Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 698
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Nevin Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted November 11, 2012
- a community member
The area around the school is not the greatest, but the school itself, atleast when I attended there was a great. The teachers I had really cared about their students, and tried very hard to help them achieve excellence. I have nothing but great memories from my time at this school. Apart from the great teachers, the staff was great as well. Now I attend San Diego State University, and I truly believe that this school, and the great academic foundation it formed for me had a great impact on where I am today.

Nevin Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted February 26, 2012
- a community member
Nevin Avenue was an amazing school. It is located in a bad area, but it is a great school! I don't think everyone there has low scores because most of the people that I knew had great scores. I went on to attend Magnet schools and I am part of an OA Orchestra. I believe the teachers in Nevin should focus more on writing and having the children read a lot more.


Nevin Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted April 08, 2010
- a teacher
Nevin has made huge improvements over the last few years. New administration has taken over that sincerely cares about the students and community. Parents are starting to participate more. CST scores are going up. Great things are happening in this school!

Nevin Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted July 10, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nevin Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2006
- a former student
I am a 17 yr old who went to Nevin as a child. I remember many of the teachers and the education. Nevin might be in a bad neighborhood but that doesn't mean that it is a bad school. Many of the people who attended there as children remember it clearly and give thanks that they went to that school because if it wasn't for them they wouldn't be as successful as they are. I for one am very successful I go to college and up to this day I still have in mind their motto: 'I can Yo Puedo' because they taught us that we can and we will achive.


Nevin Avenue Elementary School 3

Posted August 26, 2006
- a parent
As a child I attended Nevin Elementary. I remember my education there fondly. However, it was a much smaller school then. Things have changed greatly now and the school now seems to have more students than ever. There has been much change in administration and as far as past administration goes, I am sad to say that it deteriorated the organization of how the school is run. On a positive note, teachers there are kind and attentive and take a real commited interest in my child's education. I am optimistic that things will improve since new administrators have now taken over. I hope that the school will return to the way I so fondly remember it.

Nevin Avenue Elementary School 3

Posted December 26, 2005
- a teacher
For the area, Nevin is a pretty good school. The test scores are low and it is a totallly minority school. But the teacher quality is pretty good although some of the excellent veteran teachers are beginning to retire.

Nevin Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted July 20, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Nevin Avenue Elementary School
1569 East 32nd Street, Los Angeles, CA  90011
(323) 232-2236
Last modified Nevin Avenue Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Nevin Avenue Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top