Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


George Washington Preparatory High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted June 18, 2015
- a community member
I went 2 this school & i never had a problem with any 1 @ the school. 2 me Washington is the best High School I ever went 2. I spent my last 2 years there & it was the best 2 years of my life.

George Washington Preparatory High School 1

Posted May 15, 2013
- a parent
This school is horrible! I called the front office because my daughter called me saying someone was trying to jump her and then they never even checked on her nothing! my daughter got jumped and all they said was sorry its horrible I will never recommend lauds to turn it into a green dot school they actually listen to you not like this school !


George Washington Preparatory High School
no rating

Posted September 21, 2009
- a teacher
When I first started teaching at WPHS, I was scared! The students seemed rowdy and the teachers seemed unwelcoming. Here I am 5 years later and still there. I love this school. The majority of the teachers at Washington Preparatory are there because of their love for the students, and many will go above and beyond for them. The students are many times misunderstood but when given a chance and a little push in the right direction they often flourish right before ones eyes. This the most amazing thing to witness and often reinforces the reason why one becomes a teacher. Love the Prep. and all that it has to offer.

George Washington Preparatory High School 1

Posted April 20, 2009
- a student
I used to attend this high school back in 9th and 10th grade, this is a really horrible school. the parents and teachers dont know what the students have to go through everyday day..the adults dont know anything..

George Washington Preparatory High School 3

Posted February 27, 2008
- a parent
My son now attends Washington Prep., And I could'nt be happier. People should'nt judge things they don't know about. I love the way all the students who play sports support each othe, the students at Washington (who particpate) in the schools activities are truley family! I'm proud to say my children attend Washington Prep! the magnet schools is the greatest. Go prep!! and as I stated before if the student wants to learn he will, parents and schools have got to work together!


George Washington Preparatory High School 3

Posted September 01, 2007
- a parent
My daughter attended here as a Freshman. The school magnet programs seems to be a good one. She earned excellent grades, 4.0 GPA. Her teachers, whom I met and spoke to seem to be very much interested in helping her and all there students to achieve beyond there dreams. The school has good potential and with the new principal I think we can expect a lot of great changes here at Washington.

George Washington Preparatory High School
no rating

Posted July 09, 2007
- a student
I attended Washington High School and I do believe that the staff contributed greatly to make me who I am today. Although the people in the school may not all be perfect, but there are great staff like Ms. Pointdexter Lamont who pushed the students to push past their current circumstances and helped us realize that staff, your parents, mentors, ect. can only do so much encouraging, but we have to do the work. Today, I am parent to 18 girls in a group home as school liaison advocating for foster girls that are in LAUSD schools and who have similar challenges as Washington has. I feel it is a priveledge to encourage these girls to look beyond statistics and seek to change these statistics. I'm sure the school as a whole can use improvement, but I am so proud to be apart of the legacy of Washington High School.

George Washington Preparatory High School 1

Posted June 11, 2007
- a parent
I have 3 children that have graduated from Washington. I have had a few disappoints as far as leadership and contacting the chain of command for different issues in the past. I can say that I have noticed an improvement since the latest principal's arrival, however I don't believe I will be allowing my other 2 children to attend.


George Washington Preparatory High School 3

Posted February 05, 2007
- a teacher
As a new teacher, I learned how to become a strong, effective teacher at WPHS. The students are amazingly unique and talented; I miss them greatly.

George Washington Preparatory High School 3

Posted September 23, 2006
- a student
As a senior at George Washington Prep, I've seen the transition from tracks, to tradition, now to block scheduling. A few things have changed for the better. I have books for everyone of my classes and I'm finally being challenged. But my biggest concern now is what will happen to those of us who have to apply in the fall without all of our classes. Meaning, we have four classes each semester, I, for example am taking AP Literature, advanced Calculus, Music Tech, and Advanced. Band. What will happen when I apply and Government isn't on my transcript. The new schedule is helpful for those who need to make up classes but what about those who needed to have just the six classes all year long.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

George Washington Preparatory High School
10860 South Denker Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90047-4622
(323) 418-4000
Last modified George Washington Preparatory High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
George Washington Preparatory High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top