Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
68 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 96 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Short Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted April 05, 2016
- a parent
My son, Eduardo, loves Short Avenue Elementary School and the after school program. He has improved social skills and learning experience in every aspect. We, as parents, are very impressed and happy with this school. We've moved in from Brazil 8 months ago, and Eduardo started as an English learner, after four months he became a native speaker. We are surprised with his evolution in this amazing school. The staff is great and the teachers are very experienced and compromised. Short is awesome!!!

Short Avenue Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 11, 2015
- a community member
Thank you for helping to make kindergarten such a positive experience for Samyak. With all of your patience, creativity, and love, Samyak has achieved a lot this year. He has started off on the right foot by having such great teachers. Thank you. You have made a great difference for all of our children. Because you care so much about them, you have directed them to trust themselves in all that they do and to become all that they dream. With sincerest appreciation,


Short Avenue Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
Thank you to the wonderful teachers at Short Avenue. So many of you go above & beyond for our students (teaching after-school enrichment classes, working 12 hour days, etc) and we're fortunate to have you educating our kids. Your talent, wisdom and dedication are the driving force of this school. And you make learning fun!

Short Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
Great school. Our children LOVE going to school! This year in Mr. Schieneman's class they are doing classroom economy. It's a simple classroom economic system based on the idea that students need to earn school "dollars" so that they can rent their own desks. My child is learning financial responsibility, having a lot of fun too! This is a neighborhood school - and we like this aspect of it very much. We met a lot of great parents. If you live in our community- definitely come to the food truck night- at the front of the school. The poster with a time and date hangs on the fence facing Short Ave. My daughter is active in a girl scout troop at the school and I believe there is also a boy scout troop with active schedule and camping. I definitely recommend our school to parents who live in our neighborhood.

Short Avenue Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
Mr. Schieneman for Classroom Economy in his classes this year- THANK YOU! And Thank you for organizing Boy Scout Troup at the school!!!


Short Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2015
- a community member
Short Avenue Elementary is an amazing neighborhood school. The teachers are incredibly devoted and go above and beyond for each child. My daughter would never have received this much attention at a larger school.

Short Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2015
- a parent
We love this school. It's very small, and the teachers are wonderful and involved. Our daughter has learned so much in Mrs. Hohman's class, and we could not happier. We considered other schools, and thought about applying to WISH (among others). In the end, we chose Short and I am so happy we did. It's a tiny gem.

Short Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
I love this School. The teacher's here really care about you and your children. It is very multicultural and the office staff are very friendly and helpful. I have 2 children enrolled in the school and they both love it.


Short Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted June 25, 2014
- a parent
Short Ave. Elementary School is the best kept secret on the westside of Los Angeles. The entire teaching staff is talented, committed, and passionate about what they do. There isn't a single weak teacher in the school, which is rare for a public school setting. The principal, Ms. Paulos, has been a very positive addition to the school. I love that Short Ave. values the arts and has a designated visual arts program, as well as theatre and orchestra. The school even has a Latin teacher for all 3rd-6th grade students! I can't say enough about how incredible this school is. I feel so lucky to live in the Del Rey community.

Short Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2014
- a parent
We were new to Short Ave. this year. Our daughter was a first grader and didn't know anyone at this school. The wonderful principal Mrs. Paulos took the time to sit with her on the first days when tears were falling and made her feel loved and a since of belonging. Her teacher Mrs.Trapnell is an amazing and fun teacher. We love the since of community here. Highly recommend this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Short Avenue Elementary School
12814 Maxella Ave, Los Angeles, CA  90066
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 96 reviews. (310) 397-4234
Last modified Short Avenue Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top