Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Public charter
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 211
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Magnolia Science Academy 5 1

Posted August 11, 2013
- a parent
I'm not going to sugar coat it. The staff and teachers are top-notch. The curriculum excellent.However there's a major problem with some students there. They are unruly and make a living hell for the studious ones. It's not uncommon for a teacher to be called names and bullied. My son has reported to me incidents of kids making derogatory comments to certain teachers and classmates alike. Kids literally sleeping on their desks and having to be physically shaken to awake them. The level of noise inside the classroom is also troublesome. Some teachers seems to have completely giving up with some of these "problem kids" and have given them free reign to use class time as their personal "free time". It's not happening in every class but mainly in the ones where the teacher doesn't know how to firmly discipline. All and all I will say that it's a good school with a strong curriculum as I previously stated but because of a few problem kids who seems to be bent on poisoning the atmosphere of the class, it makes it very difficult for the ones who wants to succeed to be able to do so.

Magnolia Science Academy 5 2

Posted March 01, 2013
- a parent
This school is unfortunately not what it used to be. Staff cutbacks, staff turnover, lack of concentration in SCIENCE which is a problem considering the name of the school and several of the teachers do not have control of the student's behavior which is resulting in rowdy classroom environments. Students are not being taught study skills and assigning homework is inconsistent. Not what I signed my child up for. Initially I was happy with the school but this school year, especially the 2nd semester have been a disappointment and I doubt my child will return next year. At this point I'm concerned that my child will be lacking in science and english next school year.


Magnolia Science Academy 5 5

Posted September 11, 2012
- a parent
love it I have my daughter there since 6 grade now she's in high school .best school around .

Magnolia Science Academy 5 4

Posted September 02, 2012
- a parent
I'm the parent of 2 7th. grade students on MSA5, is a good school, they have discipline and a little group of students on each classroom but this year we lost some of the good teachers from last year : Tyffani Yeung and Mr. Verdi, they both were truly committed to they're work and i will always regret that they left the school. But so far is a much better school than the one my son had to attend in my neighborhood. Keep it up with the good job MSA!!!!

Magnolia Science Academy 5 5

Posted June 23, 2012
- a parent
I'm the parent of a soon to be 6th grader (starting September 2012). My daughter has attended Los Feliz Charter School Through the Arts since 1st grade. It's an excellent school and we are so sad to be leaving it.It really feels like we are leaving our family ;/ I have searched high and low for a school that would offer the same level of education that we were accustomed to...to no avail...until a parent told me about this school. I googled the school, called attending parents, spoke to some of the school staff and the consensus is unanimous: great school with dedicated teachers, staff and parents, discipline, strong educational curriculum, great after-school programs, field trips...etc We can't wait to start the school year and meet students and parents..as well as the teachers. My daughter is a little bit anxious...worried if she'll be able to "fit in" and make new friends...but i'm sure it all work out just fine. Looking forward to see you all at Bankroft this August 15th !!


Magnolia Science Academy 5 5

Posted February 28, 2011
- a parent
Hi My name is Maribel Alcedo. My daugther is going to be a 7th grader and I been thinking about Magnolila for her to attend. I dont want her to go to her home school which is LeConte. She is attendting Allesandro Elementary Magnet School which their API is 800. I want the best for her and i believe Magnolia will be a perfect school for her.

Magnolia Science Academy 5 5

Posted February 13, 2011
- a community member
Magonlia Science Adamey is great school to attend. There is a stirct NO BULLING policy. In addition the school provides us, student, with clubs that give new experiences and knowledge. The class sizes are small so teachers can focus on individual needs. The school is frequently having field trips to provide the students with extra knowlegde on the subject being studied in class. Teachers, students, and parents communicate frequently as well. There are many languages to learn from: Korean, Turkish, and Spanish. Also there is an Advance Math program.

Magnolia Science Academy 5 5

Posted February 11, 2011
- a parent
MSA 5 is an exceptional school that prides itself on maintaining good communication between both parents and studentsl. The teachers and staff work very hard to see that the students receive the attention and encouragement they need to advance to higher education. They offer specialized programs such as Advanced Math, Computer Science, and Science programs which involve many competitions throughout the year. They have tutoring and afterschool programs such as running club, food critic, year book club, and robotics. I would not send my son anywhere else. He has learned so much.


Magnolia Science Academy 5 5

Posted March 26, 2010
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Magnolia Science Academy 5 1

Posted August 24, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Magnolia Science Academy 5
929 North Las Palmas Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90028
(323) 871-4258
Last modified Magnolia Science Academy 5 is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Magnolia Science Academy 5 Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top