Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
69 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (6 responses)
characters left.
There are 111 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Short Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2016
- a parent
Ms Martinez is a great teacher,respected and loved by the kids. She really knows how to get the students involved and focused on learning. Short Avenue has the best teachers, we are very happy with my son progress!

Short Avenue Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 08, 2016
- a parent
Ms Martinez is a great teacher, respected and loved by the kids. She really knows how to keep them involved and focused on learning. Thank you Ms. Martinez! You are the best!


Short Avenue Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Bautista is very patient with children. She is a great teacher - she has individual approach to every child. Goes above and beyond for the kids.

Short Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Great school, we love to see great things they do at school every day. Lucky to be at this school.

Short Avenue Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
As it is teacher appreciation week, I'd like to take this opportunity to say thank you to Mr. Fast. He is a great teacher who cares about his students and goes above and beyond to help them and the parents. He even came out to support and watch my son play football on a Sunday! He knows how much my son loves football and it meant a lot that he took the time out of his weekend to come to my son's game. How many teachers do that?! Thank you Mr. Fast !


Short Avenue Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 11, 2015
- a community member
Thank you for helping to make kindergarten such a positive experience for Samyak. With all of your patience, creativity, and love, Samyak has achieved a lot this year. He has started off on the right foot by having such great teachers. Thank you. You have made a great difference for all of our children. Because you care so much about them, you have directed them to trust themselves in all that they do and to become all that they dream. With sincerest appreciation,

Short Avenue Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
Thank you to the wonderful teachers at Short Avenue. So many of you go above & beyond for our students (teaching after-school enrichment classes, working 12 hour days, etc) and we're fortunate to have you educating our kids. Your talent, wisdom and dedication are the driving force of this school. And you make learning fun!

Short Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
Great school. Our children LOVE going to school! This year in Mr. Schieneman's class they are doing classroom economy. It's a simple classroom economic system based on the idea that students need to earn school "dollars" so that they can rent their own desks. My child is learning financial responsibility, having a lot of fun too! This is a neighborhood school - and we like this aspect of it very much. We met a lot of great parents. If you live in our community- definitely come to the food truck night- at the front of the school. The poster with a time and date hangs on the fence facing Short Ave. My daughter is active in a girl scout troop at the school and I believe there is also a boy scout troop with active schedule and camping. I definitely recommend our school to parents who live in our neighborhood.


Short Avenue Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
Mr. Schieneman for Classroom Economy in his classes this year- THANK YOU! And Thank you for organizing Boy Scout Troup at the school!!!

Short Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2015
- a community member
Short Avenue Elementary is an amazing neighborhood school. The teachers are incredibly devoted and go above and beyond for each child. My daughter would never have received this much attention at a larger school.

Nearby schools

Short Avenue Elementary School
12814 Maxella Ave, Los Angeles, CA  90066
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 111 reviews. (310) 397-4234
Last modified Short Avenue Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top