Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westport Heights Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $595,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

47 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 21, 2010

Good teachers and great atmosphere
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

I love this school. It is just what I want for my neighborhood public school. I have had children in almost every grade and each year I am impressed with the cirriculum and the teachers and especially the principal. I wish all the schools were this good and caring about the student and their well being. If you don't llike something get involved and change it, don't just complain about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

This School has a few Great Teachers, some good ones, and several far less than desirable, if you are unfortunate enough to get one of the less than desirable Teachers, trying to get your child moved into a different classroom is next to impossible, the Principal chooses to defend the Teacher, and claim that the child is the problem, and that moving them is disruptive to everyone! So the child is forced to make the best of the bad situation, even at the cost of grades slipping, loosing self esteem, and hating the Teacher, Principal and School. This could be a great School, if the less than desirable teachers were weeded out. Most of the parents at the School are very dedicated to their child's education, and the School does have some great programs! We love the Star After School Program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

My child attended the Pre-K which is fantastic! However, I would not send my child there for elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

My daughter has started Kinder and is doing great at the school. She is happy, motivated, making friends and liking her teachers and the STAR program. I especially like how easy it is to get information electronically. There are some great parents and great organization.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

This school does more than offer a great education. This school builds community and nurtures a sense of pride in the students. The parents and volunteers are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

My daughter is in kindergarten. I have been really impressed with the school all around. The teachers are nice and the programs are good. Mrs. Long is very dedicated to the students and the PTA has some hard workers on the team. Next year, I will have two children enrolled...I look forward to getting more involved. The schools need help now more than ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2008

Wonderful Pre-k program with outstanding teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2008

Great test scores! That's because of the outstanding teachers and administration! Keep up the outstanding job not only academically but the social lessons you provide the children to establish their success in life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

I am new to the area. My son is in the third grade. So far, it's been great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

I think Westport Heights is a good school and has an excellent make-up of teachers, staff and parents. I love the diversity of the school and its rich nature to welcome the importance of making the students aware of the different cultures. I think everyone is making a great effort in helping to make the school even better. My 5-year old son loves this school and has made a lot of new friends and I am very pleased with his academic progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2007

In hindsight, the comments about 'little change' and negative test scores seem a bit silly now. The school's API jumped more than 20 points last year -- without 'cherry-picking' families, as some Westchester schools have been known to do. That's hard to top. Westport takes children from a much more diverse set of backgrounds, and provides a quality education. Moreover, as the parent of a child with asthma, having a nurse on site four times more often than last year is important to me. Westport is a very good school, and continues to make strides toward being an excellent one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

The principle feels the need to control issues that really have no effect on acedemic performance, and may inhibit acedemic performance. The teachers seem to do there best in the time provided, but do not seem to put in the extra time that it takes to make a classroom an extraordinary one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2007

Westport Heights has a new and dedicated Principal, Karen Long. With her leadership and the enthusiastic parent involvement the wonderful teachers here have a winning combination for my children. I have a Kindergartener and a Pre-K child and we couldn't be happier. At 4 & 5 years old, they're both reading and exceling in math! And, my Kindergartener blows everyone away with his knowledge of art masters and techniques. We look forward to the next 6 years at this wonderful school with all our new friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2006

I have a few complaints about this school, and it's leadership. I am currently looking for another school to place my child, where the Principal is as interested in education as I am.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

Westport is great! We are definitly a culturally diverse school- at one point we counted children from 73 countries! The teachers are dedicated and wonderful. Our principal Freida Smith has been such a great supporter. She is there for the students, teachers, parents, and community. We have done so much, and with parental support, we can acheive even more! Come join us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2005

We have an excellant new Principal. Her name is Freida Smith. Although she's only been there for the last 6 months, it's as though she's been there for years. She really cares about the children, the teachers and the parents. We have the children's safety patrol. Orchestra. Star afterschool program. Class level meetings to compare what works and what doesn't, to improve student learning. We're a Title 1 school, so receive extra funding to help increase student's academic development. We have a Wonder of Reading Library with tutoring. It is very well rounded culturally . . having many different nationalities. I have been a parent at the school for over 11 years, and have total faith in its abilities to help all children to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

From what I was able to see Westport can be a wonderful neighborhood school. It's a gem in the making. Bathrooms for littles ones were clean, it has a emaculate library with the most caring librarian I have ever met. School still needs a little work and questions about an unfavored faculty member needs to be addressed. Has the Star program. Security seems high for they only have two gate from which student may enter and exit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

Our family is going on 3 years in this school and each year it gets better. We have increasing parent involvement as Room Parents, PTA Board, Booster Club, School Site Council Members, and numerous volunteers. We have a new principal that was selected by a panel of our teachers and parents. We have many events through out the year that are inclusive of parent/family participation. We have an after school day care program on site called STAR which in itself brings allot of enrichment classes and activities to our children. We have a Booster Club sponsored P.E. program. Over all the teachers and staff are wonderfull and great to work with. I encourage anyone to come visit and enroll their child/ren and be a part of our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2005

My son and daughter both attended Westport this past school year (2004-2005). My son is going on to middle school and my daughter is now in the first grade. She had a time with her teacher. But the principal, Mrs. Smith, along with the vice principal, Mrs. Kees was excellent in helping to keeping her on task. They attneded on a permit and I am working really hard to keep my daughter there. She was in a kindergarten/first grade split class and learned many things in spite of the challenges her teacher faced with her. I am proud to have my children go there and am looking forward to her continuing.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

821

Change from
2012 to 2013

-22

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

821

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-22

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
39%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
32%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students40%
Females52%
Males30%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino32%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Non-economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability44%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only39%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate31%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)18%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students40%
Females48%
Males33%
African American37%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino26%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged31%
Non-economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability44%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only39%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate31%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)23%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students55%
Females58%
Males50%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate60%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students76%
Females74%
Males79%
African American76%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Females77%
Males54%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate59%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students81%
Females90%
Males71%
African American84%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students65%
Females71%
Males59%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate57%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students72%
Females71%
Males74%
African American68%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)84%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students57%
Females63%
Males52%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 48%
Hispanic 31%
White 10%
Asian 6%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/AN/A
English language learners 7%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 243 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
77%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
71%
 

Students

This school

 
82%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
74%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
74%
 

Employees

This school

 
73%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
68%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
90%
 

Students

This school

 
53%
 

Employees

This school

 
60%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
71%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
73%
 

Employees

This school

 
69%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
73%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
73%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents8626%
Students13579%
Employees2252%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Susan Allen
Fax number
  • (310) 654-4258

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6011 West 79th Street
Los Angeles, CA 90045
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 645-5611

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Carousel School
Los Angeles, CA


Carousel - Airport Blvd
Los Angeles, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT