Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
62 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 74 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Overland Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has been at this school for 3 years and we absolutely love it. The Principal is great, the teachers are awesome. The people at the office could be a little more friendly but that does not interfere with the overall quality of the school. They take very good care of the kids! Love it.

Overland Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted February 18, 2014
- a parent
All of our children are thriving at this school. It's hard to imagine any school, public or private, could be more nurturing, warm, welcoming and conducive to learning children.


Overland Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted October 20, 2013
- a parent
Great school, great programs and encouraged parent participant. My child is thriving & loves it. I give it a 5 star.

Overland Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
Overland Elementary School is an amazing public school. The teachers are fantastic and the parent involvement is tremendous. It's a warm and wonderful community and I feel lucky to send my kids here.

Overland Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Overland Elementary School gave my son a wonderful start. He loved every minute of his 6 years there. He is well prepared for middle school and especially love the creative ways Overland teachers made learning fun, especially in language arts, math and science!


Overland Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
We moved to this area well before we had kids and were just lucky to get such a great elementary school in lausd. A unique community experience where everyone is involve and the kids are happy and thriving.

Overland Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
We have just left Overland due to a job transfer and we miss it so much! It's an incredible community of teachers, staff and parents all working together to make this school amazing! No other school has Overland in Motion which is an exercise program started by a parent volunteer and is a real gem. Kids love coming to school here, they are excited and adequately stimulated. It's fun and they feel safe. The parents work tirelessly every year to raise money to cover LAUSD shortfalls and participate actively in classrooms helping teachers or heading additional programs such as gardening, talent shows, etc. It's a unique one-of-a-kind place!

Overland Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
Overland is a fantastic neighborhood school, in the middle of the 2nd largest US city. The sense of community is so strong and you can see that the parents dedicate so much of themselves to make a great elementary school experience for the kids. In addition to raising ALOT of money for the school, many parents are able to dedicate their time and creativity to improve the school programming. The creative parents have found resourceful ways for fundraising, which don't rely on parents' wallets. There is a committee that just looks for "Free Money" programs that offer donations to schools. (i.e. Give with Target or Scrips) The teachers are all overall, very good - focused on the education standards, but still they still develop a love of school and learning within the kids. We have had experience with a bad teacher here too, and I found Principal Born was receptive to hearing constructive criticism. She addressed the concerns with the teacher that same day. Eventually, that teacher left on her own. In this time when public school funding is so tight and pressure continues to mount, I feel lucky that we are in a neighborhood with a great school.


Overland Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2012
- a parent
A few years ago we moved our children to this school - one from a private school and the other from a Beverly Hills public school. We are so pleased with our decision. Our three kids are flourishing and really love their school. For the most part, the teachers have been superior. The aggressive fundraising provides added resources that benefit the entire student body and the parent volunteers are so dedicated. There is a strong sense of community here and for that our family is so grateful!

Overland Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted November 23, 2011
- a parent
I just reviewed the school. I meant to say the parents raise several hundreds of thousands of dollars per year for the school. Amazing! A truly incredible public school experience.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Overland Avenue Elementary School
10650 Ashby Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90064-3209
(310) 838-7308
Last modified Overland Avenue Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Overland Avenue Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 74 reviews. Top