Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
45 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 76 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ivanhoe Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter just started Kindergarten. Very impressive faculty, community and foundation effort. Best school in town.

Ivanhoe Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
Karina Osuna is extremely professional, competent and cares about our kids. She goes the extra mile.


Ivanhoe Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
By treating every student with respect and dignity. Strong policies, guidelines and protocols within an environment of openness, individuality and creative learning.

Ivanhoe Elementary School 5

Posted January 08, 2013
- a community member
Amazing school! The perfect teachers and principle! The perfect learning environment for all children! This school has so much to offer, such as fun musicals and technology.

Ivanhoe Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2012
- a community member
I was a student and attended Ivanhoe in the mid-eighties, awesome teachers/school/faculties, great experience and memories, totally recommended..."Keep your feet on the ground and reach for the stars..."


Ivanhoe Elementary School 5

Posted June 29, 2012
- a community member
The best elementary school in LAUSD. Teachers are exceptional and the parents are involved. Now if we could just get the County and State to chip in more tax dollars instead of less!!!

Ivanhoe Elementary School 5

Posted June 12, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is about to finish her first year at Ivanhoe. Her teachers and principle have been outstanding. The community involvement has been out of this world. It makes me extremely happy that we purchased a home in this area of Los Angeles. It s hard to find areas of this city that feel like a community. This school is a big part of the reason this little hamlet does.

Ivanhoe Elementary School 5

Posted May 28, 2012
- a parent
As the current school year comes to a close with my child finishing 4th grade, I panic to think I only have one more year at this incredible school. What middle school can hold a candle to Ivanhoe? Test scores & stats are just the basics of what make a school good but what makes a school GREAT is all of what Ivanhoe is (and I did not say offers intentionally). The diversity (both ethnically & economically) alone is an incredible learning experience not usually appreciated by a child until much later in life (yet priceless in today's global environment). From the maintenance people all the way up to the principal you will find the most caring & giving individuals. My experience through the years has been that the teachers do not bolt when the bell rings but instead doors have been open & inviting to both students & parents. But what really is the "piece de resistance" are the parents. A friend once told me that the world is made up of two types of people, givers & takers. Ivanhoe definitely tips the scale with givers, from Writers' Workshops to Guitar Clubs and more all free for the kids by countless hours generously given by parents. IVANHOE-the diamond in a megalopolis!


Ivanhoe Elementary School 5

Posted December 02, 2011
- a community member
I graduated from Ivanhoe in February 1939. It was an excellent school in those days,. My 6th grade teacher was Mrs. Henzey who took me and three or four other boys down to the Department of Water and Power and observed how they managed things. i believe her husband was employed there. The favorite sport was soccer which was played on a lopsided field using twin willow trees for goals on the west side and a tree and corner of a bungalow on the east. The school was a two story brick building which apparently got through the 1932 Long Beach earthquake unscathed since it was in use then. I had many friends at the school. All of us matriculated to Thomas Starr King for Junior High school.

Ivanhoe Elementary School 5

Posted November 07, 2011
- a parent
I can not believe how wonderful this little school is. The principal, the teachers and the parents really make this school a gem and a flagship for other school to see what a great school can be like. -a mother-

Nearby schools

Ivanhoe Elementary School
2828 Herkimer Street, Los Angeles, CA  90039-2010
(323) 664-0051
Last modified Ivanhoe Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top