Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Loyola Village Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 473 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 11 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

81 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2010

An awesome reading and library program led by a an artist and illustrator of children's books!. The kids love it and her...as do the parents, teachers and EVERYONE.


Posted April 24, 2010

We are a wonderful neighborhood school as well as a fine and performing arts magnet. Music and arts are emphasized school-wide and high academic achievement is strongly promoted. With a dedicated principal and hard-working teachers my three children are flourishing at this school. I live just down the street and am so happy to be able to walk my children to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

they hired a professional children's book illustrator for a librarian! This school is overflowing with creativity and warmth.


Posted April 24, 2010

I am a neighborhood parent who has all three of my children in this school. While no school is perfect, Loyola Village has consistantly exceeded my expectations. The principal is caring, accessible and works overtime to do everything she can for the school. The teachers my children have had are all excellent and the librarian is fantastic. My children are all doing very well academically as well as being exposed to art and music on a very regular basis. I am a very involved parent and as a consequence we have met families who will be life-long friends. Personally, I couldn't ask for more. Come visit & see for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Every child has a gift. Schools with strong arts programs offer creative, artistic children a place that is nurturing and exciting, promoting self-esteem and confidence, critical elements of healthy growth and development. Loyola Village School is just such a place. A wonderful school!


Posted April 24, 2010

The kids of Loyola Village are smart, fun and brimming with ideas. This must come from the fantastic environment the school creates.


Posted April 18, 2010

The Principal, teachers, and staff really care about the welfare of the children that attend this school and make it a broad learning experience for all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

I am sad to read all the negative comments from these so called adults in this day and age. I pay extremly high homeowners taxes which help fund your precious neighborhood school. This is my daughters first year at Loyola and I was pleased until I read these ridiculous posts. How can you all be so silly as to let a few bad apples spoil your perceptions as there are bad apples in every ethnic group including yours. My daughter should and will benefit from the taxes my husband and I pay. I took my child out of private school and searched for a good public school for this very reason. My child deserves a good education same as yours and if it means sending her out of the neighbor she lives in to find a better school thats what we will do. Get over it we aren't going anywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

I ditto the last comment. This school certainly is not diverse and last commentor is right about the parent's actions. They should no longer allow the permits and maybe they can get more of the neighborhood kids back into the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

Although Loyola Village Elementary School has good teachers; the diversity there is not balanced at all. Which elementary school are the children living in the neighborhood going? It's a bit sad that we do not feel comfortable going to our home schools. What can we do to make it more balanced?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

My son attended kindergarten at Loyola Villege last year and is in first grade this year. I agree with the july 4th post however I don't consider much ethnic diversity here--it's pretty much all african american with a few white and even fewer asian. the socioeconomic background is clear by the way some of these parents act. one mother at STAR just parks in the middle of the parking lot to pick her 2 kids up, while her 3 others are in the car and blocks everyone in! some other mother attacked someone with a tire iron outside the school last year. they should stop accepting these kids on permits and maybe the school would have a more wholesome population of kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Dito the last two comments my daughter has been in the magnet program since 1st grade, now in 3 rd grade. It doesn t matter where the other kids live and actually kids have to live in LA to get in the magnet program no Inglewood or Inglewood adjacent as the 7/4 reviewer indicated. I can not begin to say how pleased I have been with everything Loyola Village teachers and staff has done for my daughter s education. She is above average in reading and math and can spell words I cant sometime (as a college graduate). I find it hard to believe that any child wouldn't excel as the teacher are very diligent in making sure students are completing homework and projects on time & identifying learning issues. My daughter just said to me this morn how much she loves her school and her teacher now Mr. Blunt. LOVE LOYOLA VILLAGE!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2009

My child thrived and did exceptionally well within the kindergarten program. I believe the diversity of the children and the overall commitment by the staff and volunteers truly make Loyola Village and exceptional place. While I personally couldn't contribute as much as I wanted, I found the 2 kindergarten teachers, Ms. Shearon and Ms. Norris, to be excellent educators. While some children come more prepared than other they were always available for feedback. These two women are doing an exceptional job. Principal Melinda Goodall is an is an EXCELLENT example of positive leadership and displays all the signs of commitment to what she is doing at the principal. She and truly makes the school stand out among the others in the area. Additionally, I enjoyed the end of school year production of the Wiz; I found the production to be simply charming. My child will be returning for 1st grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

This is my daughters first year at Loyola and I really love the school so far. The line of communication with my daughter s teacher is great! The staffs, the principal, the PTA are so wonderful and they are dedicated to the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

Great schoo!!! Generally meeting all state wide goals and getting better!!! Kudos to Principal and Staff! You're doing a great job...Later for the haters!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2008

I LOVE this school. I have 2 children attending the Magnet program and its WONDERFUL. The entire staff is professional and knowledgable. The school is jam-packed with diversity and being a Africian American/Hispanic parent I can see the different cultures in the school. I think that is what children need. the 'Real World' has diversity, so why shouldn't their school...and that is what Loyola Village brings to the table. The principle is VERY on the ball and is frequently seen interacting with the children. As another parent stated, I am also a participator in my children's education and not a spectator. I am active in the PTA and Booster clubs and when they need help I am there...while working a full time job. so I can first hand say that this is an awesome school and am glad that my children can both be a part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2008

I have no idea what this person could possibly referring to. Principal Goodall seems on the ball to me. The school is clean, the students respectful. My kindergartener is doing very well. Many K parents have kids in the higher grades, and they are very happy here as well. Test scores are going up for every racial subgroup. That is public information. Look it up. Again, what the person below wrote is, well, nonsense.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2008

Absolute disaster. Principal is clueless to her staff's behavior, lack of discipline, and complete disregard for a safe learning environment. Any parent rating this school above a one star is doing so in a wild effort to preserve their property values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2008

This school is fantastic. The Principal Melinda Goodall is superb principal. The Principal puts a great deal in educating children and works hard to pullup those students who are falling behind. She is great leader and I am sure this school will get 10 API's soon. The Assistant Vice Principal Ms. Wang is also very strong. Principal and the Teachers are all well motivated and are oriented in higher learning then testing only.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2008

I am a African American parent and resident of Westchester. My son is currently a 3rd grader at Loyola Village Magnet. My experience is totally the opposite of feeling 'discriminatory'. There is plenty of diversity at Loyola Village. My son previously attended a private school and I am employed at a privated school. By far, I feel my son is getting the best education, nurturing and with exemplary role models from the faculty and staff of African American, Hispanics, Asians, etc., men and women. My son loves going to school each day. I am a 'participator' in my son's education and not 'spectator'. Whatever his teachers need, I do my best to assist them in getting, not just for the benefit of my son, but for all of his classmates. He also attends STAR after school, where the diversity continues to be found through 'Tony' the who happens to be Hispanic.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

816

Change from
2012 to 2013

-45

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

816

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-45

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
38%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students54%
Females53%
Males56%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only55%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate55%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students58%
Females50%
Males68%
African American63%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability61%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students45%
Females48%
Males43%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Non-economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability48%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only47%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate35%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)49%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate62%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students63%
Females60%
Males67%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate62%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females83%
Males68%
African American73%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students85%
Females90%
Males77%
African American79%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students52%
Females58%
Males46%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability55%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)38%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students59%
Females58%
Males59%
African American54%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students52%
Females53%
Males51%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only55%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 62% 7%
Hispanic 17% 51%
White 16% 27%
Asian 3% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 379 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
74%
agree
 
District average
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
73%
 

District average

 
70%
 

Students

This school

 
76%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
81%
agree
 
District average
77%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
79%
 

District average

 
74%
 

Employees

This school

 
83%
 

District average

 
81%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
79%
agree
 
District average
70%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
97%
 

District average

 
78%
 

Students

This school

 
61%
 

District average

 
58%
 

Employees

This school

 
79%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
60%
agree
 
District average
68%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
71%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Employees

This school

 
50%
 

District average

 
71%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
59%
agree
 
District average
66%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
59%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents13740%
Students20681%
Employees3695%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Melinda Goodall
Fax number
  • (310) 216-9529

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8821 Villanova Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90045
Phone: (310) 670-0480

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ballona Creek Academy
Los Angeles, CA


Playa Vista Elementary
Playa Vista, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT