Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 53 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


King/Drew Medical Magnet High School 5

Posted June 07, 2016
- a community member
King/Drew is a great high school and really pushes it's students to reach their full potential. The administration does a great job at creating high standards/requirements and preparing students to meet these high standards/requirements so that students are academically competitive in the college application process. with that said, King/Drew has a strong focus on education and not as much focus on sports. If you are interested in a strong sports program, King/Drew is not for you. However, if you are interested in an academically rigorous institution with an abundance of extracurricular acitivties like sports, cheer, dance, yearbook, etc. then you will be fine. Additionally, the student environment is one in which intelligence, aspiration and civility is celebrated. Like most schools it has it's occasional high school drama, but overall it is a positive and supportive environment. In my graduating class, most students attended 4-year colleges directly after college and the remaining few attended 2-year colleges. A significant portion of the 4-year college bound community attended top colleges across the U.S. (including several Ivy League institutions). Many of us went on to top graduate programs to become doctors, lawyers, business professionals, television executives, etc. I highly recommend King/Drew.

King/Drew Medical Magnet High School 5

Posted February 12, 2016
- a teacher
Fantastic administration, student and teachers. If only all LAUSD schools were this organized. The students are positive and polished.


King/Drew Medical Magnet High School 5

Posted January 11, 2014
- a community member
KD feels like a family. Everyone knows each other and get along so well. UCLA courses are offered on Saturdays for AP students. They also offer an amazing program during junior year called Careers Program. It offers a unique experience for students who want to peruse a career in medicine. The student gets to go to a hospital or clinic, once a week for the whole year. They assist the doctors and get to see what their future may hold for them. For senior year, the counselor is always keeping you in track, making sure everything for your higher education is prepared. The faculty also makes sure that you keep studying and pursue your dreams. Academically, it is a tough school but that is because they are preparing one for the future. I currently attend UCLA, and KD did an exquisite job preparing me. Just from my year, 2011, about 10 students are attending Ivy Leagues in the east coast, about 40 students in UCs, about 60 students attend out of the state private or state universities, and the rest attend either CSUs or CCs and then transfer. I highly recommend this high school to students that strongly want to pursue a great higher education, and want an amazing high school experience.

King/Drew Medical Magnet High School 2

Posted July 26, 2013
- a community member
I guess you could say that the school is good "academic" wise but they dont really teach you things that will help you survive in the real world. Granted, they help you with college but less than half of the students at the school dont even know how to fill out a job application. Student wise, you basically have to conform to the way the students act, talk, and dress in order to fit in, if you're different in any way, shape, or form, your kid is bullied. Just because KD has a 0 tolerance for bullying its not like the students will follow through with it. This school is filled with "fake gangsters". Every guy there who says that "they bang" doesn't. This school is filled with kids who are afraid to go to their home school so they go to a magnet school and try to act "cool" or "hard" there. Its pathetic and it gets pretty stupid after a while. If your kid can ignore it props to them.

King/Drew Medical Magnet High School 3

Posted July 18, 2013
- a parent
My daughter entered this school as a freshman in 2012. I am giving King Drew 3 stars because believe it or not their academics are great! But your child must have good study habits and stay disciplined about their studies because if not then they can fall behind easy. I wish they offered more free tutoring other than the state funded tutoring because in order to be eligible your child has to be failing in GPA ,not just one class. The bad thing about the school is socially and athletically they suffer. Athletics are truly extracurricular and do not count towards P.E. My daughter played varsity soccer last year and ended up with nothing but a uniform, and they were number one in their division. The school didn't even give them any award or certificate....something. She didn't even have a photo in the yearbook, not even her name was mentioned and she wasn't the only one! It was heart breaking! I do like the fact that there is a zero tolerance for fights and bullying. They will literally expel your student if they are caught in any of the two. The school is also crowded and the students don't have lockers, except for PE.


King/Drew Medical Magnet High School 5

Posted May 06, 2013
- a parent
My daughter graduated from KingDrew in 2011. My daughter received a great education. She received an abundance of information regarding colleges and scholarships. There were plenty of colleges inviting the students to visit and workshops on how to fill out financial aid forms. The teachers were great and attentive. Everything on campus, for the most part, were friendly and helpful, even the students(which in some cases are more polite than their parents).

King/Drew Medical Magnet High School 1

Posted June 03, 2011
- a parent
A Great Disappointment. If you value your childs future and education, please take a look at other schools. KD has a great facade, but is lacking in substance. Poor communication, poor technology, no push for excellence, just "the look" of it. Its just another LAUSD warehouse, and Im sorry I sent my child there. It is however a safe school. I'll give them that.

King/Drew Medical Magnet High School 4

Posted September 22, 2010
- a student
KIng Drew requires Ap/Honors classes and i am a current student and its strict but useful in the future. It has a lack of physical activity space but overall its a great school.


King/Drew Medical Magnet High School 5

Posted July 01, 2010
- a student
A great school contains excellent teachers who thrive to make their students achieve excellency. A principal commited on improving the school along with its students. Contains challenging academic programs that bring out the best of its student. King/Drew contains all these attributes and more. Along with its career program, AP classes, and outstanding teachers, King/Drew stands as an excellent school to send students to. Take it from a King/Drew students currently attending. Ignore the comment of the reviewer that posted on May 9, 2010. If you must criticize a school, at least use correct grammar when doing so.

King/Drew Medical Magnet High School 1

Posted May 09, 2010
- a student
being a current student at king drew i have to say the school has officially went down hil barely any of our freshman class has at least a 2.0 GPA and teachers have basically given up on the majority of student i don't reccommend sending your kid to this school!!!

Nearby schools

King/Drew Medical Magnet High School
1601 East 120th Street, Los Angeles, CA  90059-3025
(323) 566-0420
Last modified King/Drew Medical Magnet High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top