Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sixth Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted October 23, 2011
- a parent
I want to THANK the TEACHERS who have worked with my son. Mrs. Oberholtzer, Mrs. Blanchette, Mrs. Lee, Mrs. Bull !

Sixth Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted August 29, 2011
- a teacher
This school has been on upward trend for years now. Although LAUSD has received a great deal of "bad press", 6th Ave. is a great school to work and be at, just ask the students and teachers. Like any organization, there are a few bad apples that give the school a bad name. Keep an eye on this school as it rises above the negativity that has plagued public education over the past decade.


Sixth Avenue Elementary School 2

Posted December 15, 2010
- a parent
... my two girls to this school. In the past i had no difficulties with any school my children go to. however, this is school is terrible. Teachers and the teaching theey provide for the school is great but the poor attention and unprofesionalism of the staff. the cafetiria treatment is prisonly i know because i have helped for almost a year and i have seen alot. this is a school to take your kids only if you are in great need immidiate school. this school os in great need of a new staff

Sixth Avenue Elementary School 3

Posted June 25, 2010
- a parent
I don't want to generalize the whole entire school by just the teachers my child has had. But my experience there has been disappointing. The school has failed my child academically. The staff is use to parents not being that involved, that when they actually are, they consider you as being difficult.

Sixth Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted November 02, 2007
- a parent
Just moved both of my kids to this school. Both of their teachers are great! I am so happy that the move wasn't as difficult for them. There aren't many extracurricular activities for the children. But the staff is great. The principal is very involved. I always see him around campus, in classrooms.


Sixth Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted November 01, 2007
- a parent
My child was in Kindergarten last year I found the teachers really work hard with the students. This year my child is in 1st grade and he is in a gifted class and academically he is doing terrific and his teacher is terrific too!

Sixth Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted October 20, 2005
- a parent
I was impressed at the level of parent involvement. I was able to meet with other parents and hear their expectations. My son did well academically.

Sixth Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted July 12, 2005
- a teacher
Great school, but needs work. Places are small, and some students are not disiplined.


Sixth Avenue Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 20, 2005
- a parent
My son was just transferred from another district and my concern was not enough homework. My son is currently in the gifted class and only receives 1 homework assignment, no vocabulary and no reading assignments. I have not received a flyer for any after school programs or sports programs nor one P.T.A or any other parent- staff meeting.

Sixth Avenue Elementary School 2

Posted March 17, 2005
- a teacher
This school has shown some improvements over the last year. They are still struggling with some sort of discipline plan for the students I hope to see these changes within the next school year.

Nearby schools

Sixth Avenue Elementary School
3109 Sixth Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90018-2920
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (323) 733-9107
Last modified Sixth Avenue Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top