Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Seventy-Fourth Street Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school, my daughter has attended this school since kindergarten! ! I'm saddened that this is her last year; when their principal Mr Cunningham died everyone came together!! I love this school!!!

Seventy-Fourth Street Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Seventy Fourth Street Elementary is a great public school that offers the children who attend a quality education. My second child is attending Seventy Fourth Street because I approve of the curriculum and teacher quality.


Seventy-Fourth Street Elementary School 5

Posted August 11, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has attended this school since she was in Kindergarten. Currently she will be going into the 5th grade, her last year! I'm saddened that she is leaving this school because the staff and teachers are very communicative with the parents!!

Seventy-Fourth Street Elementary School 5

Posted May 01, 2013
- a parent
This school is a great school,infact when my daughter star this school she don't know how to read ,but now she doing great in reading. 74th elementary school is one of the best school ,they have a very good teacher

Seventy-Fourth Street Elementary School 5

Posted September 20, 2012
- a community member
This is an absolutely magnificent school... particularly the gifted magnet program. It definitely has wonderful, capable, and caring teachers as well as challenging academic programs. I say all of this from personal experience as I attended this school and am now a rather successful junior at Hamilton High School who ended up at John Burroughs for middle school in their amazing gifted program after preparation from 74th street.


Seventy-Fourth Street Elementary School 5

Posted February 02, 2012
- a parent
What an excellent school with great leadership. Both of my sons was/is part of the Magnet Prog. When my husband passed away, I was surrounded by support from principal and school at a very challenging time for schools. For Mr. Cunningham and teachers to take the time was amazing and our family is forever grateful. The top notch academics is a bonus! My kids score high in classroom and on standardized tests. School is the jewel of neighborhood and district! Carolyn Emery

Seventy-Fourth Street Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2011
- a parent
Great school and excellent principle which mean the school has great leadership. Both of my children have excelled at this school. I am thoroughly impressed with the Magnet Program and the experiences the kids have being a part of the program. If you have child and live in the neighborhood please consider this school you will not be disappointed.

Seventy-Fourth Street Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 05, 2007
- a parent
My daughter graduated with honors from the magnet program at 74th Street School. We now live out-of- state, but the memory of exceptional teachers and students and a dedicated, caring administration will forever be in our hearts. 74th Street School, helped prepare my daughter to excell and compete anywhere she goes. We love 74th Street!Magnet!


Seventy-Fourth Street Elementary School 4

Posted September 01, 2007
- a parent
74th St.Elem. Magnet School has excellent Teachers and an exceptional Principal that is concerned about not only students in the Magnet School, but all students in the school.The Magnet School Coordinator, Title One Coordinator,Reading Coach, Vice Principal,Attendance Coordinator,School Psychologist, Office Staff,Maintenance and Cafeteria Staff, and all Teachers in the regular school are trying very hard to educate all students attending the school.My grandchild attended private schools for three years. She is receiving a private school education in the Magnet Program. What this school needs is more parent involment.The Principal had a parent computer training/learning program to teach parents skils/resources to tutor students for two nights and one evening more training staff was present than parents.

Seventy-Fourth Street Elementary School 5

Posted January 12, 2006
- a parent
I'm glad I picked 74th street school to send my daughter to. She has improved in her reading, math and other learning skills. 74Th st. School and there teachers really care about there students and like to keep there parents informed about the school and what's going on there. I feel safe and my daughter does as well.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Seventy-Fourth Street Elementary School
2112 West 74th Street, Los Angeles, CA  90047-2118
(323) 753-2338
Last modified Seventy-Fourth Street Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Seventy-Fourth Street Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top