Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Palms Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1598 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $497,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,550.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

110 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2009

At the moment I am a freshman in high school. I have to say that Palms Middle School really did prepare me well. Not only are the teachers great, but the people that go there are so much fun! The years that I spent at Palms are definately the most memorable ones.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 3, 2009

Well i am a 6th grader going there right now and i believe it is a wonderfull school. I always feel myself there and know that I can be my best academicly.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 22, 2008

Well last year i was a student at palms middle school and i have to say its one of the best schools ever. I always felt very safe on campus and the teachers were always there to help. I do miss palms middle school alot like many other students. I highly recomend that you go to palms middle school and you will have the best years of your life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 13, 2008

I attended Palms and was part of the Class of 2006. I had the best years of my life at this school and I miss it very much. Many students from the class of 2006 feel the same way. The counselors are amazing and the teachers are helpful and determined. There's nothing wrong with public school so why not go to Palms Middle School?
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 1, 2008

My child is in the magnet program at Palms MS, and all I can say is, that I could not make a better choice. We've got accepted to few other charter schools, but after meeting with the teachers and the principal at Palms, we knew where to send our son. We are very pleased with this school and more important, my son is happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2008

Please ignore the 1 star reviewer before me. Notate the 'several years ago'. In fact MOST schools were below average at that time. As far as my review, I am VERY impressed with the teachers, principal, counselors, security and the demand for high academic achievement within a supportive atmosphere. My kids are in the gifted program, and we went out of district to send them to Palms. Even the General Ed kids have the bar set higher (More than I can say about a lot of schools were all they care about are the gifted students). By the way, my brother went to Palms eons ago...he graduated from Columbia University with a Law degree. There you go...How's that for a review?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2008

My child went there several years ago and the experiences was painful not just for her, but both of us. The kids were rude, the staff were ill-trained to handle the slightest problems. Really, the school was everything it shouldn't be. Worst school ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2008

Having a 6th and 8th grader in Palms Middle School, I continue to be very impressed with the dedication, enthousiasm and warmth of all staffmembers involved with the curriculum, extra tutoring and any special attention they get. CL
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

So far, so good. Our child is a new 6th grader and seems to be growing nicely in the Palms environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

Excellent 6th grade program! My niece loves it! Diverse, challenging, no student with parental support can go wrong here!


Posted September 5, 2008

Palms Middle School is a great! My son has been very happy here for the last two years. He is an 8th grader this year and I expect a good year! My daughter is starting the 6th grade this year so I now have two kids here and am very happy about it. Thanks Palms!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

I go to Palms Now. And this summer I am Going to 7th. Palms is Such great school. It can get boring sometimes but the concerts ad the dances are wonderful. Its so fun and great that kids cant wait to go back. This summer, everyone was so excited to go back. The teachers are great. And the counselors are the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 21, 2008

I went to Palms Middle School for my 6th,7th,& 8th grade year. Palms is the best middle school there is. There is no other school ever that would top Palms. The teachers are great, and nice and are always willing to help you with anything extra. The activities Palms had are amazing. The school is not diverse. Its just the perfect school ever
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 3, 2008

i am a sixth grade here at palms and this is so much better than i thought it would be. if any parents are looking for a good school for their child with great academics and lots of friends, you should really look into palms.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 1, 2008

Palms is a great school. It's teachers have helped my daugher in many ways. My daughert strarted in special education and is gratuating this year as a straight a student on regular classes. Thank you Palms and all its teachers specialy Ms Wetzel
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2008

My child has learned a great amount at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2008

6th grade was a little tough for me, but my 7th and 8th grade expieriences were great. I really liked most of my teachers and really enjoyed the electives offered.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2008

I am a 7th grader here at palms and I love my teachers; They are so determined to teach their students as much as possible. They are focused in their subject and give as much attention to one student as the other. The school is overall a great school and I dont want to leave until I graduate. Unfortnately, at lunch, sometimes there are fights. Luckily, though, the teachers and supervisors are there to stop it immediately. This tells me that I'm safe, and good schools should give you that feeling.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 5, 2007

I love the teachers at Palms middle school because they helped my child in many ways and she became sucessful, independent, and knowledgable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2007

What I like about Palms Middle School is the diversity of the students, and how the students get along well with each other. This school also dont tolerated bullying and they take proper action if a child bullied , therefore it is the safest school to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

878

Change from
2012 to 2013

-3

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

878

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-3

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

447 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

447 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

530 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

413 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
77%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

562 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
69%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
37%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

568 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

559 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females80%
Males74%
African American77%
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disability25%
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner18%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate59%
Parent education - high school graduate63%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)66%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to state81%

Math

All Students71%
Females71%
Males73%
African American69%
Asian89%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability31%
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner24%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduate46%
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to state75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African American100%
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate100%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state100%

English Language Arts

All Students79%
Females83%
Males75%
African American75%
Asian88%
Filipino86%
Hispanic or Latino72%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disability31%
Students with no reported disability82%
English learner22%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate81%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to state76%

Math

All Students59%
Females59%
Males58%
African American52%
Asian73%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disability26%
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner23%
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented90%
Parent education - not a high school graduate25%
Parent education - high school graduate62%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)41%
Parent education - college graduate70%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate79%
Parent education - declined to state58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students74%
Females77%
Males71%
African American73%
Asian95%
Filipino75%
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented85%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate75%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to state78%

English Language Arts

All Students70%
Females74%
Males65%
African American64%
Asian88%
Filipino71%
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disability26%
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner4%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to state77%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students26%
Females25%
Males26%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino24%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)28%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Non-economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disability6%
Students with no reported disability31%
English learner4%
Fluent-English proficient and English only30%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented46%
Parent education - not a high school graduate15%
Parent education - high school graduate10%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)23%
Parent education - college graduate36%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state29%

Geometry

All Students96%
Females96%
Males95%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability95%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state95%

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students67%
Females65%
Males70%
African American61%
Asian89%
Filipino65%
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disability28%
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner10%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented89%
Parent education - not a high school graduate43%
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to state73%

Science

All Students75%
Females74%
Males76%
African American69%
Asian91%
Filipino76%
Hispanic or Latino70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disability43%
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner13%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to state81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 41%
Black 27%
White 16%
Asian 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/AN/A
English language learners 6%N/AN/A

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 1674 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
63%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
66%
 

Students

This school

 
59%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
77%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
65%
 

Employees

This school

 
90%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
67%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
82%
 

Students

This school

 
52%
 

Employees

This school

 
67%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
62%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
54%
 

Employees

This school

 
70%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
59%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
59%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents15114%
Students148894%
Employees3531%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Derek Moriuchi
Fax number
  • (310) 559-0397

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10860 Woodbine Street
Los Angeles, CA 90034
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 253-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Adat Shalom
Los Angeles, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT