Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
70 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 154 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


John Marshall Senior High School 1

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
My words cannot express how upset I am. This school used to be amazing! The faculty, staff and administrators were incredible, but a couple of years ago a new principal was put in place. Since then the quality of education and the overall climate of the school have gone downhill. It is so upsetting. Good teachers are leaving. (PLEASE COME BACK MR. BENOIT!!!!) Parents are sending their children to other schools. The current administration is destroying all that was great about this school. It pains me....but I pulled my children and put them in a private school. It's so sad. I hope someone steps in and removes this principal before the school is completely destroyed.

John Marshall Senior High School 5

Posted July 06, 2015
- a parent
I attended this school and I had great teachers and I have the best memories from this school!!


John Marshall Senior High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 06, 2015
- a parent
I attended this school and I had great teachers and I have the best memories from this school!!

John Marshall Senior High School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted June 18, 2015
- a community member
We had moral and upstanding teachers. It was up to the students to integrate their teachings into their lives. As it always is.

John Marshall Senior High School 5

Posted June 18, 2015
- a community member
I attended this school and so did my brothers. We had great teachers who did well in college at good or top schools. They taught us well. I went on to UCLA, so did one of my brothers. We enjoyed the school. There are students that do not "achieve" but that is not the cause of the school - but the parents and students themselves. The important factor is the teaching quality and resources. These enabled us and many others to succeed academically. I would send my kids here when the time comes.


John Marshall Senior High School 5

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
This school is all about which program your child is in. Our son was part of the School for Environmental Studies, and it was AMAZING! We were so happy with the program. They receive some sort of grant and do not participate in the magnet program because they are better than a magnet! My son went on so many field trips and started loving school! The director is fantastic and is always there when you need him. The principal and assistant principals aren't so great but that didn't seem to affect the Environmental program our son was in. The director lives in the neighborhood and really cares about the kids.

John Marshall Senior High School 2

Posted January 07, 2014
- a community member
Currently a student at enrolled in the SAS program at John Marshall High, and I am trying to transfer. The teachers are horrible; they make racist comments, have class favorites, and are extremely rude. On top of that, the teachers that I have don't teach, yet they have a very high unset standard. I've never disliked a school to this extent. All of my other friends are trying to look for other high schools to attend because they don't like the school as well. I hope there would be better teachers later on for the future students.

John Marshall Senior High School 5

Posted September 20, 2013
- a community member
I loved going here! The people are nice and the teachers are great, Mr.Benoit and Mrs.Hill are the best!


John Marshall Senior High School 5

Posted June 09, 2013
- a community member
john marshall high school is a great school even the Dean is helpful when it comes to situations

John Marshall Senior High School 5

Posted March 14, 2013
- a community member
I am a Marshall alum and I loved my time there. It was academically challenging and I was able to be involved in Theatre activities as well. But its not solely on the students or teachers to make a school great, parents HAVE to get involved. There was a new math when I went called IMP or IMG... my mother talked to the academic counselors and insisted I take regular math instead and I am so glad she did. It helped me out a lot more when I went to UCLA than taking that weird experimental math. And yes, even though this school may be rated a 5, I went to UCLA and graduated from there with honors! Marshall is great especially when everyone in the community is involved.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John Marshall Senior High School
3939 Tracy Street, Los Angeles, CA  90027-3207
(323) 671-1400
Last modified John Marshall Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John Marshall Senior High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 154 reviews. Top