Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Normandie Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted February 03, 2014
- a parent
PARENTS BEWARE!!! Do not send your children here I am having a lot of issues with the principal and my child kinder teacher the teacher has no respect for parents she is rude and loud . Principal be little parents. Parents are never informed when something happens to your child until you request to speak with the teachers and then they make you feel like your not doing things right as a parent. Teacher is not willing to help and find a solution instead they only focus on the the negativity of a child. The teachers rather send children to the office for hours and sit there instead of teaching a child. what ever happened to teachers helping out a child in need, what ever happen to teachers being understanding with children and having hope and believing in change. Well you won't get that at this school trust that.

Normandie Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted June 19, 2013
- a community member
I went to Normandie and have visited lately. Many of the teachers are still there and remember me by face or name. That shows that they really care. A lot of the kids who went there are doing great now. Go, Cougars!


Normandie Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted May 01, 2013
- a parent
Normandie Avenue Elementary School in Los Angeles, CA. Is a school that cares about student achievement. Most of the teachers are truly interested in teaching students. The school atmosphere is like a big family. There are many parents who volunteer in the classroom and on yard duty. School safety is always at top of mind. Assisting with both students and family basic needs is high importance with food and clothing programs that are set in place year round. Great school and place to have a child educated. Principal who is caring about student success.

Normandie Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted September 21, 2012
- a parent
When i was going to Normandie it was one of the greatest experiences i enjoyes...this school has gone to its worse... -Teachers don't give their all to the students. -The princical be littles the parent. -Office Clerks dont dress appropriatly -Office Clerks when called for an incident sound mad, and in a bad tone. -Not enough guidance for the child to learn positive things -Some staff expects kids to say bad words and encourages it. -Needs a total school and staff make over. -Office Staff Wearing shirts that show most of their cleavage. -Males Wearing Gang Related Bandanas or caps. -The only one that looks representable when seen is the Principal. -Principal needs to lets parents know that he is trying to make it work and will encourage more parent conferences. -Women speaking unnaproapriate subjects around parents and students. -Some of the office staff need a dress code and should be aware of what they say around students. Point is...This school is going through a major change and its not a good one.... This school was better before..it shouldnt be trying to get better it should already be better its an open campus and your child should feel safe and with good teachers.

Normandie Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2009
- a parent
My child is is the dual language program. Now my child reads, speaks, and writes both languages. Yes, scores do speak for themselves. Normandie Avenue has improve its score. Dr.Ortiz cares about the education of the students.


Normandie Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted May 06, 2009
- a parent
My son is in special classes and the teacher is really good. I've noticed the difference. My son is in good hands. Thanks to Ms. O.

Normandie Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted September 13, 2008
- a parent
I am not satisfied with the principal because he shows a lack of respect towards parents and teachers. I was dropping my child off for the day when I heard the principal talking to a teacher about a lesson that was taught. The lesson did not go too well and the teacher was upset at the way the principal was speaking to them. also, my child tells me that the principal is not nice and as a parent i stongly feel the chils's need should be top priority. there are previous teacher that did not want to work with my child because he was not able to keep up with the work. my child was sent constantly to the office. normandie is not the best school and the test scores speak for themselves!

Normandie Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted August 27, 2008
- a parent
Normandie has a good principal and good dedicated teachers. The school is getting better as the year go on.


Normandie Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted June 17, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Normandie Avenue Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 26, 2008
- a parent
I do not agree with comments other parents have made about Normandie. I feel that the staff does not offer 100%. I have a son who was diagnosed with Autism, and it seem that all that the Principle wanted to do was not deal with the problem and was eager to get him transferred from school instead of working with us in finding a solution at that school. It seem very unfair.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Normandie Avenue Elementary School
4505 South Raymond Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90037
(323) 294-5171
Last modified Normandie Avenue Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Normandie Avenue Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews.