Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Paul Revere Middle School

Charter | 6-8 | 2065 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 11 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

125 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 15, 2012

my little sister has been going to this school since 6th grade and at first she was happy but now she tells me theirs some racists teachers, students and constant bullies. We've talked to teachers and counselors about our problem and they said they will handle and find a solution to this situation but yet the problem is still clearly out their. I find it weird coming from a lesser value middle school where their were fights every day and not even at that middle school their was segregation, or bullying or racism. I blame these white kids parents and the principle for not being proper leaders and role models


Posted June 9, 2012

My son isan honor student in the 6th grade and he has been bullied since hes been there. The administration offer no help and they are not stopping the bullies. I have had several conversations with the people at the school and they have done nothing to fix the situation. Instead they point the finger at my son and tell us that if he were different these things would not happen. Also, it seems that if you write a negative review they will remove it from this sight. Academically I love this school but they need to make it a better environment for the student. You can not resolve bullying by removing the person that is being bullied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2012

This school is overcrowded,the classes are way to big.Bullies are everywhere on campus.Calls to the counseling office do not get returned.Getting a meeting with a teacher is like pulling teeth.My child did one year there.We changed schools for this school year.What a difference!We are much happier after leaving Revere.I will never send one of my kids there again.I am sure the teachers and administration are trying but there are to many kids in this school for them to do a proper job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2012

This school is absolutely amazing. There is no other description for it. Anyway, I am a student at paul revere and i love it. I am in the sixth grade high honors class. The homework is reasonable and the projects are very fun. All i can say is that this school is amazing and i highly reccommend it.


Posted February 9, 2012

AMEN to this strictly monitored site. If your comment isn't "rainbows and lollipos," it will be deleted by Paul Revere. Heaven forbid that the school has a comment that is not positive. After all, Paul Revere is simply perfect. Yeah - just perfect!


Posted December 30, 2011

My son has been in the charter program at Paul Revere since 6th grade and will be graduating this year. Even though I have heard good and bad comments about the school, I am very pleased with it. My son's overall experience has been positive, only one issue with a teacher, that was resolved. Their academics, drama and music program is outstanding. My son is involved in the music program and the PEP program and he loves it. If I could change one thing about the school, it would be an easier way to be able to meet with the teachers and counselors. I know they have a very large work load (over 2,000 students) this makes it really hard to make appointments with them, but they do their best to respond to emails as quickly as possible. All I can say is with any school, stay involved, let those teachers and administration know who you are, email,call and go up to the school if you need too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2011

We bypassed our neighborhood middle school to attend Paul Revere as we felt it had most of the programs and qualities in place that we were looking for. Our children have been very happy here and after so much pondering over middle schools, we have been pleased with our choice. The teachers have been excellent and the work has been interesting and challenging. The electives and the music program both are outstanding and the physical education program is top notch. Our children have also enjoyed the extras - such as lunch clubs, charity drives, PEP, and so much more. Many children from our out of area elementary school attend Paul Revere, but our children have also easily made new friends. There are lots of involved parents and administration responds very quickly when contacted. Very happy at Paul Revere!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2011

Our daughter just completed 6th Grade and had a good year. She started in the regular program and moved up to honors after about five weeks. She actually liked her math and science teacher much better in proficient than in honors. Her math and science teacher in honors was a terrible instructor, and assigned too much homework, much of it "busy" work. When I mentioned the excessive amount of homework, the teacher suggested our daughter should go back to proficient, despite her getting As and Bs in her classes. That seems to be the usual response to parent complaints about the amount of homework. (And some of the homework is really pointless and time consuming.) In terms of discipline problems and bullying, when another child threatened our daughter, the deans and counselors acted quickly to address the issue. This school does not tolerate bullying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2011

14 teachers at this school were handed pink slips. Many of them were 6th grade teachers. In my opinion, Revere has an excellent 6th grade staff of educators. My son and daughter both had a wonderful and challenging 6th grade year. The teachers are top-notch! Sadly, many of them may not be in the classroom this September. Shame on LAUSD for making the cuts in the classroom and against the children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2011

My son just finished 6th grade honors at Revere. He has had an amazingly positive experience both academically and socially. It's true that he had an incredible amount of homework, but he really thrived particularly with all the special projects. It was an effective way for him to learn. His teachers challenged and supported him. He also made great new friends who also cared about school and were also in the music program just like him. And, I really liked the fact the kids had P.E. everyday to stay fit. Overall, our son enjoyed his time and is looking forward to next year. I am impressed how well the staff manages 2100 kids coming from a variety of backgrounds. The teacher and administrative staff are extremely dedicated and hard-working. I supervised during the lunch hour from time to time, and can say that there is no tolerance for questionable behavior and anything that comes up is handled quickly and appropriately. Given the budget restraints, this school makes miracles happen everyday. The key to making this school work: make sure your kid goes to school everyday, does the work.... and gets into the music program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2011

I consider this school to be a well run state penal institution. BUT considering that there are 2300 kids, I think they do a very good job. If your child falls into the middle of the bell curve then you are in good hands. That is, if he/she is self motivated or closely watched over by a parent then they will do well. The teachers care and are for the most part very good. If, your child is NOT a good student, or motivated, or has any learning issues, then you will have a difficult time here. There is an extreme overload of busy work home work, over which the teachers have no control. It is state mandated with very little thought other than high scores for the school which related to funding, however much needed. Bathrooms are filthy, and the place is run down for a lack of maintenance funding. Remember that these are traditionally difficult transition years for children, somewhere in the 12-14 years old zone, so it can't be any easy job managing an crowded school like this one. As far as alternatives go, I can't say that I've found the private schools to be better, and for 10-30 thousand dollars a year, from experience, I'd say your money is for the most part wasted. Good luck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2011

My son, now finishing his second year has had an excellent time at the school. On balance, some truly outstanding teachers ( two duds in 2 years...) but he has grown both academically and emotionally. A recent review by a another parent read like private school shill, hitting all the fear mongering marks one could imagine... I rated the school a 5t, though it's probably a 4.5... still room for improvement in some areas... tho parental involvement is huge here... not sure what the parent who posted before me is referencing re: not being allowed to see what's going on... contrary to that it's easy to get involved, and/or meet with teachers... or email them.... large class sizes not really a problem unless the child has a hard time focusing
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2011

As a student at Paul Revere, a large amount of the reviews I have read have made Paul Revere out to be a school with drug dealers, endless bullies, horrible teachers, and no regard for students' safety... That is the exact opposite of what I have seen. In my homeroom, we have gone over our planners' section on bullying, drugs, violence, etc., so please do not say the administration doesn't educate the students on those subjects. I encounter at least 150 students a day in classes, and none of them have been bullies or appear to be selling or using drugs. My teachers are incredible-- they go to the far ends of the Earth to enhance our courses and make sure we understand what they are teaching. They have NO tolerance whatsoever for talking during class or suspicious behavior, and will pull you aside if you seem depressed, angry, etc. Though my class is high honors, my teachers also teach regulars, which is about 70% of the same stuff (we just go into more detail and have more work.) My friends tell me that their teachers are phenomenal and that they have never been bullied at Paul Revere or offered drugs...


Posted April 20, 2011

Yes, bullying is a problem; however, the solution is not punishing an identified perpetrator. The solution is taking a hard look at school culture. Children are impressionable and there are effective programs that address creating a culture of respect and caring. These programs require a head-on commitment from school leaders (not occasional rallies), time investment and change in classroom management by teachers, effective use of homeroom to do more than take roll and make announcements and parents who want to help build character for all members of the school community. This won't be implemented if the emphasis is on punishment. We have to model caring and compassion. The comments about racial (and class) bias are correct. At Paul Revere, in a Darwinian environment where each parent is out for their own child and class time is spent talking about the last trip to Europe, this will be a challenge, but we can do it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2011

Unfortunately I have to agree with the parent who posted on November 11, 2010 in regards to the bullying situation. I'm totally in favor of excellent academics, exceptional, caring teachers, what parent wouldn't?--don't really care too much about a farm being on campus, a farm....really now?? But, in this day and age, safety and protection is #1 on my list! I agree 100% that PR has a SERIOUS problem with BULLIES that is not sufficiently addressed. How can you address bully problems with a "no suspension rule". If a student does something to harm another student, whether it's physically or verbally, that student should be disciplined accordingly. A "no suspension" policy to me means that if the suspended student is not in school for the day/those days, then the school doesn't get the $$$. for the day! Total BS!!! Question for PR, Principal, Deans: Which is more important to you? MONEY FOR YOUR SCHOOL, OR A CHILDS SAFETY. Parents, I pose the same question to you for you and yours????
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2010

Great school when it comes to course work. However, I have to say there is some racial bias at the school. If your child is of color they assume they are in the wrong most of the time. There also seems to be a bullying problem that seems to be overlooked by the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

The community truly comes together to support ideas and execute them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2010

I d like to share our family s experience with regard to regular and honors track. Our daughter started sixth grade in a regular track class. We felt that a mistake had been made in her placement and met with her teachers who reassured us by saying that they also taught honors classes. Our daughter was given supplementary homework which was similar to that given to honors classes. She was recommended for honors track for seventh grade and did well, scoring at the advanced level in the CST evaluations. Although our daughter s sixth grade class did have several students with discipline problems, it did not prevent a successful academic year. It would be a mistake to write-off regular track. The teachers are competent and caring. Unrelated comment: The bands and orchestras of the music department are amazingly good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2010

Im am a student at Paul Revere some people say that there a drug problem well there a drug problem in every school and it not the school fault it the kids fault there try as hard as possible to get rid of that and it located in a very nice area and i feel safe at this school.


Posted August 16, 2010

Paul Revere has very nice teachers and an amazing principal that cares for all the students at Paul Revere.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

903

Change from
2012 to 2013

-1

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

903

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-1

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

667 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

672 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

646 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

462 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

316 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
57%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

670 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
68%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
28%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

683 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

671 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Females86%
Males78%
African American69%
Asian89%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disability45%
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduate61%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state78%

Math

All Students81%
Females80%
Males81%
African American57%
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disability50%
Students with no reported disability83%
English learner22%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented99%
Parent education - not a high school graduate63%
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to state72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students97%
Females95%
Males99%
African Americann/a
Asian97%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Non-economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate91%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)91%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students79%
Females81%
Males78%
African American60%
Asian89%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disability41%
Students with no reported disability82%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduate65%
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to state64%

Math

All Students62%
Females61%
Males62%
African American31%
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disability32%
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner13%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)44%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to state52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students82%
Females81%
Males84%
African American83%
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disability92%
Students with no reported disability82%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduate72%
Parent education - high school graduate64%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)84%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to state77%

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females79%
Males76%
African American52%
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disability54%
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner27%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)66%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to state70%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students36%
Females28%
Males42%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Non-economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disability18%
Students with no reported disability40%
English learner15%
Fluent-English proficient and English only37%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate39%
Parent education - high school graduate31%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)24%
Parent education - college graduate36%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate60%
Parent education - declined to state38%

Geometry

All Students98%
Females97%
Males99%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)99%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Non-economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability98%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only98%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented99%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)91%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to state100%

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students76%
Females73%
Males77%
African American42%
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disability46%
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate60%
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to state63%

Science

All Students76%
Females72%
Males79%
African American49%
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disability43%
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate58%
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to state66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 26%
Hispanic 24% 52%
Black 15% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A55%
Female 46%N/A48%
Male 54%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 1%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 2031 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
63%
agree
 
District average
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
68%
 

District average

 
70%
 

Students

This school

 
59%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
80%
agree
 
District average
77%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
70%
 

District average

 
74%
 

Employees

This school

 
91%
 

District average

 
81%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
79%
agree
 
District average
70%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
91%
 

District average

 
78%
 

Students

This school

 
55%
 

District average

 
58%
 

Employees

This school

 
91%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
69%
agree
 
District average
68%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
53%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Employees

This school

 
84%
 

District average

 
71%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
64%
agree
 
District average
66%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
64%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents18613%
Students181187%
Employees3425%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Fern Somoza
Fax number
  • (310) 576-7957

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Ultimate Frisbee

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1450 Allenford Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90049
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 917-4800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Martin Of Tours
Los Angeles, CA



Brentwood School
Los Angeles, CA



Light House School
Santa Monica, CA


Lincoln Middle School
Santa Monica, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT