Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Los Angeles, CA
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mar Vista Elementary School 3

Posted January 26, 2015
- a parent
Used to be a great school few years ago. Under the new principal though things are going downhill. She seems to care more about superfluous rules and obedince and keeps adding more and more regulations and restrictions. She can often be seen rattling around the yard in her high heels with a walkie-talkie synchronizing the yard closure and door locking. Shouldn't a principle worry about more important things and not micromanage like this? There are still great teachers in there (even though some left under the new regime). However there are "lemons" too. We lost a year of our child's life with a teacher that couldn't care less and would quit mid-lesson with "well I can't explain this". Then give the kids tons of homework and leave to the parents to figure it out when the streessed kid can't understand the homework assignment. Your best strategy is to schmooze with teachers and parents and volunteer and be seen and try to influence the choice of teacher for the next year. Otherwise you're rolling the dice
6 people found this helpful

Mar Vista Elementary School 3

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
It use to be good school. Now it still is ONLY if you are lucky to get good teacher, and there are not a lot of them. Principal is very intolerant, rigid and hard to work with. School in my opinion does not have a good future under her leadership.
10 people found this helpful


Mar Vista Elementary School 5

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
This is one of the best public elementary schools on the west side of LA. The teachers and principal are really great. The culture of the school is diverse, kind and proactive with many helpful and supportive family volunteers. Class sizes in upper grades could be reduced more which would make it perfect.
1 person found this helpful

Mar Vista Elementary School 5

Posted January 07, 2014
- a parent
Mar Vista Elementary. We love this school. My son is in 3rd grade and his teacher is so nice to him.
1 person found this helpful

Mar Vista Elementary School 5

Posted October 20, 2013
- a community member
I am in fifth grade at this school. It is a great school! It has a great chorus and lots of fun sports like the new Mar Vista soccer team. There is a great art program and lots of field trips for the students. And, the BIG BOO. The big boo is like a little carnival we have at are school. It has a haunted house, fun games, and food to eat! Evan though I have only gone to this school for 4 and a half years ( this is my fifth) I have had a great time at this school and I am sure you or anyone else will too!


Mar Vista Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2013
- a parent
Mar Vista Elementary is a fabulous school TK - 5th grade school. Teachers are engaged and want to be there. The Principal, Mrs. Choe, forges strong relationships with parents and students, inspires and models a can-do spirit for making Mar Vista the absolute best it can be, and is extremely accessible to parents. The parent body is wonderful. People from every walk of life and a wide range of socio-economic backgrounds make Mar Vista Elementary school one that truly reflects the city we live in. Parents have myriad opportunities for involvement and rise to the very real challenge of being an active and involved part of their children's lives at school. The campus is lovely and well cared for - a real neighborhood school.
1 person found this helpful

Mar Vista Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2013
- a parent
My son had an amazing kindergarten experience at Mar Vista. The school offers a lot of extras that have been cut from many other LAUSD schools, such as weekly art classes, P.E., computer teacher, due to the parental fund raising done. There are many ways to be active and involved with the school and I always felt welcome. I am so happy to be a part of this community!

Mar Vista Elementary School 5

Posted December 13, 2012
- a teacher
'Doesn't really matter much now I guess, but I attended Mar Vista Elementary in the early 1950's(!). I've never forgotten the wonderful, welcoming start the school gave me at the outset of my formal education. I have been on the faculty at Oregon State University since 1975. Thanks Mar Vista!!


Mar Vista Elementary School 5

Posted November 25, 2012
- a parent
My child culminated from Mar Vista in June and while we are excited about middle school, we are sad to leave the positive atmosphere of this excellent school. While the API is well into the 900 s, few schools nowadays are as committed to students and not solely test scores as is Mar Vista. The principal, Katherine Choe, is driven, organized, and her work ethic is unmatched -- a wise leader indeed. My child's teachers consistently worked collaboratively within their grade level to enrich the curriculum as well as to address the needs of ALL students, not only struggling students. In my opinion, this is the hallmark of an excellent school. The Wonder of Reading library is a strong asset too, and the enrichment programs such as art, music, science lab, computer education, physical education and Spirit Series are a few of the components contributing to the excellence of Mar Vista. My family was lucky enough to have had the opportunity for our child to be educated at Mar Vista. It has provided a strong foundation for her future education and we attribute a good part of her future academic success to this exemplary school.

Mar Vista Elementary School 5

Posted February 12, 2012
- a parent
Our 2 daughters are attending the school. A public school that could easily compete with any private schools out there. Excellent support, great community, our kids love the school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mar Vista Elementary School
3330 Granville Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90066
(310) 391-1175
Last modified Mar Vista Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mar Vista Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 112 reviews. Top