Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Thomas Starr King Middle School Film And Media Magnet

Public | 6-8 | 1517 students

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 18, 2014

Gifted Arts and Tech Magnet is an amazing program and unbelievable as it sounds, every single teacher is amazing, dedicated, approachable, engaging. The Admin is great, the counselor is terrific. It's a feel good, happy place from the top down to the kids, a really great environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2014

The Environmental Studies Magnet is the best! I just graduated and I miss everyone already! The ESM teachers are all great and I recommend it to everyone. I have learned so much - I am so happy my parents sent me to this program. The kids are nice, there is no bullying in the ESM, and the teachers are all warm and caring. I wish I didn't have to leave.


Posted May 28, 2014

i hate this school its the worst whenever u have a problem they just make it worst


Posted May 10, 2014

The Environmental Studies Magnet here is wonderful! My daughter will be graduating in June, after three years in the ESM and I couldn't be happier with my choice. The teachers are amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2013

I am an 8th grade student attending this school right now. I love it so much here and it's going to be hard for me to say good by. The teachers and staff expect so much from us here and they really push us to do our best. This is the place to send your child.you won't regret it.


Posted December 15, 2013

Wow, the switch to all-magnet really took the school to a whole new level. My son is in 6th grade, at the GAT magnet, and he loves it. Project-based learning, a nice, open campus that is being cleaned up bit by bit. The teachers are excellent, and the curriculum challenging. I am amazed at how many of the magnet kids are coming from Franklin, Ivanhoe, Wonderland, and the Los Feliz arts charter schools. I think King got a bad rap 10-15 years ago and it just stuck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

I have 2 kids at this school and it has the best organization in place that I have seen. I get informed of every detail that's going on at the school. Campus is clean and students and staff are very courteous. Teachers take every child's needs individually to offer the appropriate help. THere's plenty of supervision, including parent volunteers. My questions are answered and addressed right away. My kids love it and so do I. One thing i wish could get improved is the parking access to parents for events at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

I have an 8th grader & a 6th grader in the gifted/arts/tech magnet and am reminded every day what a great school this is. Starting at the helm with the administration, you have a group of people who are extremely approachable, sharp, warm and reasonable. They have a camaraderie that clearly extends to the amazing teachers - they all seem to genuinely like each other and have pride and a team passion, if you will, towards the school and teaching. This in turn extends to the students, who soak up these good vibes in their dynamic classroom settings. The kids are all challenged and not only "taught to the test" as we've been hearing, but inspired every day, pushed and encouraged to think critically, to consider other perspectives, and strive to achieve their best, all while utilizing tools at the forefront of technology and the arts. Socially, the kids feel cared for and supported by the adults, and any discord between students is handled seriously and with the same familial warmth. It's a middle school experience that is unheard of! To top it off, check out our API scores from year to year, now at an impressive 843. Pay attention, you will hear much more about this great place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

King Middle School has changed a lot over the passed 6 years. It has become a better enviroment for the students and more strict staff. I like the fact that things are more together here and I feel comfortable having my child attend here. The Magnet Program is fantastic and I have no complaints once so ever !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

My daughter and our family are thrilled to be a part of making this a true "neighborhood school" that we can be proud of. My daughter had a fantastic academic experience in her first year of the arts/tech gifted magnet program with some fantastic teachers. She was challenged in way that she never has been before. We are all excited about the fact that this is now a 100% magnet school so that EVERYONE in the community has options like never before. There is a strong parental base of involvement, excitement you can feel and forward motion only.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

I'm so proud to be a parent here at King and even prouder that my daughter goes here. Because of quality teachers, great staff, hardworking, involved parents and above all, a great group of young scholars, this school has made leaps and bounds of progress and we've only just begun. The movement, started a few years ago, has mushroomed into King's evolving into the "middle school to be reckoned with", and I'm so excited to be on board to witness and assist this transformation. It does indeed take a village and the King community of parents, teachers, staff and enthusiastic student body...along with the enormous support from our surrounding community, will soon be seen as the premiere middle school in the district. We Love King!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2013

This school has been said that it's bad, a horrible evniorment but in reality this is a great school. The magnets are wonderful! They are filled with wonderful teachers. Although I had a rough start at first I got to know the school and Iust say it is wonderful. This school also offers great afterschool activities!


Posted February 6, 2013

I am a parent to two student who are attending the new environmental magnet program and I am very pleased how they have attributed the environment in their studies. They have helped a lot and is one of the first school to ban Styrofoam lunch trays. I have a well communication with the teachers through their Edmodo website and Jupiter Grades. I receive emails constantly regarding notices through friends of king (http://friendsofking.org/). I receive their grades through texts and if there is any changes in their grades and what homework or assignments they have missed. Parents are very involved in this school and also volunteer their time to the school. For example we help out with fund raisers, activities, field trips, and volunteering our time during nutrition and lunch. The teachers are excellent with communication which is why I fell in love with the school. The size was overwhelming for me at first and the fact that I didn't get good reviews from previous parents but I am very happy I made the right choice for my boys who are in 6th and 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2012

I am a 7th grade student in the Gifted Arts and Technology Magnet. The teachers at this school are great and they have lots of electives and clubs at lunch. They also have an Environmental Studies Magnet and a film magnet coming next year. Some parents might be scared because of the size and worried their kid won't get personal attention when they need it but the teachers and staff really care about the kids and put a stop to problems like bullying quickly. My only problem with this school (a big problem) is the lack of supervision during break times. There are supervisors, but with 1500 kids and a huge campus they really don't have enough. I don't see serious fights or drug use but kids swear a lot and shove each other around. All in all it is a great school and kids and parents who might end up at this school should not be turned off by its size.


Posted November 10, 2011

This school is fantastic. The improvements the teachers and principal have made to ensure the quality experience for every student have been very effective. Whenever there has been a problem, the school has made every effort to correct the situation and maintain contact with the parent in order to ensure that the problem has been resolved. The magnet and LACER program have offered my children opportunities that will lead to healthier minds and ambitious goals. Great job King Middle School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2011

This school is awesome. My child is in the magnet program and is being challanged in every class. She comes home everyday excited to be around a group of friendly children. To add, the office staff is parent friendly. We look forward to 7th and 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2010

i think that this school was okay, well not really alot of bad influences i think that moving schools was the best thing the happened. Then again the teachers there are GREAT! But still i wouldnt recommend anyone to go to this school unless they know what they are doing ?
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2009

I have been in the magnet program for tow years, and all I can say is that these have been the best years of my life! I have 10 favorite teachers there, but I think that it is a little overcrowded. All I can say is that I will never forget Mr Abee, Mr Piumarta, Ms Turcios, Mr Purdy, and all the other teachers that I have met in this school. My parents had a hard time deciding which Middle school I should go to, and I shall never regret the choice that my parents made: sending me to Thomas Starr King Middle School. King MS, YOU ROCK!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2009

This school is very responsible and has a very beautiful garden! they are environmentally awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

King is a really great school and the teachers are pretty good. The Magnet Program is really good and there is also a geometry class. Since I'm in Magnet, I think that the teachers actually try hard to help the kids learn more about the subject and make it fun too. There is also student council or leadership in King which helps kids learn to take charge and help around the schools. But sometimes I think that the Magnet kids get more things than the regular kids at school such as the electives which isn't fair... Overall, King is actually great!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

843

Change from
2012 to 2013

+38

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

843

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+38

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

342 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

342 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
90%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

530 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

457 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

461 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
29%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

559 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
44%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
0%

2010

 
 
0%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
97%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

583 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
35%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

561 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Females87%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asian90%
Filipino100%
Hispanic or Latino70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability38%
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner23%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented99%
Parent education - not a high school graduate67%
Parent education - high school graduate76%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)89%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to state82%

Math

All Students73%
Females73%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asian86%
Filipino81%
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability38%
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to state75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students95%
Females93%
Males97%
African Americann/a
Asian95%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability95%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state89%

English Language Arts

All Students65%
Females69%
Males60%
African Americann/a
Asian86%
Filipino76%
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability37%
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduate43%
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate70%
Parent education - declined to state68%

Math

All Students62%
Females63%
Males61%
African Americann/a
Asian90%
Filipino72%
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability31%
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduate47%
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate67%
Parent education - declined to state63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students45%
Females44%
Males46%
African Americann/a
Asian75%
Filipino69%
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability18%
Students with no reported disability46%
English learner19%
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented77%
Parent education - not a high school graduate37%
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)42%
Parent education - college graduate48%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate47%
Parent education - declined to state52%

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Females58%
Males60%
African Americann/a
Asian90%
Filipino69%
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability24%
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner4%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate41%
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate66%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate79%
Parent education - declined to state64%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students0%
Femalesn/a
Males0%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino0%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged0%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students84%
Females80%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented85%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate72%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state91%

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students51%
Females48%
Males54%
African Americann/a
Asian79%
Filipino72%
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability19%
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner5%
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented89%
Parent education - not a high school graduate31%
Parent education - high school graduate43%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)54%
Parent education - college graduate63%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate74%
Parent education - declined to state60%

Science

All Students73%
Females70%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipino82%
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability29%
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner21%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduate63%
Parent education - high school graduate74%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to state75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 57%
White 19%
Asian 13%
Black 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/AN/A
English language learners 9%N/AN/A

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 2%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Magnet Model of Excellence (2010)
  • Magnet Model of Excellence (2009)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 1835 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
67%
agree
 
District average
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
68%
 

District average

 
70%
 

Students

This school

 
66%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
64%
agree
 
District average
77%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
70%
 

District average

 
74%
 

Employees

This school

 
59%
 

District average

 
81%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
57%
agree
 
District average
70%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
71%
 

District average

 
78%
 

Students

This school

 
44%
 

District average

 
58%
 

Employees

This school

 
58%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
58%
agree
 
District average
68%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
56%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Employees

This school

 
61%
 

District average

 
71%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
48%
agree
 
District average
66%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
48%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents41038%
Students141194%
Employees1412%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mark Naulls
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (323) 913-3594

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Science
  • Technology
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Computer lab
  • Garden
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Drill & Dance Teams
  • Fencing
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Drill & Dance Teams
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4201 Fountain Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90029
Website: Click here
Phone: (323) 644-6700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT