Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Norwood Street Elementary School 1

Posted October 30, 2013
- a parent
Overall there is no communication. Anything could happen at this school and you would never know. The teachers don't communicate with the parents. The office staff is no better. The receptionist is rude and unprofessional. I understand that they deal with a lot of lousy parents but that is no excuse to treat all parents with disrespect. The worst thing is that they never ask for picture ID when a child is being picked up at the office. Anyone could go in and request to take a child withouth proper verification. Very dissapointed in this school.

Norwood Street Elementary School 5

Posted August 02, 2013
- a parent
My school is Norwood Street Elementary it is one of the most parent involved schools. I moved and transfered my kids out and realized what a bad choice I made and actually moved back so my children could go back to Norwood. The Prinicipal Mr Onodera is very involved and all the children and parents love him.


Norwood Street Elementary School 3

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
I truly have yet to experience staff as calm and collective as those in the Norwood Street Elementart

Norwood Street Elementary School 5

Posted July 10, 2008
- a parent
It is a great school. I have two children in this school. They like it too much. The teachers are dedicated, supportive to all student, and enthusiastic.

Norwood Street Elementary School 5

Posted November 27, 2007
- a parent
As a former student, I had no hesitation in enrolling my daughter. I am very familiar with the staff at all levels and am very pleased with their commitment and support of all students. My daughter has had great teachers since Pre-K to her current 5th grade level: Very enthusiastic; very supportive of alls students; and set high standards for achievement. She has been given a solid foundation from which to grow and I feel she will be able to meet all academic challenges and strive above and beyond! Thank you Norwood Staff


Norwood Street Elementary School 4

Posted January 11, 2006
- a teacher
Norwood is a great school. The teachers are very dedicated and participate in many inservices to increase student achievement. They have increased their API scores yearly!

Norwood Street Elementary School 4

Posted August 15, 2005
- a teacher
Norwood is a great school with a mostly young and enthusiastic teaching staff. It's an arts prototype school where all artforms are encouraged.

Norwood Street Elementary School 4

Posted June 07, 2004
- a parent
My two children attend this school. This school has come along to better times. The new building gives the kids sense of pride for the new and improved school. I have been very lucky that my two children have had great teachers. Of course I am a parent that loves to be involved with what ever problem comes about with them. My only concern is that the attendance office does not verify parents ID when taking your child out of school (please work on this). Over all this school is great.


Norwood Street Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2004
- a parent
I had a son there that was in the special day class at Norwood. It started off rocky for they had him in the wrong classroom, so we had to have a early IEP meeting which was the best I have attended since he left the schools in Burbank. Everyone there were great, on time and took their time with us made us as parents feel comfortable and like they really cared. The teacher there Mrs. Sevela and her aid Mrs. Jone oh they are the best there thus far. And the principal once you get to know her she is a wonderful person as well along with the rest of the staff. I highly recommend this school to all parents, it nice, clean, and very safe for all children.

Norwood Street Elementary School 5

Posted November 05, 2003
- a community member
norwood is a great school I am no parent you know I am only 12 years old and the times I passed at norwood were the best I am now in middle school and i cant thank my principal Mrs. Dee Dee Lonnon enough I also have to thank Ms.Barrientos and Ms.Rhodes for all their support I couldn't have done this without you.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Norwood Street Elementary School
2020 Oak Street, Los Angeles, CA  90007-1307
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (213) 748-3733
Last modified Norwood Street Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top