Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Weigand Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted May 20, 2010
- a parent
Im not sure who Mr. Proctor or Ms. Arnold are, but they have not been in administration at Weigand for over 5 years. My kids are in the dual immersion program and it is amazing. The staff is friendly, and always ready to address my concerns. This school has shown much improvement over the years. Hats off to the teachers at Weigand who really care.

Weigand Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted March 07, 2010
- a parent
While in this community I have seen many good things happen. Many events whether cultural and religious were celebrated and the results were positive. Weigand Avenue had a connection with the community and had shown progress throughout various administrations. Mr. Proctor and Ms. Arnold helped the school improve throughout their tenure. When Mr. Adalberto Vega entered the disconnect began and the scores decreased. His unprofessionalism was shocking as he would get into arguments with teachers on the yard - WITH CHILDREN WATCHING!!! When dealing with parents he . talked down to them. During an interaction I had with him he completely ignored me as he was looking everywhere but at me; he even talked on his walkie-talkie. Thank goodness he left. I believe he went to another school call Russel Elementary. Today the school is doing much better and has shown improvement in their test scores.


Weigand Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted January 28, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Weigand Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Weigand has a great program design for children with special needs. Whenever I need assistance in addressing my concerns and issues concerning my child I alway received a positive response. special needs.

Weigand Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted September 07, 2009
- a community member
This school has improved student achievement significantly in the past 5 years. The Adequate Yearly Progress in Language Arts went up 30% from 10% to 40%. In Math, the Adequate Yearly Progress went up from 27% to 59%. The Academic Performance Index went from 605 to 728. This little school in Watts is no longer low performing. This is a school on the move and will continue to prosper. The teachers and staff care about students at this school and will do anything and everything for the children of this community.


Weigand Avenue Elementary School 2

Posted November 07, 2006
- a staff
The problems there are not due to the teachers and staff, but they could do more to counter the culture of failure that many of their students experience. Ultimately it falls on the parents to see their child's education as something valuable, because if they don't, how can they honestly expect that from school staff. Their LAs BEST program has great potential since it has access to different types of resources but still it needs parental support. Computer lab sits idle. Open Court is used extensively at the expense of other subjects. Give it a chance...

Weigand Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted July 07, 2005
- a parent
A good bunch of teachers, eager students, but the former principal Mr. Vega did not connect with parents, staff, and students. When I had talked to him it felt that he was talking down to me.

Weigand Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted May 06, 2004
- a parent
My daughter attends this school, she is unable to do the basic tasks of a 2nd grader and she is in the 4th grade. The sad part about this is she will be advanced to the 5th grade upon the conclusion of this school year. If you care about this kind of stuff, don't send your children here. The sad part about this is, the parents really don't care and the children suffer. How many of the parents of this school actually know this option is available to them? Not many. I give the teachers a lot of credit because I really believe you do the best you can with what you are dealing with.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Weigand Avenue Elementary School
10401 Weigand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90002
(323) 567-9606
Last modified Weigand Avenue Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Weigand Avenue Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top