Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
56 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 80 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Third Street Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
We started at Third Street and then had to move to Valley View for one year - couldnt have been happier when we got to move back to Third St. Such great parent involvement, the PTA, the FOT - the staff, the teachers, very happy with my daughters being here.

Third Street Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
Beyond grateful to the 4th grade teacher Mr Yauchi. He has introduced a love of learning to his class that I haven't seen before. He manages to make each child feel special and he builds confidence in their learning. My daughter has struggled with school and this year she has loved it. Mr Yauchi is unique in his ability to teach how the children learn rather than instructing and hoping they understand. Couldn't be happier! Thank you Mr Yauchi.


Third Street Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are very engaged and available at 3rd Street. So far, we have been very happy with everyone who teaches there. Also, the teachers do a lot to help with fun activities like science fair, art, theater productions and just generally the stuff that makes elementary school memorable for kids.

Third Street Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
I like that the school provides online resources for the kids to practice in addition to regular worksheets.

Third Street Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
Everyone is very much encouraged to deal respectfully with others. This includes the students, teachers, parents and school staff.


Third Street Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
The teachers here seem very open and fair. I think the students pick up on that and emulate that way of dealing with each other. Overall the climate of the school feels very open/honest and if students have disagreements/issues they are treated with respect and encouraged to voice their thoughts.

Third Street Elementary School 5

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
3rd Street is a great neighborhood school, and my child loves it here! For such a small school, they have tons of programs and the staff is top notch. The students do art, drama, music, PE, computer lab and library time each week. Homework is kind of a chore but maybe that's ok. The teachers really keep you in the loop so you know where your child is academically/socially. The parents are super involved and they have an onsite after school program. It's nice to know we have a school were everyone is welcome to be involved and the children are so comfortable and challenged. The test scores are pretty good and overall our experience has been super positive.

Third Street Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2014
- a community member
I graduated from 3rd Street in 1949, and it seems as if it's still the same great school now as it was then. It was always in an affluent area. Don't remember any bullying though. Maybe we called it something else.


Third Street Elementary School 4

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
Third Street is not a perfect school, but you will not find a better example of collaborative teaching than the production of the Fourth Grade play. All four classes have it's own cast; Mr. Pratt gets each student to shine in his role, and each teacher rallies the parents to assist with sets and costumes. The hard work of Mrs. Cha, Mrs. Choi, Mr. Bassett, and Mr. Karchmer is evident in the final productions. Every student at the school is inspired by the performances. It is truly remarkable! And, a testament to the importance of the arts in public school.

Third Street Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
My son attends third street elementary, this is a phenomenal school. The teacher's are amazing!

Nearby schools

Third Street Elementary School
201 South June Street, Los Angeles, CA  90004-1055
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 80 reviews. (323) 939-8337
Last modified Third Street Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top