Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 36 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


37 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


King/Drew Medical Magnet High School 5

Posted January 11, 2014
- a community member
KD feels like a family. Everyone knows each other and get along so well. UCLA courses are offered on Saturdays for AP students. They also offer an amazing program during junior year called Careers Program. It offers a unique experience for students who want to peruse a career in medicine. The student gets to go to a hospital or clinic, once a week for the whole year. They assist the doctors and get to see what their future may hold for them. For senior year, the counselor is always keeping you in track, making sure everything for your higher education is prepared. The faculty also makes sure that you keep studying and pursue your dreams. Academically, it is a tough school but that is because they are preparing one for the future. I currently attend UCLA, and KD did an exquisite job preparing me. Just from my year, 2011, about 10 students are attending Ivy Leagues in the east coast, about 40 students in UCs, about 60 students attend out of the state private or state universities, and the rest attend either CSUs or CCs and then transfer. I highly recommend this high school to students that strongly want to pursue a great higher education, and want an amazing high school experience.

King/Drew Medical Magnet High School 2

Posted July 26, 2013
- a community member
I guess you could say that the school is good "academic" wise but they dont really teach you things that will help you survive in the real world. Granted, they help you with college but less than half of the students at the school dont even know how to fill out a job application. Student wise, you basically have to conform to the way the students act, talk, and dress in order to fit in, if you're different in any way, shape, or form, your kid is bullied. Just because KD has a 0 tolerance for bullying its not like the students will follow through with it. This school is filled with "fake gangsters". Every guy there who says that "they bang" doesn't. This school is filled with kids who are afraid to go to their home school so they go to a magnet school and try to act "cool" or "hard" there. Its pathetic and it gets pretty stupid after a while. If your kid can ignore it props to them.


King/Drew Medical Magnet High School 3

Posted July 18, 2013
- a parent
My daughter entered this school as a freshman in 2012. I am giving King Drew 3 stars because believe it or not their academics are great! But your child must have good study habits and stay disciplined about their studies because if not then they can fall behind easy. I wish they offered more free tutoring other than the state funded tutoring because in order to be eligible your child has to be failing in GPA ,not just one class. The bad thing about the school is socially and athletically they suffer. Athletics are truly extracurricular and do not count towards P.E. My daughter played varsity soccer last year and ended up with nothing but a uniform, and they were number one in their division. The school didn't even give them any award or certificate....something. She didn't even have a photo in the yearbook, not even her name was mentioned and she wasn't the only one! It was heart breaking! I do like the fact that there is a zero tolerance for fights and bullying. They will literally expel your student if they are caught in any of the two. The school is also crowded and the students don't have lockers, except for PE.

King/Drew Medical Magnet High School 5

Posted May 06, 2013
- a parent
My daughter graduated from KingDrew in 2011. My daughter received a great education. She received an abundance of information regarding colleges and scholarships. There were plenty of colleges inviting the students to visit and workshops on how to fill out financial aid forms. The teachers were great and attentive. Everything on campus, for the most part, were friendly and helpful, even the students(which in some cases are more polite than their parents).

King/Drew Medical Magnet High School 1

Posted June 03, 2011
- a parent
A Great Disappointment. If you value your childs future and education, please take a look at other schools. KD has a great facade, but is lacking in substance. Poor communication, poor technology, no push for excellence, just "the look" of it. Its just another LAUSD warehouse, and Im sorry I sent my child there. It is however a safe school. I'll give them that.


King/Drew Medical Magnet High School 4

Posted September 22, 2010
- a student
KIng Drew requires Ap/Honors classes and i am a current student and its strict but useful in the future. It has a lack of physical activity space but overall its a great school.

King/Drew Medical Magnet High School 5

Posted July 01, 2010
- a student
A great school contains excellent teachers who thrive to make their students achieve excellency. A principal commited on improving the school along with its students. Contains challenging academic programs that bring out the best of its student. King/Drew contains all these attributes and more. Along with its career program, AP classes, and outstanding teachers, King/Drew stands as an excellent school to send students to. Take it from a King/Drew students currently attending. Ignore the comment of the reviewer that posted on May 9, 2010. If you must criticize a school, at least use correct grammar when doing so.

King/Drew Medical Magnet High School 1

Posted May 09, 2010
- a student
being a current student at king drew i have to say the school has officially went down hil barely any of our freshman class has at least a 2.0 GPA and teachers have basically given up on the majority of student i don't reccommend sending your kid to this school!!!


King/Drew Medical Magnet High School 5

Posted April 10, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

King/Drew Medical Magnet High School 5

Posted February 23, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

King/Drew Medical Magnet High School
1601 East 120th Street, Los Angeles, CA  90059
(323) 566-0420
Last modified King/Drew Medical Magnet High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
King/Drew Medical Magnet High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews.