Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public charter
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 2,065
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 124 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Paul Revere Middle School 3

Posted March 30, 2015
- a parent
Paul Revere is very large but academically rigorous. We thought that the academic rigor would be great for our son and on that front we were right. He is in Honors. But the transition from 5th grade to 6th was rough, the school did little to help. Also, we have seen our child who loved school become one who sees it as a task. They do very few "above and beyond" programs during the school day, field trips are few, far between, mundane and the new principal works hard but it is clear that he hasn't learned the job yet. They have terrific music and PE programs, be clear it's a running school. If your kid doesn't like to run he/she will be in trouble at Revere! Our son has taken to running. Think long and hard about this school, the positives are large and the negatives are as well. We are looking at alternatives and will decide soon.

Paul Revere Middle School 4

Posted March 22, 2015
- a parent
I have a child in the 8th grade at PRMS. This school has been above average for our child, with many excellent teachers balancing out the sub-par ones (notably the English Department has been extremely lacking (two teachers in particular). The history department has been superb for our child. All of the teachers our child has/had in the history department have been exemplary and have inspired and challenged their students so much so they deserve special recognition. Unfortunately, due to ridiculous accusations leveled against one teacher two days ago this amazing, sensitive teacher may not receive the commendations and appreciation he so richly deserves.


Paul Revere Middle School 2

Posted September 06, 2014
- a parent
Classes are too large. Bullying is a problem .Kids who should be in honors are not. probably due to overcrowding. Im sure they are trying at this school but if you have other choices take it. Revere did not have my child in Honors he is now in Private school in AP and Honors...as soon as we switched we realized he was being overlooked. Bottom line...to many kids.

Paul Revere Middle School 4

Posted September 06, 2014
- a parent
It's a huge school with over 2000 students and large class size, but...the incoming 6th graders seem to adapt very quickly to middle school and I was impressed overall with the teachers - especially in English and History. But here's the thing about 6th grade Math: they are going to zoom through the textbook at a VERY fast pace, so take full advantage of the online "classzone" help (and even do the extra mixed reviews in the textbook) if your child seems to be lagging behind. They can also check many of the odd numbered answers in the back of the book to see if they're on the right track. The school also provides homework help after school on certain days - we didn't use it, but it's great that they offer it. Now that we're in 7th grade, the pace of math seems to have slowed considerably, allowing for our child to actually grasp the concepts with more than just a flailing understanding.(or maybe the 7th grade math teacher is just a better teacher) All the 7th grade teachers we have are outstanding, the electives and PEP are fun, and our child is thriving at Paul Revere!
3 people found this helpful

Paul Revere Middle School 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
As far as public middle schools go, it is one of the best! Very good student body, amazing involved parents, a lot of hard working and dedicated teachers, counselors and assistant principals. Sad to see the principal retire this year. And would love to have smaller size honors classes. 40 kids, really?


Paul Revere Middle School 5

Posted March 09, 2014
- a parent
I have two children there, 6th and 8th graders. It's a big campus and your child must learn to navigate a big campus such as going to a locker and then PE to a smaller locker and then perhaps another class. Last year was my first visit to the Back to School night, and I was greatly impressed by the teachers' backgrounds and the amount of material that was covered in their presentations. My son is in honor classes, and he spends a lot of time on homework, including weekends. There was some discussion among the parents regarding the difficulty in 6th grade math. However, the head of the math department also stated that any child will be well-prepared for high school. The bottomline is that the school is academically rigorous. The music and PE programs are the finest. The school has a community service requirement. There will always be bumps in the road, such as the traffic jams in the neighborhood with pickups and drop-offs, late buses, and paperwork snafus. But all in all, we are proud to send our children there.

Paul Revere Middle School 2

Posted February 12, 2014
- a parent
Wow-this is a HUGE school. Not to organized and teachers are stretched to the limit in dealing with all the kids. Class size is massive. My son has 43 kids in several of his classes-so be prepared for very little interaction with the teacher. Great emphasis is placed on Math & Science. Get ready-this isn't Kansas anymore-meaning this is a big step up from elementary school (Fairburn).

Paul Revere Middle School 4

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
Paul Revere Middle School looks very large and perhaps a bit overwhelming coming from elementary school, but it provides a great education and individual and personal attention to its students. It covers all bases - from strong academics to attentive counseling services and enrichment opportunities. Good parental and community support and a lovely and safe setting.
1 person found this helpful


Paul Revere Middle School 3

Posted October 14, 2013
- a parent
My child is in the 6th grade, and although we looked at many schools, we chose Paul Revere. This was a mistake, as our son is not advanced in math or science, and these subjects are of great emphasis at Paul Revere. Homework is very intense with at least 1 1/2 hours per night and on weekends. We're going to get through this year, but will be moving our son to Emerson next fall.

Paul Revere Middle School 4

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
I have two girls, 6th grade and 7th grade, attending Paul Revere Charter Middle School and they love it. I think envoirnment of the school is so nice and it makes a difference when you are trying to learn. My 7th grader is on the spectrum of Autism and have had bullying issues at her previous Middle School, however at Revere they seems to address those issues head on. They also, have resources and tools in place for my daughter to build her social skills and make friends.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Paul Revere Middle School
1450 Allenford Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90049
(310) 917-4800
Last modified Paul Revere Middle School is a Charter school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Paul Revere Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 152 reviews. Top