Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 649
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Twentieth Street Elementary School 5

Posted June 20, 2014
- a community member
I love 20th street ! My mom went to 20th street when she was a kid , and she loved it so much that she enrolled me there as well. I started 20th as a preschooler and i stayed all the way till the 5th grade. All these reviews don't sound like the 20th I remember. I remember the staff being so involved with the students and their parents. I also remember staying after school with LA's Best. It was like a big family ! I haven't visited 20th street since 2009 and I'm sure things have changed ever since.

Twentieth Street Elementary School 1

Posted November 20, 2013
- a teacher
As a teacher of Twentieth Street I am sadden by our current principal. He puts us down and criticizes everything about our school, but his ideas don't help motivate change. He reminds me of a 3rd world politician who talks and talks but does not listen. It is his way or the highway. In education you must have a heart and passion, but it is harder and harder to work for the children we love when someone like him is here. Who hired him? Why did he get such a great local school and ruin it so fast.


Twentieth Street Elementary School 1

Posted November 09, 2013
- a parent
This school has gone down the drain since last year. The new principal has no leadership. No one is motivated to volunteer. Test score went down and the same teachers still work there. I just don't know who to contact to see a change.

Twentieth Street Elementary School 5

Posted September 02, 2011
- a parent
I WOULD LIKE TO THANKS ALL THESE TEACHERS MS. ZURITA, MS. TAYLOR, MS SOLIS, AND MR. RAMIREZ. FOR ALL THEIR EFFORT THEY HAVE DONE. THEY ARE THE BEST TEACHERS EVER. ALSO THANKS MS CASTILLO FOR ALL YOUR HARD WORK. DENISE & MARIA

Twentieth Street Elementary School 4

Posted May 13, 2009
- a parent
My child attended this school from pre-kinder through 4th grade. Her state scores were higher than those of an average child. I contribute a child's success to the team effort of the teachers and the parents. My child was one of the lucky ones to have this team.


Twentieth Street Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2007
- a parent
School has make great strides and is moving in the right direction.

Twentieth Street Elementary School 5

Posted June 15, 2006
- a parent
20 street has changed from a disorganized school to a school with a more positive and organized feeling. The principle always manages to make the students the first and most important priority. She listens to the parents problems and works with us to make a difference.

Twentieth Street Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted December 05, 2003
- a parent
I just wanted to say thank you to Ms. Charnaw for doing such a good job with her am preschool class! She has to much patience with all her students!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Twentieth Street Elementary School
1353 East 20th Street, Los Angeles, CA  90011
(213) 747-7151
Last modified Twentieth Street Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Twentieth Street Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top