Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Paul Revere Middle School

Charter | 6-8 | 2065 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 11 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

124 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 24, 2009

I am a student at PR and in sixth grade. My teachers, Mr. Hernandez and Mr. Carnine, are the best ever and love to teach. They have a great sense of humor. My PE class with Ms. Omori is fantastic, except for running miles weekly, but everyone has to do that. I am also in the music program, which is great. But I must say, the facilities could be a lot cleaner and the plants better taken care of. I haven't seen many fights. I also wish people would be suspended more often for their wrongdoings. There are bad people at PR, and good people. PR is giving out the wrong message; do bad things and you get the attention, get straight A's and you are ignored. To me, it all depends on which teachers you get that determines if you'll like the year or not.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 19, 2008

As a parent of a 6th Grader I could not be happier with Paul Revere...the teachers she has are Mr. Hernandez and Mr. Carnine....Love them...and so does she. The way they have thier PE set up is excellent and the music department is great, too. I have experienced nothing but caring and loving people. Also, My daughter loves the school! She is learning so much. I thank God for a Public and Charter school like PR in my area. Darlene Herbstman, Mom
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

I am a public school advocate, but am disgusted and frustrated with PR! While there are some excellent teachers (Mr. Honda, Mr. Schwartz, Ms. Chen as examples), my experience to date is that there are too many teachers and Administrators who simply don't care, can't relate to kids, and/or are simply killing time until they can retire (think Stepford). Note: My child sees fights weekly and claims that only a small percentage of the kids get caught. Calls I've made into the school remain unanswered. I am disgusted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2008

I love the diversity of the school. The curriculum and teachers are challenging. It also is a safe atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

For a LAUSD middle school Paul Revere is a very good choice. The students are engaged and responsive. There does not appear to be a pervasive bully problem as with most LAUSD schools. There is a sense of pride that I have seen my son develop since being at Paul Revere. The first year he was not sure he liked the school but by the second he was very please to be there. He especially likes the honors math and science classes. Also a nice treat is Mr. Honda's farm. My son loves to visit the animals and take care of them. For a very large middle school Paul Revere has a lot going for it. Another plus is it is a very diverse school with many great kids getting along. I wish more LAUSD schools were like this one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

My son has really developed into a brilliant student at this school. He loves going everday and the teachers are the best. He plays music for an hour each day and is very very happy. I just wish it went on to high school. The math and science classes are world class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

This is a terrible school. Many teachers belittle the students in class and are unresponsive to messages to meet to discuss issues. The counselors are even worse. Bad counselors are promoted to administration and replaced with inept, uncaring, bored people. Unbelievable that we as parents have to put our children in their care day in and day out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2008

This school is awesome, you make lots of friends and everyone is so nice. There are many pep programs that are very fun. Also everyone at school is so smart.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2008

Recently toured the school and was extremely impressed, especially with the SAS and ASAS classes. The 6th graders were challenged , and seemed very happy in the classrooms we saw. Word is the new principal is top notch. It's a large school, but the kids didn't seem to feel at odds with that at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2008

Very nice middle school with full of edu. It has alot of fun activites and are middle school kids would love it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2008

This is the best school for all children. This school has the best teachers and staff out of all the schools. The teachers- most of them- help you out when you neeed it and they are people you would look up to. I'm actually going to graduate in a week and the 8th grade activities are great and always fun. Overall, this is the best school to go to for middle school. I spent my best three years of my life here, and they were great ones, too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2008

We'll for me as a Paul Revere student I feel as if that Paul Revere is a great middle school and is more than your average middle school. They make the 6th graders year easier by putting their classes closer together and only having to switch classes 3 times a day. At times Paul Revere is vivid but what middle school isn't. They have smart, fun teachers there. They give the 8th graders (like me) so much pleasurable memories like my favorite the DisneyLand Trip and 8th Grade Picnic. But as a conclusion Paul Revere Middle School is a great place for your child so check it out. (also for children in the 7th grade I recommend for honor english class only Mr. David Baca's 7th grade hornors english class.) Go Class of '08..!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2008

After reading some of the earlier comments posted here, I wasn't sure if Paul Revere would work for my family. I am pleased to report this is a great school. The teachers, without exception, have been amazing. Our counselor is fantastic - he helped my son, who stumbled first semeser, get on track. My daughter loves it here and now my son is enjoying school. The most difficult lesson to learn is that the kids are responsible for themselves - no class interruptions for homework, lunch, backpacks left at home, if you miss class, you have to get assignments on your own - big difference from elementary school but great preparation for high school/college. What would make the school 5 star is more classes/clubs where these students can put their newly learned self reliance to work. Otherwise, a great place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2008

I started off at Revere in 2005. At first it was a harder transition since I came from an Elementary School of 250 people and homework was a once every couple of nights verses Revere were homework is every night and the teachers don't hold your hand and kids aren't always so nice. As the years pass by i've had so much fun here. Take note that I may not be doing what im supposed to do in class but I've found that your teachers care about you and your education. It isn't just a job for most of them its an enjoyment. Fav. Teachers: ------------------------- Ms. Zuckerbraun - 6th Mrs. Meyerstein - 7th Ms. Uchida - 7th Dr. Fish - 8th Ms. Combus - 8th Mr. Bates
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2007

My son just started the 6th grade in September, and I am very impressed with Revere so far. The teachers and the 6th grade counselor are high quality, and the administration has generally been friendly and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

Paul Revere is a great school that has wonderful teachers that help kids out in their time of need. Some of the teachers do not fufill all my child's needs, but I am very happy with the way the school is run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

We are sad because the best teacher in the Eighth grade is leaving this year before our child can be in her class. Some teachers are wonderful, some a complete waste of time. The science program needs strengthening. The principal could more leadership, but many of the problems are due to LAUSD's woes. The school is HUGE and impersonal. Kids get lost in space literally and figuratively if they aren't really strong and directed. For us, it's a long drive. I wish we had better local alteratives. My child could be free to study or play with the hour a day spent in the car commuting. If you have to go here, you have to, I suppose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

I think PRMS is a great school and I like the many choices of the art,music,p.e and other activities that are offered to the students. My son is in the 6th grade and the transition from elem to middle school has been very smooth. The teachers are really great. I have no comment on the parent involvement because I haven't involved like I should be but I am unable to because I work for another local school district (@ IUSD). Thanks, Meiko Cook.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2007

Coming from the private sector we weren't sure what to expect. So far this year we have found the teachers of very high quality, the education excellent and a genuine caring over all from the staff. The challenges for public schools are very different from the private schools but Paul Revere has the right attitude. The parents that we have met since joining are also terrific. Now, all my son can talk about is how glad he is being there and how much he is looking forward to Pali High; especially after yesterdays assembly presentation from the kids and staff of Pali High. The entire 8th grade of Pali was present with the intent of calming their trepidation in going to high school. My son also started (on his own) looking at colleges. This school has been a terrific influence. Thank you all very much. Mr. & Mrs. Callas
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2007

Paul Revere Middle School has a lot to offer the serious, responsible, enthusiastic student. My 6th grade daughter, has learned to navigate her way and succeed in a very real world environment committed to the success of the avid learner. It may not be the best choice for all students. However for the mature student who wants to achieve on variety of levels, academically, athletically, socially, artistically or musically, it can happen at Paul Revere. There is no hand holding, children learn to ask for what they want, need or desire and if they can do that they will thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

903

Change from
2012 to 2013

-1

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

903

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-1

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

667 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

672 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

646 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

462 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

316 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
57%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

670 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
68%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
28%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

683 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

671 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Females86%
Males78%
African American69%
Asian89%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disability45%
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduate61%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state78%

Math

All Students81%
Females80%
Males81%
African American57%
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disability50%
Students with no reported disability83%
English learner22%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented99%
Parent education - not a high school graduate63%
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to state72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students97%
Females95%
Males99%
African Americann/a
Asian97%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Non-economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate91%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)91%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students79%
Females81%
Males78%
African American60%
Asian89%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disability41%
Students with no reported disability82%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduate65%
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to state64%

Math

All Students62%
Females61%
Males62%
African American31%
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disability32%
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner13%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)44%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to state52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students82%
Females81%
Males84%
African American83%
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disability92%
Students with no reported disability82%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduate72%
Parent education - high school graduate64%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)84%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to state77%

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females79%
Males76%
African American52%
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disability54%
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner27%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)66%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to state70%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students36%
Females28%
Males42%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Non-economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disability18%
Students with no reported disability40%
English learner15%
Fluent-English proficient and English only37%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate39%
Parent education - high school graduate31%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)24%
Parent education - college graduate36%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate60%
Parent education - declined to state38%

Geometry

All Students98%
Females97%
Males99%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)99%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Non-economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability98%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only98%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented99%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)91%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to state100%

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students76%
Females73%
Males77%
African American42%
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disability46%
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate60%
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to state63%

Science

All Students76%
Females72%
Males79%
African American49%
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disability43%
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate58%
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to state66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 27%
Hispanic 26% 51%
Black 16% 7%
Asian 10% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 2031 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
63%
agree
 
District average
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
68%
 

District average

 
70%
 

Students

This school

 
59%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
80%
agree
 
District average
77%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
70%
 

District average

 
74%
 

Employees

This school

 
91%
 

District average

 
81%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
79%
agree
 
District average
70%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
91%
 

District average

 
78%
 

Students

This school

 
55%
 

District average

 
58%
 

Employees

This school

 
91%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
69%
agree
 
District average
68%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
53%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Employees

This school

 
84%
 

District average

 
71%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
64%
agree
 
District average
66%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
64%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents18613%
Students181187%
Employees3425%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Fern Somoza
Fax number
  • (310) 576-7957

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Ultimate Frisbee

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1450 Allenford Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90049
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 917-4800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Archer School for Girls
Los Angeles, CA


Brentwood School
Los Angeles, CA


Corpus Christi Elementary School
Pacific Palisades, CA


Light House School
Santa Monica, CA


Lincoln Middle School
Santa Monica, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT