Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Village Charter Academy

Charter | K-5 | 250 students

Teaching the Core Knowledge curriculum, integrated with arts and technology.
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2010

I love it because they give the students an oppurtunity to engage in acitivites that they will need to know about for the real world and the teachers empower them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

A progressive learning environment with a dedicated and caring staff and an impressive focus on community. The positive change in my daughter's attitude towards school has been amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

The teachers are responsive and genuinely care about students' progress and the students respond to this kind of respect and professionalism.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

New L.A. School has been so progressive since day one (1) opening. I have seen a great change in my grandson's attitude and he is now improving in his curriculum and his attitude toward his studies has improved immensely. The kids are happy and all appear to be learning. Looking forward to next year and more progressive. The school has good teachers, with down to earth attitudes and understandings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

Great place for inner-city children who are interested in developmental learning and looking ahead to college. Teachers are first rate; school executive director and principal are also fantastic. New LA is a public school with small classes, an inclusive mentality and forward-thinking educational model. It is first rate!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

I love the mission of the school, it's staff and teachers! I love how excited my daughter is about learning and how supported she feels by her peers and the faculty. The schools approach to curriculum is innovative, challenging and inclusive. I would recommend this school in a heartbeat to another parent seeking a positive middle school experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

The teachers and administration are inspirational. My daughter is thriving and reading more than ever. She has also made wonderful new friends. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

Due to the economy, I wasn't able to keep my daughter in private schools so I ended up putting her in a charter school. The public schools in our area are so terrible that I even had to homeschool my child for one year as an option. Luckily, I was able to get my daughter into New LA for middle school. This is my daughter's first year and so far, I'm happy with the teachers, the administration, and the location of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

This schol has teachers who really care and studnets who love to be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2009

The school is like a small town, or a large family: 75 sixth graders, 75 seventh graders, 25 students per class with extraordinary facutlty and staff. The mission statement stresses building good people as well as good academic skills, and the students evidence both. While I'm thrilled that the API last year was 830(!), I am even more proud and thrilled with an incident that happened the first week of this school year. I had answered a cellphone call on the playground, and was unaware that pulling it out of my pocket also dragged out some folding money I had hastily stuffed in that pocket as well. A few minutes later, as I stood in the office talking to a staff member, a 12-year-old boy came in and handed the receptionist a wad of bills, saying 'We found this on the playground.' It was easy to identify as mine, I remembered the amount and denominations. But even now four weeks later, it's still wonderful and astounding to me that a pre-teen in an urban public middle school has so taken to heart the moral and values education of his school that he turned in unidentified cash to the office! When I remarked on this to a staff member, she told me this wasn't an isolated case. During the first week of school last year, a bag of chips went missing from an open cubby, and the entire sixth grade stopped everything to hold a town meeting about respect for others' property and feelings. No other property went missing all year. We are so pleased and grateful to be in this amazing environment. The school will add an eighth grade next year, and will need to move to another building to accommodate 225 students. We parents are fund-raising as best we can, because we want New Los Angeles Charter School to keep expanding, and take our kids through high school, too! Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2009

This charter school is small (only 75 kids per grade), has a fantastic academic program, great teachers, and wonderful administrators. As a social justice school, they also teach the kids about good citizenship and really taking ownership of themselves and the school. Weekly task sheets help student learn how to organize their time to get assignments and projects in on time. At the weekly town hall, any student can raise any issue to discuss, address, and hopefully resolve. Students also come up with ideas on how to give back to the community. Daily advisory time at the beginning and end of the school day gives teachers an opportunity to really work with and get to know their students. My son showed steady improvement in humanities and consistency in math & science. He loves the school and is happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

760

Change from
2012 to 2013

+18

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

760

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+18

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 40% 52%
Black 37% 6%
Two or more races 12% 3%
White 9% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 50%N/A48%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 99%N/A55%
Male 50%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Tutor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Speech and language therapist(s)
Special education coordinator
School psychologist
Music teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Jennifer Clark
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (323) 939-6411

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Humanities
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Kickball
Girls sports
  • Lacrosse

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Carpool & Lunch
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Please check out our webpage! There are tons of pictures and other valuable information about New LA.
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7357 Jordan Ave
Los Angeles, CA 90016
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 716-2887

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Concordia Canoga Park
Los Angeles, CA




Coutin School, Llc
Los Angeles, CA


New Academy Canoga Park
Canoga Park, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT