Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Loyola Village Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $595,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 11 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

83 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 1, 2008

This school is fantastic. The Principal Melinda Goodall is superb principal. The Principal puts a great deal in educating children and works hard to pullup those students who are falling behind. She is great leader and I am sure this school will get 10 API's soon. The Assistant Vice Principal Ms. Wang is also very strong. Principal and the Teachers are all well motivated and are oriented in higher learning then testing only.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2008

I am a African American parent and resident of Westchester. My son is currently a 3rd grader at Loyola Village Magnet. My experience is totally the opposite of feeling 'discriminatory'. There is plenty of diversity at Loyola Village. My son previously attended a private school and I am employed at a privated school. By far, I feel my son is getting the best education, nurturing and with exemplary role models from the faculty and staff of African American, Hispanics, Asians, etc., men and women. My son loves going to school each day. I am a 'participator' in my son's education and not 'spectator'. Whatever his teachers need, I do my best to assist them in getting, not just for the benefit of my son, but for all of his classmates. He also attends STAR after school, where the diversity continues to be found through 'Tony' the who happens to be Hispanic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2007

I would like to say that the quality of education is fabulous at Loyola. I am on child number 5. I currently have one that graduated from college, two in college, and one in junior high and my last one is a second grader. I believe my children have had a wonderful foundation to start the road of education here at this school. Each of my children are different individuals all with different talents. I feel Loyola Village magnet and traditional school have met their needs. All of them had extracurricular activities, music, art, science and sports. I feel that there is always parent involvement, but we could always use more. The more we have the more we can do for our school and our children! In all my years here, I now feel we really have a principal who listens and follows through to make positive changes for us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2007

My daughter is now a second grader at Loyola Village and has been attending there since kindergarten. I am extremely glad that I CHOSE to send her to this wonderful school. I have always found the administration, staff, and teachers to be helpful when necessary. I would not hesitate to recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2006

My son attended Loyola Village from 1st to part of 3rd grade until I was forced to take him out in the first two months of the school year. At first I thought that this was a good school for him, but each passing year it became worse and worse. The teachers became more worried about behavior than actually teaching the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2006

My one daughter was here from K-5. My other daughter is still attending. We love it! There is a high parent involvement. I myself volunteered at the school. Most teachers are skillful, caring and open to parent involvement. Staff is courteous and helpful. They're stage performances are great! They have good after school program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2006

Very Discriminitve lack of good teachers and overall it gave a feel that my kids were being taken to a low security prison.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

Loyola Village came highly recommended to me when my son was entering school. In the beginning it met my every expectation. Now that my child is in the 5th grade, and changes have been made in both administrative and teaching staff. I've seen a drastic change in the school. It appears that the quality of students has deminished over the last year or two. I know of several parents who have removed their children from Loyola because of the quality of education has gone down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2005

Great school, good teachers, good community involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2005

This is our neighborhood school, and our son s experience here has been great. It s really two schools in one: a magnet and a neighborhood school on one campus, sharing administration, teacher training and resources. My involvement as a parent has been welcomed. Academics are strong. Teachers are caring and motivated, and they do try to challenge the high achievers as well as lower performers. An award-winning professional development program keeps teachers focused and attracts quality teachers. Although student behavior problems do sometimes interfere, the principal and VP engage these students and their parents vigorously and thoughtfully. The principal new as principal but a veteran teacher and VP at this school is establishing herself well in this role. She is approachable, responsive, and savvy at getting resources. She is attentive to the details that, over time, create an environment that encourages good behavior, enhances teaching, and allows kids to flourish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2005

My daughter attended this school when she was in the 2nd grade. I loved everything about it. The curriculum, the teachers~~the teacher she had at that time was wonderful! the before/after school program was awesome. They had so many things for the students to get involed in, from music, to art, sports just wonderful school activities. The level of parent involvement was wonderful. It was always a parent involved in the extra activities as well! I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2005

The quality of academic programs is very high quality, with a curriculum that provides a solid challenge to the students, and they respond to it positively. The school recently received an award in its participation in District Professional Development programs for teachers. This to me reflect the commitment of the faculty to its students and the parents. Availability of music (orchestra) sports/pe (Flexercise) and other extracurricular activities (field trips at Disney hall and fundraisers at ice skating rinks) are excellent. The parental presence on campus is welcomed, encouraged, and as a result is very strong. The benefits my child has received from attending this school will even be evident in her middle and high school years in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2005

My child is in the orchestra program and loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2005

This school has taken a turn for the worse over the last year. As an involved parent over the last few years, I have personally seen a decline in the quality of leadership, faculty and student body at the school. The long time principal left a year ago and with him left many of the things that made this a good school in the past. Enrollment dropped significantly this school year and the open spaces were hastily filled without regard to the impact on the school overall. Morale among teachers and parents has declined and issues involving discipline and safety are becoming more and more common taking valuable teaching time away from the classrooms. While there are many dedicated educators and parents at the school working hard each and everyday for the children, it's frustrating to move forward while behavioral problems continue beyond the administration's ability to deal with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2005

I have three children at Loyola and their experiences have been great. Maybe like all elementary schools, the higher grades (4-5)posed the biggest challenge with behavior issues cropping up, but overall the diversity of the student body and academic focus has been good. There's a good balance of art and other academics, especially now that science is getting more attention. My wife and I participate in PTA activities, her in particular, sometimes too much, but it's for the children, all of them. Although my children do well on standardized tests, I'm concerned about the robotic process it adds to teaching; we're humans, faultfull and great! Lastly, as an African American, I don't like the grinding process of open enrollment. ALL SCHOOLS SHOULD BE MAGNETS, GATES, AND GREAT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2004

This school is outstanding. I have gotten a sense of dedication and devotion to the students that attend there. The school has a multi-cultural setting which I believe has enriched my daughter's educational experience. Leadership: second to none. Faculty: prepared, organized, committed, doing their best to make the individual needs of the students a priority. The staff is friendly and professional. Problems that may arise are dealt with promptly with professionalism and compassion. If more high schools were run with the leadership this elementary school has, we would see the high school dropout rate plummet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2004

My daughter (1st grader) is in the magnet program at Loyola Village and I can honestly say that they really do care about the students. They do not tolerate bad behavior, respect and courtesy is top priority in addition to academics. Keep up the excellent work Loyola Village.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2004

Good parent involvement and support for teachers. Campus has grass area, handball courts, basketball, baseball. API improving over the years. Magnet and traditional schools on campus. The principal is new, having begun late in the school year, but has been a teacher, magnet coordinator, and asst. principal at the school for many years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2004

Great School. My daughter just graduated from Loyola Village two weeks ago. She attended for three years and each teacher that she had was excellent. Her education was well rounded and the teachers expected more from the students than the minimum LAUSD requirements. The principal left at the beginning of 2004 and the I didn't get a chance to really see the new principal in action. Nevertheless, I highly recommend Loyola Village Elementary School to all parents in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2004

The first-grade teacher for my older child was great: caring, kind, effective and patient--one of the best teachers I have seen. (I wasn't sure about the kindergarten teachers.) There are many parents dedicated to making the school a good one.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

816

Change from
2012 to 2013

-45

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

816

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-45

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
38%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students54%
Females53%
Males56%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only55%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate55%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students58%
Females50%
Males68%
African American63%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability61%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students45%
Females48%
Males43%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Non-economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability48%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only47%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate35%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)49%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate62%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students63%
Females60%
Males67%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate62%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females83%
Males68%
African American73%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students85%
Females90%
Males77%
African American79%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students52%
Females58%
Males46%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability55%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)38%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students59%
Females58%
Males59%
African American54%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students52%
Females53%
Males51%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only55%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 60%
Hispanic 26%
White 10%
Asian 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/AN/A
English language learners 6%N/AN/A

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 379 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
74%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
73%
 

Students

This school

 
76%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
81%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
79%
 

Employees

This school

 
83%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
79%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
97%
 

Students

This school

 
61%
 

Employees

This school

 
79%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
60%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
71%
 

Employees

This school

 
50%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
59%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
59%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents13740%
Students20681%
Employees3695%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Melinda Goodall
Fax number
  • (310) 216-9529

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8821 Villanova Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90045
Phone: (310) 670-0480

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ballona Creek Academy
Los Angeles, CA


Playa Vista Elementary
Playa Vista, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT