Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Saturn Street Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 501 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 30, 2014

I am not a parent of this school , however my kids attend a school nearby. Every time I go and drop of my kids at school there is parents parking in the corner of Burnside Ave & Saturn St,. Blocking the intersection putting their children in harm s way. Not only are they blocking the turning intersection but they are parking on a red zone not allowing traffic to make any turns. They wait for their children to cross the street, blocking the view. Anybody could go around that car and turn and run over a child all because these parents are blocking the street & the view to other drivers. All because of their laziness to get off the car and drop of their kids. I called the school & spoke to some coordinator but she as well didn't seem to care for these kids safety. I told this person I had an encounter with one of the parents from they're school this morning. This parent after turning on the street was purposely driving really slow blocking my car. This so called mother jump out of her car and started screaming & using profanity while I had my son in my car. I called the cops & the traffic unit for L..A. & reported her. It's sad to see that the **Continue....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2013

I am embarrassed for this school's Administrators. I initiated contact about enrolling my daughter and quickly changed my mind once I met the Office manager who does not seem to care about her horrible mannerisms even when people are around! I wasn't surprised to learn this is the same person who lacked telephone etiquette and person skills during a prior call to the school about the office hours. Unfortunate because the Principal seems like a wonderful person. My sisters and I are spending the summer researching alternative programs!


Posted September 6, 2012

My experience is as a visitor, but I am also a parent & a teacher in the community. My main concern is with one specific 5th grade teacher. I witnessed her on numerous occasions create an abusive learning environment for her students. When she spoke to her students, she screamed at & berated them much like a drill sergeant. She scolded them as if even a simple request was an offense to her. This teacher appeared constantly angry, & disrespectful to the students. I also witnessed her yelling at an adult. This kind of communication does not belong in our classrooms. If my child had to be subjected to her rants everyday, I would remove my child from that class. NO ONE deserves to be spoken to in such a way, especially where education & creativity are supposed to thrive. Although many of the other teachers seemed very patient & kind with their students, this teacher s behavior does reflect on the overall reputation of the school. It is the administration s responsibility to create a positive educational experience. If it s unable to protect its students & help this teacher learn to communicate respectfully & effectively, then perhaps the school board needs to get involved.


Posted October 20, 2010

My child has attended this school for 3 yrs now and in the beginning I wasn't very happy with the schools structure however; I can say that in the past year or so this school has improved in various areas and also parent participation has improved. Some office staff can be warm and welcoming however Saturn's Administrative Secretary needs to improve in people skills and telephone etiquette.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2010

I have two kids at this school and both kids had an outstanding year! We faced a few challenges this year that needed the principal s attention and I am VERY pleased at how she handled those challenges. She took care of business before things got out of hand (bullying situation) and she also worked with me to address the needs of my other child in a manner that was completely satisfying. Thank you Principal Bryant and Staff I look forward to another rewarding year in 2010-2011.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

School has the wrong priorities. The administration spend LOTS of time monitoring review sites (such as this one), soliciting responses to negative comments and organizing protest about cuts. Instead of complaining about how bad things are, our children would be much BETTER served if the same amount of effort was spent on dealing with what we have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

I have been teaching at Saturn for 10 years and have seen this school go through vast improvements. The students have access to visual arts, intrumental music, vocal music, dance, interventions for struggling students, and a free after school program for all grade levels. In no way has the staff ever put our jobs in front of a student's education. I feel sad that any parents feel that teachers put themselves first. Unfortunately, we have had major budgetary cuts, but we have never sent out letters to save the budget. We are trying to get the community involved by participating in family dinner nights and standard fundraisers that many schools use to raise money. It is unfortunate that there are parents out there who feel that we are constantly asking for donations and ignoring students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 3, 2010

Saturn is a great school which has served my children for almost 5 years now. Unfortunately, like ALL schools, Saturn is suffering from the school district's budget issues. But I think it is very disappointingto see all these poor reviews from parents saying that the teachers only care about fundraising and saving their jobs, and all of the negative opinions of the principal. As parents, we should be supporting the people who are educating our children, not attacking them at every turn. WE need to get it together and be a part of the TEAM.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

As the Principal of Saturn, a great school, I welcome all to visit our school and learn about all the wonderful opportunities for students. We have an amazing group of students, families, and staff. Our local community support is second to none! Make time to visit soon.


Posted September 26, 2009

Our school improved out API score by 57 points this year!!! We are at 780! Way to go Saturn. We have a great team of teachers who are very dedicated to the students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 20, 2009

A great community of people each doing their best to help our children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 19, 2009

A dedicated community, with active, involved families! Plus, they are working hard to transform their paved playground to a park-like setting which will be available to the neighborhood when school is not in session.


Posted September 19, 2009

i love saturn because the staff really do care, now we just need everyone else to care just as much.


Posted September 19, 2009

Saturn Elementary represents the oppertunity for all walks of life to achieve the american dream of a higher education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

They have the best teachers. All the teachers care very much about their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I work at Saturn and am delighted that our API score went up 57 points. All the teachers and students worked really hard to produce that significant movement up. Next year, 880.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2009

The Librarian, Mrs. Midel at the school is very good with the children and helps them a great deal. She is a valuable asset to the school. She is a positive influence on the children. I feel the students have benefited from volunteering in the library.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

I have a son who is now into his second year at this school. I have had nothing but positive experiences from day one. HOWEVER, I don't have a child that has any special needs and I've never had to make any special request. I haven't had to deal with the school office/administration on any level. I was able to resolve any classroom issues with the teachers directly. I have no complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

Administration at this school are very inadequately trained. When asked for assistance, they cannot provide it, and the principle seems to not have the time to speak to parents regarding their children. Written rules for many school activities cannot be furnished, and are made up on th spot to serve the staff needs, which can change daily. My experience with this school has not been good so far. I am very dissapointed in how parents are pacified to get them out of the office, instead of the problems being handled. I would not recommend this school to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2008

My son has completed to years at this school and I have never had any problems as far as education and curriculum goes. The teachers are wonderful, the staff is great and very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

754

Change from
2012 to 2013

-36

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

754

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-36

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
26%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students44%
Females49%
Males39%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability48%
English learner47%
Fluent-English proficient and English only41%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate52%
Parent education - high school graduate27%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state50%

Math

All Students39%
Females36%
Males41%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability42%
English learner42%
Fluent-English proficient and English only35%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate52%
Parent education - high school graduate14%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)42%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students43%
Females44%
Males41%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability45%
English learner26%
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate40%
Parent education - high school graduate30%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state63%

Math

All Students71%
Females71%
Males71%
African American73%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner57%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate85%
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students61%
Females54%
Males69%
African American62%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner21%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate59%
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state64%

Math

All Students71%
Females71%
Males72%
African American69%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner47%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate71%
Parent education - high school graduate69%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students35%
Females43%
Males28%
African American7%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability37%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only42%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate41%
Parent education - high school graduate28%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state31%

Math

All Students24%
Females20%
Males27%
African American7%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino28%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability25%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only30%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate22%
Parent education - high school graduate17%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state31%

Science

All Students31%
Females29%
Males34%
African American20%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability33%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only40%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate35%
Parent education - high school graduate22%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 78%
Black 19%
White 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Asian 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 93%N/AN/A
English language learners 36%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 403 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
67%
agree
 
District average
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
59%
 

District average

 
70%
 

Students

This school

 
75%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
78%
agree
 
District average
77%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
71%
 

District average

 
74%
 

Employees

This school

 
86%
 

District average

 
81%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
64%
agree
 
District average
70%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
72%
 

District average

 
78%
 

Students

This school

 
51%
 

District average

 
58%
 

Employees

This school

 
70%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
68%
agree
 
District average
68%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
59%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Employees

This school

 
76%
 

District average

 
71%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
76%
agree
 
District average
66%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
76%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents18444%
Students20087%
Employees1942%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Tracie Bryant
Fax number
  • (323) 933-6370

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5360 Saturn Street
Los Angeles, CA 90019
Phone: (323) 931-1688

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Taylor Tot Playhouse
Los Angeles, CA



Donna Ro School
Los Angeles, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT