Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 964
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


South Park Elementary School 5

Posted March 26, 2015
- a parent
My son has an IEP and I have only had pleasure of dealing with few teachers in this school. Ms Calderon and assistant Ms Florez are great with kids, they can motivate them with the few resources they have available. If you have a child with special needs that is starting school, I strongly suggest you ask for Ms Calderon classroom. Ms Lopez with assistants Ms Ruvalcaba and Ms Austin also form a great team and do lots of activities to keep children on task and motivate them to learn. The office staff is great and the Principal Mr Schaffer is very professional. I am glad to see there is staff in the education field out there that care about children.

South Park Elementary School 5

Posted February 12, 2014
- a teacher
south park is full of dedicated teachers who put their whole hearts into teaching. it is a good environment that fosters learning.


South Park Elementary School 5

Posted June 06, 2011
- a community member
I am a former student from this school, from 1999-2004. I never had those problems while i was there. Ms. Rose, the principal when i was there was a very heplful staff. But then again, i have not visited this school in 7 years and i dont have a clue about how the school is now. If what i readis true, the school should getback Ms. Rose, she was responsible and dedicated to her work. So was the rest of the Staff, and especially La's Best, it was becasue of them that i gotto understand and to love math.

South Park Elementary School 1

Posted May 18, 2010
- a parent
I totally agree with all the negative reviews left by other parents. My children attend, and they hate it. The principal is a bully to the kids. He yells everyday, and he is very rude. LA'S best is a joke. They let the kids run free without any supervision. They don't help with homework or offer any real guidance. Office staff are sometimes rude, and the kids are out of control.

South Park Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 13, 2010
- a parent
The new principal at the school is very rude to the children, he is a control freak, and he has not business being around children. He yells at the kids everyday, and is not a good role model for them at all. He doesn't seem to genuinely care for the children, and he belittles them making them not want to come to school. I will be pulling my children out ASAP.


South Park Elementary School 4

Posted April 07, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

South Park Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

South Park Elementary School 5

Posted February 23, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


South Park Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 09, 2008
- a parent
South Park Elementary School is an ideal school for any child to learn. The teaching staff are all well educated and motivated to take any child positively to the next academic level. The principal, Ms. Karen Rose is a super mom to everyone. She sees to it that the students needs come first at all time. She is always accessible, caring, and a wonderful listener. My daughter loves school because of her teachers and Ms. Rose. Every child wants to be in the 350 club - proficient and advance students. I will recommend this school to all parents with open mind. Long live Scorpions!!!!!!!!!

South Park Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted July 31, 2008
- a parent
South Park is like an oasis in this community for these children. The administrators are highly educated people that know what they are doing all the time. The teachers and staff are dedicated and committed to positively impact the lives of these children. Let's not mention the school food. It has recently been improved significantly. This school must be a great school if teachers themselves have children enrolled. God bless South Park.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Park Elementary School
8510 Towne Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90003
(323) 753-4591
Last modified South Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
South Park Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top