Report this review as inappropriate

« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
Public district
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 1,619
Before care: No

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

Thomas Jefferson Senior High School 2

Posted February 14, 2014
- a community member
This school doesn't prepare student to be college ready. There are very few teachers that do invest on the students education. As well, teachers who don't care enough to teach students that all they have students do is read from textbooks and answer a few questions and your done for the day. But, it is not just teachers, its the counselors, administration, and the district who need to invest on giving students the right tools. Students are not left behind, the majority don't care about continuing or pursuing higher education. Only a few of the students care and those students are deprived and striped out of having a the right level of education. Having students wear uniforms, and more authority over these students is not the solution to bigger issues here. Parents and students have to take charge and demand better educational services and teachers, counselors, and the administrators have to work together to meet goals. This school would improve a lot if the school policies, the educational system, and the management of the school's money changes to better the way teachers teach, counselors advise, and students grasp of knowledge.

Thomas Jefferson Senior High School 1

Posted August 16, 2012
- a community member
Really bad school! Was a student at this school and there were a couple of good teachers but where the problem really is, is with the counselors and administration. The students need strong leadership so that they don't end up being another statistic and unfortunately this school is not there.

Thomas Jefferson Senior High School 1

Posted July 15, 2011
- a parent
bad school ! very bad,horrible do not send your children here this place is overall bad

Thomas Jefferson Senior High School 3

Posted January 22, 2010
- a student
This school has its up's and downs... I agree this school has teachers & staff that do not care about students learning and only care about the cash. Still their are teachers and do and a great teachers. The uniform policy i disagree. If we wore a uniform it would not match with the school color which is green & gold. Wheres the school spirit? This school has improved since 2005. Not many fights going on now a days and i call that an improvement from the past riots. All i would like is for the adults in school, no the district would allow for students to participate in debates on subjects about, like this new news about Jefferson become a charter school. apart from that this school is great

Thomas Jefferson Senior High School 2

Posted November 23, 2006
- a student
This school needs a lot of improvement. It needs courageous teachers and staff who actually care about the students learning and not just a paycheck.

Thomas Jefferson Senior High School 3

Posted July 28, 2005
- a teacher
Thomas jefferson is a wonderful school. I am unhappy with the ethnic break down of the school and the state scores but I think they can inprove this with time.

Thomas Jefferson Senior High School 3

Posted July 06, 2005
- a student
My sister attends to this school I think that the policy for uniforms is a great idea. There will be more respect not only between students but also in the teachers. this new policy will reform the school and put it back in shape in no time. this rule should be apply in every school startin from K-all the way to 12 so that students dont get out of control like they have been at this school that last couple of times.

Thomas Jefferson Senior High School
no rating

Posted June 06, 2005
- a teacher
With all the fighting these days and increased police patrolling, the school seems to be in dire need of facilitated dialogue beyond with the mayor- between students.

Thomas Jefferson Senior High School 3

Posted April 05, 2005
- a teacher
The Principal has done an exceptional job in the four years that he has been there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thomas Jefferson Senior High School
1319 East 41st Street, Los Angeles, CA  90011
(323) 521-1200
Last modified Thomas Jefferson Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Thomas Jefferson Senior High School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top