Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 1,215
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 34 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


35 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Virgil Middle School 1

Posted May 16, 2014
- a parent
A STUDENT DISAPPEARED FROM THIS SCHOOL ON WEDNESDAY, MAY 14, 2014. FOUND HOURS LATER IN CULVER CITY.

Virgil Middle School 1

Posted May 16, 2014
- a teacher
On May 14, 2014, a student attending Virgil Middle School, in east Hollywood, severely afflicted with Autism disappeared from the campus. This went unnoticed by teachers and staff until the boys classmate kept repeating the missing boy's name. Finally, when it was realized that the classmate was trying to alert his teachers that his friend was missing, the boys whereabouts were questioned and it was discovered that the boy went missing. Hours later, the Autistic boy was found by a good Samaritan on a bus in CULVER CITY who contacted the Culver City Police. Turns out the boy walked right out of the front door of Virgil Middle School right under the nose of administrators who were standing outside "supervising". A television reported called the school the next day and tried to speak with the principal, James Kodani, or the vice-Principal, William Gurr, or even the Special Ed. Coordinator, Talene Hachikian. None of these individuals were willing to comment about what happened. When the television reporter from Telemundo 52, contacted LAUSD, they were told they were going to conduct an "investigation". The story was aired by Telemundo 52 the next day on the 11pm newscast.


Virgil Middle School 5

Posted December 08, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Virgil Middle School 5

Posted November 02, 2009
- a student
i went to that school for 1 year and teachers are awsome... the teacher i most like was mr. nemiroff

Virgil Middle School 1

Posted October 18, 2009
- a parent
Virgil Middle School has the most wonderful teachers! My son loves his teachers who enable him to reach his potential! However, according to the teachers, they do not feel supported by the current Principal, and the morale is low. Other than the Principal, the teachers are #1


Virgil Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 09, 2009
- a community member
Virgil Middle School is one of the best places in Los Angeles for learning. The students have so much potential. And the teachers there are so dedicated to making a difference! Their AVID program is just one example. The bottom line is that the teachers are motivating students to learn and get a taste of the possibilities that are out there. It's exciting to see this enthusiasm and dedication (on the part of both teachers, as well as students)! I would love for Virgil to be recognized - because the students and teachers there deserve it so!

Virgil Middle School 5

Posted October 04, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Virgil Middle School 1

Posted September 04, 2009
- a student
Biggest mistake I ever made,going to this stupid school.Clearly I have no life and the rest of my classmates are just a pain in the butt.


Virgil Middle School 1

Posted April 17, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Virgil Middle School 2

Posted March 02, 2009
- a student
The school has plenty of nice smart well cared teachers and some of the students are well not friendly in a word. A lot of fights and dangers happen and I wish it can stop the more I go. But from an academic point of view we are smart kids with great power of knowledge.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Virgil Middle School
152 North Vermont Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90004
(213) 368-2800
Last modified Virgil Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Virgil Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. Top