Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
123 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 149 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Palms Middle School 1

Posted May 19, 2016
- a community member
The Support Staff have no people skills. I wanted to report a Lice Infestation and they stated that they are unable to do anything about it. So I guess they just don't want their attendance to drop because that means less money coming in. This is a disservice to students well-being.

Palms Middle School 4

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
I enjoyed visiting the school! I've had great experience as an aunt and a family friend would students who attend the school. I wish my son could attend Palms as well.


Palms Middle School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
Why we chose Palms: 1- Palms has a long history of excellent academics taught by experienced educators, many of whom have taught at this school for many years. We believe they know how to effectively implement the common core into their teachings. As a teacher friend said, "Teachers don't leave a good program." 2- Palms has an excellent and fun music program. 3- We wanted our daughter to attend a district school. We felt it was important to support a local public school and we appreciated the multi-racial and diverse population at Palms. Her view of the world will be enriched by this experience. 4- Palms will provide our child with the best education to meet the challenges of nearby magnet high schools. I would like to add that while the appearance of this campus may not be as attractive as others, Palms spends money where it is needed most and we are satisfied with that. We spent months talking to families and teachers whose kids recently graduated and are currently enrolled. No one had anything bad to say. The comments were positive. Our daughter is in the 6th grade SAS program. She comes home happy, has met many new friends, likes her teachers, has excellent grades and is blossoming into a confident adolescent.

Palms Middle School 5

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
Why we chose Palms: 1- Palms has a long history of excellent academics taught by experienced educators, many of whom have taught at this school for many years. We believe they know how to effectively implement the common core into their teachings. As a teacher friend said, "Teachers don't leave a good program." 2- Palms has an excellent and fun music program. 3- We wanted our daughter to attend a district school. We felt it was important to support a local public school and we appreciated the multi-racial and diverse population at Palms. Her view of the world will be enriched by this experience. 4- Palms will provide our child with the best education to meet the challenges of nearby magnet high schools. I would like to add that while the appearance of this campus may not be as attractive as others, Palms spends money where it is needed most and we are satisfied with that. We spent months talking to families and teachers whose kids recently graduated and are currently enrolled. No one had anything bad to say. The comments were positive. Our daughter is in the 6th grade SAS program. She is happy, has met many new friends, likes her teachers, has excellent grades and is blossoming into a confident adolescent.

Palms Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
Why we chose Palms: 1- Palms has a long history of excellent academics taught by experienced educators, many of whom have taught at this school for many years. We believe they know how to effectively implement the common core into their teachings. As a teacher friend said, "Teachers don't leave a good program." 2- Palms has an excellent and fun music program. 3- We wanted our daughter to attend a district school. We felt it was important to support a local public school and we appreciated the multi-racial and diverse population at Palms. Her view of the world will be enriched by this experience. 4- Palms will provide our child with the best education to meet the challenges of nearby magnet high schools. I would like to add that while the appearance of this campus may not be as attractive as others, Palms spends money where it is needed most and we are satisfied with that. We spent months talking to families and teachers whose kids recently graduated and are currently enrolled. No one had anything bad to say. The comments were positive. Our daughter is in the 6th grade SAS program. She comes home happy, has met many new friends, likes her teachers, has excellent grades and is blossoming into a confident adolescent.


Palms Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
To the principal: THANKS FOR NOTHING, after the numerous times I tried to speak with you and you didn't have the courtesy to return my calls except for 3 days before the end of the year when you finally semi acknowledged there was a problem. Your worthless

Palms Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
My son went from being an A student at Paul Revere to F at Palms due to bullying and a lack of care from the teachers.

Palms Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
The school is a failure on epic proportions. Students come last. Teachers try to befriend the students by "acting" on the students level. Discipline is lacking, the school is a mess.


Palms Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
This school couldn't care less about the students, its run like a disobedient jail where the inmates are in charge. Absolutely terrible school.

Palms Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
The principal is incompetent and should not be a principal. He's pathetic and afraid to confront issues at the school. Specially bullying issues.

Nearby schools

Palms Middle School
10860 Woodbine Street, Los Angeles, CA  90034-5416
(310) 253-7600
Last modified Palms Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top