Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


David Starr Jordan Senior High School 1

Posted December 30, 2011
- a parent
This school needs some improvement but not just by staff also by students,some of these student seem not to care about there school.

David Starr Jordan Senior High School 5

Posted August 31, 2009
- a student
This school has a army junior reserve officers training corps! go bulldog battalion


David Starr Jordan Senior High School 5

Posted August 31, 2009
- a student
I scored Jordan a 5 because of its JROTC program. This program helps students out alot. Its a great program and people should know that it is one of the best things that we have at jordan

David Starr Jordan Senior High School
no rating

Posted January 27, 2009
- a student
This is a good school. it just depends on the student if he/she gets involves and is proactive. The best programs are probably the Magnet program and the regular classes can be a little rowdy but anyone who wants to succeed and is driven can be great in this school. But there only a few people with those characteristics and the rest are more difficult to deal with. But im sure jordan will continue to grow in the coming years.

David Starr Jordan Senior High School 2

Posted December 15, 2008
- a student
I was a student at Jordan from 2004-2007. Jordan has very good programs if you are able to be involved in them. Meaning, if you have high enough grades and test scores. If you are just an average student, it is not so great. There are some wonderful teachers who try their best to teach the children. Two of the best teachers are there; Ms. Gibson and Mr. Bruna. They are both amazing in their teaching skills. What makes this school bad is because of the students: disrespectful, rude, and out of control. If someone doesn't look like them or enjoy the same things, they are automatically looked down upon and harrassed. I was one of the victims. There is a fight every single day. Most of the issues are race related. I'm sure you remember the 'riots' in 2005 or 2006, I was there and it was racially morivated.


David Starr Jordan Senior High School 3

Posted October 20, 2006
- a student
David Starr Jordan is a great High School. I would not be in the Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame if it was not for what I learned at Jordan about never giving up and setting my goals high.

David Starr Jordan Senior High School 4

Posted October 08, 2005
- a student
Education has to be about what students and parents make it. With that said, everyone talks about how bad of an academic environment Jordan is, but I graduated from there at the top of my class and am now a Sophmore at UC Santa Barbara, and I do feel that Jordan High prepared me for higher education. Because my mom and I were very involved in my education we made sure that I had good teachers, AP classes, and all of the other things that would assure my success. If parents and students considered school to be less of a 'chore' then maybe we wouldn't have this problem. You can't expect teachers to be able to teach students with an apathetic state of mind. I cannot speak for all of the teachers there, but all of the ones I had really cared about my success in life.

David Starr Jordan Senior High School 1

Posted August 28, 2005
- a teacher
David starr jordan is not a very good academic institution. Many of the classes are out of control, so it makes the learning process very difficult if not impossible. The current principal lacks interpersonal skills and is unable to get support from the teachers. Parentsl involvement is almost none existant, they only get involved when there is a problem.


David Starr Jordan Senior High School 3

Posted January 16, 2005
- a parent
The level of parent involvement is minimal. After an incident several were visible but once their interest soon wained. There are plenty of extra curricular activities.

David Starr Jordan Senior High School 3

Posted December 13, 2004
- a parent
With parental involvement, a difference can be made at this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

David Starr Jordan Senior High School
2265 East 103rd Street, Los Angeles, CA  90002-3132
(323) 568-4100
Last modified David Starr Jordan Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
David Starr Jordan Senior High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top