Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Los Angeles Senior High School 5

Posted August 30, 2014
- a community member
Would of been my alma mater, had to move too Boyle Heights The RHS. RDER 4 LYFE ROMAN in SPIRIT!

Los Angeles Senior High School 4

Posted August 07, 2014
- a community member
I started going to LA High during the 2013-2014 school year. This will be my second year attending and to be honest I love it. I am part of the magnet program. The school is mostly Hispanics with a minority of blacks Filipinos Koreans and some South Asians. I can't say anything about the teachers in the regular program but the magnet teachers are the best. Yes, they are challenging but they really do know how to teach. LA high might have a bad reputation but it's not the place that's bad !


Los Angeles Senior High School 5

Posted July 22, 2012
- a parent
Cant even say anything this school is above great! :D Everthing is excellent and great! not really a bad area though parents actually calm so no worries i use to worry but no its a chill hood:) Would recomend!

Los Angeles Senior High School 1

Posted May 30, 2010
- a student
I've transferred to this school due to moving, and what everyone says about this school is true, It should be considered one of the worst schools in this district. The school staff does not enforce ANYTHING in school grounds. The teachers do not give much of teaching, rather of stacks of assignments to grade and pass us on to the next grade. Security is also a problem. Currently we have many issues with smokers and it seems as if not enough security is going around to stop it. The effort is minimal, during lunch time kids are sprawled all over campus who smoke. I did not see any security walking around the area to make sure. The students will ditch and it is made easy for them. Most of the students behaviors reflect lack of discipline and no motive for education. Overall I advise parents to avoid this school.

Los Angeles Senior High School 5

Posted May 05, 2010
- a parent
The new principal is extremely competent, creative and truly looking out for the best interests of the students, their emotional growth and the continued success of LACHSA. LACHSA's teachers are overall the most skilled, focused, dedicated and joyful I've seen in any public or private institution. The arts disciplines are on a professional level, which the parents are so grateful for that their commitment to organizing and participating is quite commendable.


Los Angeles Senior High School 4

Posted April 11, 2009
- a student
great school with caring teachers and students eager to learn

Los Angeles Senior High School 4

Posted February 07, 2009
- a student
Great programs and the magnet's spirit for the school is getting more discipline and stronger. There're many efforts to improve campus although it lacks somewhat school spirit

Los Angeles Senior High School
no rating

Posted February 06, 2009
- a parent
Los Angeles High School is improving through the efforts of a great administrative staff and caring teachers.


Los Angeles Senior High School 5

Posted December 05, 2008
- a student
One of the vest schools i have ever attened, with their hard working staff and well mannered students, this school deserves a better rating than a four. it deserves an 8

Los Angeles Senior High School 2

Posted February 23, 2008
- a student
This school has very good teachers but has some bad walls and environment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Los Angeles Senior High School
4650 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA  90019-1831
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. (323) 900-2700
Last modified Los Angeles Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top