Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

New Los Angeles Charter School

Charter | 6-8 | 310 students

Teaching the Core Knowledge curriculum, integrated with arts and technology.
 
 

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 11, 2013

New LA is a wonderful school! It offers a great environment for children to learn and be part of the community. It's a great place for children to grow and become better persons!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

This was my daughter's first choice for middle school. As a student, she has thrived at New Los Angeles and I would attribute this to the attention she received from her teachers and the staff. The small school environment helped her make a successful transition. She became involved in student government, served as a school ambassador and made honor roll - all things I never thought my daughter would do. She has a genuine interest in doing well in school and being a good citizen both in and out of school. She wants New LA to expand to high school so that she doesn't have to leave! As a parent, I appreciate how well the school communicates with me about my daughter's academic and emotional growth. There are lots of opportunity for involvement and I am impressed with just how well everyone at the school knows my daughter. She had a great sixth grade year and is looking forward to seventh grade. We couldn't be happier with New Los Angeles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

I'm very pleased with the education my kids have received at New Los Angeles. The teachers are outstanding, very supportive, and offer challenging and exciting course work. I appreciate that extra help is always available to those who need it. I'm especially impressed with the scope of work in humanities and science. It's wonderful that they're able to keep class sizes so small as it creates a far superior learning environment. The principal is fantastic and really has a grasp of what is going on with the kids at any given time. Teachers and staff are very accessible, and that's a great plus of a small school like New LA. So far it's been a tremendously positive academic experience for both my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

The growth that I have seen in my 2 girls has been exceptional! They both have a voice & an opinion & have been supported by their peers to speak out & say what they are thinking & their articulation makes me so proud & envious of what I feel they have gotten compared to what I was taught growing up. But that is a good thing. It is not stagnant & the approach to teaching is inspiring for me to see & hear the excitement almost daily as to what they did in class each day. Kudos New LA...Where is the High School?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2012

This is our third year at New LA and it has been the best year of the three by far. The school put in a new program for intensive help for kids who need it. And for the advanced students (such as my daughter), they are doing foreign language and advanced math and journalism. Don't get stuck on test scores. It's weird, the overall scores of the school went down, but the program is much improved and my daughter (and her friends) got advanced scores on the CSTs. My wife and I really love this school, and it's the teachers that make it so special. They love and care about my daughter, but really push her with some really advanced work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2012

I have been a parent at the school since its inception. It is a daunting task to find a great school for your child. Our greatest fear was our wonderful daughter getting lost in a big middle school. By attending New LA she really blossomed into a wonderfully prepared student for HS. Great administration, great teachers, supporting parents, diverse school population, smaller class sizes and, compared to some larger MS, wonderfully behaved students. After sending our oldest to New LA we now have two more of our childrent attending. This school is a jewel within LAUSD. After saying all that, is the school perfect? Before answering that question please let me know of a school that is. I will say that it is refreshing to have teachers and administration return your calls the same day. Is it the school for everyone, maybe not. Currently hey don't have a large sports field or a music program. What they do offer is a good education and a safe place for our ladies to grow. That is most important thing to us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2012

New Los Angeles Charter has provided our son with a stimulating and highly academic curriculum in an intimate environment. By keeping the class sizes small it provides the opportunity for the teachers to work closely with each student unlike current middle schools in LAUSD which have 35-40 students per class. Also the cultural diversity at New Los Angeles has given our son a broad understanding of the world we live in. New Los Angeles embraces each student so that they will have the tools to succeed academically and socially. We feel that New Los Angeles has provided our son with a top notch education which excels beyond even that of a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2012

Our son was in the first sixth grade class at New LA. In 8th grade he got into LACES and we reluctantly transferred him so his high school placement would be assured. After one semester we came back for the far more differentiated and nurturing educational environment that New LA provides.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2011

i go here and the teachers are engaged with the students and we get together and have meetings and then we are very engaged in class with smart boards they provide us with the best !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! : ) <3 <3 <3 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! : )


Posted September 11, 2011

I am searching for a good Middle school in Los angeles Area. Many parents have recommended me about this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

We love this school. Our son came from a private school and has adapted well. Teacher's are truly responsive and caring. Finally a school that really is diverse in all ways imaginable. The only thing missing is outdoor space.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2010

This entry needs updating: our school is now 6-7-8, with 283 students, in a newly renovated building at West Washington & Burnside in L.A. My daughter completed 6th grade here and is a 7th grader this year; I cannot say enough good things about the faculty and staff, their responsiveness and creativity, and how happy & successful the students are. A grant has given us a free after-school program from Champions, and a new parents' club is making the school even stronger. We have referred four other students here, and they are equally pleased. My biggest problem is, where can I find a high school to equal New L.A. Charter Middle School? We'll need one in two years....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2010

I have been going to New LA since the beginning. It engages in the community and teaches kids passion for learning. All of the kids are engaged in the school, helping it grow and thrive. There are few amount of kids who help the teachers get to know everyone. The building was pretty small, but since we are moving, I am looking forward to see how this will turn out. I love New LA and I am very happy that I am there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2010

OMG! I love New LA. I've only been here since 7th grade during the 09-10 school year and just cant leave! This is the most fun and engaging middle school ive been to:) I cant wait to go back to my favorite teachers and awesome friends in the new building!!! 8TH GRADERS WILL RULE THE SCHOOL!<3
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2010

Creative, rigorous, and very thoughtful program of learning. Students are engaged in the process and sense of community is taken quite seriously. Superior teachers who truly care about the individual student and approach their jobs with extraordinary perspicacity and humor. A school that actually does keep the big picture in mind. .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

fantastic school with strong teachers and stimulating curriculum
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

Love the school. I love the closeness betwwen the teacher and the parents,the parents and the students. The classroom size and the over all learning place and looking forward to moving in our new building and welcoming new families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

Great mission and programs, wonderful student body & teachers/staff, small size.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

Go in asking lots of questions. When a spot opens up, ask who left, and why. If a spot in an upper grade is available at the beginning of the school year, ask how many spots are open. If there are many, and it's so wonderful, why aren't the kids coming back? Ask how many of the younger siblings of students are coming. People want this place to work, and so nobody wants to say anything negative about it. I think the completely positive reviews are part that and part 'Emperor's New Clothes.' New L.A. is not for everybody, and I know a lot of people who got there and were surprised to find out how wrong it was for their family when they'd only heard the glowing stuff. It will be better for some kids and worse for others. If your grade school was top-notch, you may be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

It is very diverse. The class sizes are small. The teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

760

Change from
2012 to 2013

+18

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

760

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+18

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
n/a
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students52%
Females63%
Males41%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learner13%
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate44%
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate55%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students45%
Females52%
Males37%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability44%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate41%
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate36%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Females74%
Males56%
African American57%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate53%
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state57%

Math

All Students46%
Females52%
Males38%
African American39%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability46%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only49%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate27%
Parent education - high school graduate20%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students15%
Females15%
Males16%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino8%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged13%
Not economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability15%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only16%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate16%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)4%
Parent education - college graduate26%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students46%
Females60%
Males33%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino30%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability47%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only47%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate39%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)39%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students44%
Females38%
Males49%
African American51%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino30%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disability27%
Students with no reported disability46%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only45%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)41%
Parent education - college graduate55%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students65%
Females64%
Males64%
African American66%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 66%
Black 21%
White 5%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/AN/A
English language learners 15%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology
School facilities
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Hebrew
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Matt Albert
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (323) 939-6411

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Humanities
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Hebrew
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Carpool & Lunch
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Please check out our webpage! There are tons of pictures and other valuable information about New LA.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


3 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
120
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
350
Students typically come from these schools
Carthay Center Elementary
Marvin Avenue Elementary
Open Magnet Charter

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Hamilton Humanities Magnet
Hollywood High School for Advanced Studies
Fairfax High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1919 S. Burnside Ave.
Los Angeles, CA 90016
Website: Click here
Phone: (323) 939-6400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Concordia Canoga Park
Los Angeles, CA




Coutin School, Llc
Los Angeles, CA


New Academy Canoga Park
Canoga Park, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT