Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Solano Avenue Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 256 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

From a parents perspective, the strength of this school can be found in its stability, consistency, high expectations, and a mindset that students have the proper support needed to succeed. The evidence of this can be found in the longevity of the staff, the high test scores, and number of students who not only go on to successful middle and high school years but the high number of kids who succeed at the college level as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

My daughter is a 3rd generation attendee at Solano Elementary School. The school is run by an excellent principal who challenged his kids to achieve high on their test scores in return he agreed to cut his hair into a mohawk and dye his hair green. The kids stepped up to the challenge and needless to say we had a green haired mohawk wearing prinicipal. All of the teachers are dedicated to teaching and acheiving excellent results, my daughter who is in the first grade easily have 1-2 hrs of homework each night. I know that I received my basics at Solano and carried them into Jr. High and High School where I excelled, and so did my children, all who are attending universities. They will tell you that the high expectations started at Solano. Hands down one of the best public elementary schools in the Los Angeles area. In addition to the above, I think one of the other positive things about the school at there is diversity in cultures and that helps our children to understand that people are different and that it is ok. Keep up the good work !!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2012

Great School! My son started attending when he was in the first grade and is now entering the 6th grade next week. He has flourished at this school and has done well. The only complaint for my particular situation is that they don't really have many accomodations for students that are in the gifted program and need to be skipped a grade. My son was getting homework that was super easy and not challenging at all but all the other kids thought the homework was too much or it was hard. I talked to several teachers in regards to giving him more challenging work or letting him go to another classroom for math so he can get a challenge but my son was never accomodated. Other than that this school is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2012

I am a student who is about to enter 6th grade at Solano.I started in 4th grade and I can honestly say I love this school.When I started this school, I didn't have any complications making friends.And I can always count on my friends to be there for me.As for the staff, I can say so far, they are my best teachers.They make me excited to come to school and even now, during summer break, I'm already wanting to get ready for school.When I leave Solano, I will never forget it.Solano holds so many memories with more to come.As for the principal, he encourages us to do well during the CST testing periods.Last year(My 1st year, 4th grade), he promised to dye his hair blue and get a mohawk if we passed a certain API score.And he kept his promise, as our API was 922.This year(My 2nd year, 5th Grade)he has made another promise and has me more excited for our API than before.Though I don't live in the area, I don't regret choosing Solano over my home school.If you are considering putting your child into this wonderful school, you should not have to worry about bullying, because the school does not have that and you would know that they are safe.~N.P.


Posted June 14, 2012

My daughter started attending this school in the 4th grade. On the first day of school she was approached by students, parents, and teachers who knew she was new to the school. At first, I was surprised. However, it soon became obvious that the school is a very tight knit community. This school is very small, I think about 200-220 students, and each grade has only one class. I think there is one extra class that might mix 4 and fifth graders or something like that but I could be wrong... Anywho, the teachers here are so fantastic. My daughter has enjoyed every minute of her experience at this school. The teachers don't emphasize rote learning, instead encourage kids to think critically. For this reason their test scores are so high (in the 900's). Despite having a large portion of low-income and english learner students, Solano proves that public schools can help inner-city students thrive academically. Also, parent involvement is pretty high and since the school is so small, it gives parents a sense of community too. I am fortunate that I found this gem of a school near my job in downtown LA. Solano is a prime example of what all schools should strive to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2011

I home-schooled my children until I came to the Solano Ave Elementary community. The sense of belonging, the small size, the commitment of the teachers, parents, and principal, have made this school a pillar for me and my children. Both my children have teachers that challenge them and cooperate with me. They trust their teachers and look up to them. They trust their principal. Mr. Bertrand, as a role model and a fair leader. The fact that most students come from extended families that live near by gives the children a sense of continuity and fosters a small-town atmosphere in the heart of the city. The Pre-K program is wonderful: in it the unique cultural diversity of our neighborhood is met with experienced, positive intercultural facilitation and joyous sharing. I only wish that the school had funding for continued Pre-K, music, art, and language programs. They have shown how well they can do and have proven their commitment to education--they deserve it! Dr. A. Harris
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2011

This school has a high rating because it is a training ground for test achievement. If that is what you want from a school you will get it there. The staff is very good, helpful, and dedicated to this idea. But there is little or nothing else there. Not that there is much choice, they are doing the best they can with the funds they have in a political environment that is starving education of anything beyond test preparation, and Solano is a shining example of what kind of school we get for that. As the only white child in his second grade class my son was miserable there. He was the subject of ridicule, name calling and mild harassment because he was not like the others. The teacher made no effort to generate an atmosphere of respect and courtesy and was mainly critical of him because his performance wasn't to her liking. The Chinese/Cantonese majority there - both students and parents - are cold, competitive and exclusionary. They have no truck with other cultures and there is no sense of community outside of them. If your child is not Chinese or Latino and you want more than test performance, you should avoid this school like the plague.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2011

I was a big fan of SOlano Avenue Elementary School even before my girls started school here. They are now in Kindergarten and the first grade and they love it. It offers a sense of community and offers the perfect setting for parents that are not only involved in their child's education but wish to be involved in the collective improvement and performance of the school. You will not be disappointed in this gem of an LAUSD school. Open enrollment is held every May before the school year, schedule a tour today! You will be thrilled that you did, I can attest to that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

Nothing can bring back my childhood memories like Solano. At the time, I lived a few houses north of this school and attended during '80-'82 before our family moved away and transferred to Griffin Avenue (another great school). Solano was more like a day care center, we were very close to each other, the teachers and staff would come and take me out on the weekends for ice cream and sleep-overs at their homes with their kid . We had it all; there were picnics in the nearby walking distance to Elysian Park, visited Police Academy, Lawry's, San Antonio Winery, attended Dodger games every year and other endless field trips that we took. God I miss it so much!


Posted April 29, 2011

I absolutely love Solano. It's practically my second home! I attended Solano from when I was a little 4-year-old in pre-school, to when I was in 12 in the 6th grade! This is actually my first year OUT of Solano, and I'm definitely not used to anything else.. The staff here are wonderful. They are so kind and helpful, and always there when you need them. They respect you and your decisions, and when you make the wrong ones, they help you get back up to your feet. They are absolutely amazing. The neighborhood here is very nice, so you don't need to worry about anything bad happening. Honestly, I myself am kind of surprised we have scored such an amazing GPA. I'm absolutely thrilled, and, it's a bonus when your friend says their school achieved a high GPA, but I can tell them about Solano's and they'd have their mouths open. ;) Solano is an amazing place, and I would recommend ANYONE to come here and check it out yourselves. We had a number of traditions there at Solano. I wonder if they still keep it up with a new principal? Everyone here knew each other, and in a way, it was a very home-y feeling. I miss you, Solano. Your former student, Helen Wong, Class of 2010!


Posted November 20, 2008

Wonderful school! I love that the teachers have been there averaging over 30 years. I like the small school atmosphere. Great teachers and principal. My daughter is in second grade and has been there since kindergarten. Recommend this school. All of the students do very well. API score increased a lot in the last two years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

Outstanding,good leadership.One of a kind....I will recommend other parents to bring there childrens here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2008

This school is simply magnificent. All the criteria there is very high, I was once a student in Solano who recently just culminated. This school is very involved in the student's education. This school is really one of a kind, there would be hardly any fights or bullying, if there was to be one it would directly go to the teachers than the principal. Hey, I got high honors becuase of them;]. Student, Wendy Lo
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

923

Change from
2012 to 2013

+1

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

923

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+1

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Females88%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asian88%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learner88%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students79%
Females81%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learner81%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females56%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asian75%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students82%
Females82%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asian88%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Females94%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only96%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate92%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate100%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students80%
Females76%
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asian71%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students96%
Females94%
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability96%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students92%
Females88%
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asian86%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students78%
Females78%
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students63%
Females61%
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented87%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 52%
Hispanic 40%
Black 3%
White 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/AN/A
English language learners 23%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School leaders can update this information here.
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 249 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
81%
agree
 
District average
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
79%
 

District average

 
70%
 

Students

This school

 
84%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
87%
agree
 
District average
77%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
87%
 

District average

 
74%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
89%
agree
 
District average
70%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
92%
 

District average

 
78%
 

Students

This school

 
79%
 

District average

 
58%
 

Employees

This school

 
94%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
72%
agree
 
District average
68%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
72%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents11557%
Students12398%
Employees1139%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • William Bertrand
Fax number
  • (323) 343-1975

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

615 Solano Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90012
Website: Click here
Phone: (323) 223-4291

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT