
White 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/AN/A
English language learners 35%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School leaders can update this information here.
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 113 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
60%
agree
 
District average
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
60%
 

District average

 
70%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
58%
agree
 
District average
70%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
58%
 

District average

 
78%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
63%
agree
 
District average
68%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
63%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents11318%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Elizabeth Pratt
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Fax number
  • (323) 292-9180

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4041 Hillcrest Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90008
Website: Click here
Phone: (323) 296-6867

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Marlton School
Los Angeles, CA


CLAS Affirmation School
Los Angeles, CA





Fortitude CCS School
Los Angeles, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT