Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westport Heights Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

47 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 2, 2014

My son attends Westport Height and I think he is making outstanding progress. I have been a teacher for 16 years (at a different school). As such, I feel that I thoroughly know what it's like as a both a parent and a teacher in an elementary classroom. My son is excited about using his iPad in the classroom, sharing his science project with his peers, and even dancing during the cultural celebration assembly. My husband and I know that our young learner is having a great learning experience and that's exactly what we wanted. I am so glad that we took the time to get to know the teachers, staff and families for ourselves. Otherwise, we would have missed out on this great experience for our son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2014

It's an excellent school. Lots of incentives to perform. The teachers are excellent and try to understand the children's needs. The Star afterschool program is great at Westport as well. They support the parents by trying to help the children with their homework. Our API score is 891. I am happy tor report my child is doing great here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

Westport Heights is staffed with professional, knowledgeable, and creative teachers who work hard to deliver instructions to a variety of students. My son just began Kinder this year, but I was able to meet much of the staff during Back-To-School Night. Everyone was open, warm, and welcoming. I really wanted to get a feel for the school so I visited several grade levels so that I would know what to expect in the future. I was impressed with the quality of work that I saw in all of the classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

This school is great. My child is learning so much and it is located in a good residential area
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2013

I wished this school would make changes, but it never did to my dismay. My child never said anything bad about school and the teacher would always do a day by day status (negative) behavior of my child and in return my child withdrew. My child is not one to act up, but something was not right. All I know the teacher(s) take sides before they know the complete story and do not try to solve it. It is your problem as a parent even though you have been a dedicated parent and attend events. I never knew the complete truth. Who are you supposed th believe? It might be too much to ask, while waiting for my child to get out of school with my younger child some of adults picking up kids were talking loud on phones and using lanuage that was not approciate - role models?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2013

As an educator, I have had the opportunity to teach all elementary grade levels, in public and private schools. I have chosen to work at Westport Heights because of its exceptional team of educators and supportive leadership, Mrs. Karen Long.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 30, 2013

Our son started his kindergarten year at Westport Heights and I am totally impressed with what he has learned so far! He is currently one of the top readers in his class and since he first started I can see a major transformation. I am impressed with the projects and work that the students learn and I love how Mrs Bishay teaches the children manners, encourages the children to learn, and good behavior habits. I live in the district area of this school and I love the diversity and organization of the school as a parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2013

My family has had two kids at this school, one of whom went through all the grades, and another who is still there. We are happy with the quality of the teachers, and Ms. Long is an excellent principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2013

I LOVE Westport Heights but more importantly my children LOVE Westport Heights!! We have a full-time caregiver but my oldest (2nd grader) wants to stay longer at school so he is in after-school care! The teachers are accessible and responsive. My children are reading at advanced levels and have tailored assignments. Field trips, garden, compostings, music, art, and diversity...what more could I ask for? We typically walk or ride bikes. We have tons of fun! Of course, you get what you give and my husband and I are very active. Thanks WHES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2012

I agree with the criticisms posted about the school. Many of the families and kids there were delightful and deserved better in my opinion. I see negative reviews were removed, but they seemed accurate to me. I was a parent there. Academically the school expects too little. Some teachers are unprofessional, gossiping, inappropriate (sarcastic toward kids, can t spell) in class. The spelling issues on my kids homework alone were disturbing. I personally experienced troubles with teachers in class and how they treat students. My kids were not problem kids but experienced a lot of unnecessary stress because of this issue. Minor rules are enforced with hypocritical zeal. Students are penalized for tardiness while some teachers regularly collect students 5 to 10 minutes AFTER last bell. 50 mn per week of lost learning time. If teachers are on time, THEN they can kvetch about tardy students. One example of many problems. Leadership doesn t walk its talk and other priorities prevail over education (eg career/political moves, cya). It may work, and you may get the good teachers there. But go in with your eyes open. It is not the oasis that some people say it is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2012

I would like to respond to the negative posts. The key to the sucess of one's child in any situation is the parent. Wesport Heights is a school with so much potential but with parents who complain rather than "do" to make changes how can things improve??? Was it beneath you to wipe the table or offer to help clean? It's not beneath me or my children. We pick up other people's trash at school, clean the restrooms as much as we can etc....get my gist? I and many other WHES parents I know jump in and do what ever needs to be done for our school and our children. I have chosen to send my children there. I can afford private school, but being part of the local community is something I want to instill in my children. The Teachers and Parent volunteers work so hard towards this community feeling. If there is a negative to this school it is the lack of total parent involvement. It is the same wonderful group of Mom's and Dad's ALWAYS doing everything for the school. If more parents volunteered to help we could take WHES to AMAZING school status. I'm sorry your experience was so unpleasant, I am going to continue to work hard in my non job working hours to volunteer for a better WHES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2012

Direct access to teachers & the ability to be involved with the educational program with both of my children who attend, is a wonderful bonus. The teachers take the time to work with parents/students who are serious about their education! Walking & riding bikes & talking with my children as we go to and from our neighborhood school is a wonderful bonus. What we put in, we get out of Westport Heights & even with budget cuts & program losses, we are having a positive experience. The local schools that our tax dollars pay to keep open, can't improve unless we support the programs. It takes a major commitment, but the end result is fantastic! Parent volunteer program at WHES is outstanding & I'm proud to be part of that support team!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2012

I am well-known advocate for education here in Westchester. My children have many options of where to attend school - we chose Westport Heights Elementary School and have loved every minute of it. My son went here from K-5th and will always treasure the friends he made, including many of the teachers who he still is in touch with. The administration always puts children first and the teachers are caring and gifted educators. My daughter has attended the school from Pre-K (excellent program) to the present (she is now in 5th Grade). We have NEVER had any incidents but only truly wonderful educational experiences. In fact, both of my children have gotten PERFECT math scores on their standardized Calif tests for three years running. This would not have happened without the excellent education that they have received from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2012

My son has attended Westport Heights since Kindergarten and although there were one or two bumps in the road, overall our experience has been very positive. The teachers and staff are dedicated and hard working. The parents are also dedicated and hard working and we all work together to make our children's experience a positive one. Sometimes as parents it is easy to simply criticize and focus on what could be better rather than also look at what is good and how we can pitch in to make things better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2012

This is in response to the parent who had the horrible experience in Kinder. As the parent of 2 students at Westport, I understand your concerns. I'd also like to explain to you the process that probably caused these classroom switches. Sadly, LAUSD requires a certain number of children in each classroom, and they give each school approx 4 weeks to reach that goal. Each year, the school is staffed based on the number of children who are suppose to attend. When children end up not attending, or leave to attend a magnet after school starts, the classroom sizes become too small to fill the LAUSD requirements. In these cases the school must make hard decisions, which are usually 2-fold. 1. Let a teacher go; 2. Merge children into other Classrooms. This is hard on all parties. Sure the students are unhappy to move, but the kids are very sad to loose a teacher that has been part of their school family. But I promise you, once they settle-in the learning soars. Good luck at your new school and I hope that your children will love it as much as mine love Westport. To all those families whose home-school is Westport, please take a tour, and give this wonderful neighborhood school a chance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2012

Westport Heights has a hardworking team of teachers who truly care about their student's success! We have great leadership and community support!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 22, 2010

This is a great school. The students are always glad to arrive and never seem to want to leave. There is tremendous parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

Good people, willing to work with you. We've had a number of fabulous teachers here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

a lot of parent involment, great teachers,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

In the 5 years my two children have been in Westport Heights they have had classes with 10 of our 22 teachers - and we have loved every one of them! Westport Heights has everything - dedicated experienced teachers, administration willing to both lead and listen, and a hard-working large group of parents. The curriculum is sound and we are all constantly employing more and more innovative techniques to further improve our students' achievements. There is always something going on to make the school better: beautification, fundraising, afterschool enrichment, and so on. If you don't like this school - then you just haven't shown up!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

821

Change from
2012 to 2013

-22

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

821

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-22

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
39%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
32%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students40%
Females52%
Males30%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino32%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability44%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only39%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate31%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)18%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students40%
Females48%
Males33%
African American37%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino26%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability44%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only39%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate31%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)23%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students55%
Females58%
Males50%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate60%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students76%
Females74%
Males79%
African American76%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Females77%
Males54%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate59%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students81%
Females90%
Males71%
African American84%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students65%
Females71%
Males59%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate57%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students72%
Females71%
Males74%
African American68%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)84%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students57%
Females63%
Males52%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 48%
Hispanic 31%
White 10%
Asian 6%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/AN/A
English language learners 7%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 243 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
77%
agree
 
District average
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
71%
 

District average

 
70%
 

Students

This school

 
82%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
74%
agree
 
District average
77%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
74%
 

District average

 
74%
 

Employees

This school

 
73%
 

District average

 
81%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
68%
agree
 
District average
70%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
90%
 

District average

 
78%
 

Students

This school

 
53%
 

District average

 
58%
 

Employees

This school

 
60%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
71%
agree
 
District average
68%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
73%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Employees

This school

 
69%
 

District average

 
71%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
73%
agree
 
District average
66%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
73%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents8626%
Students13579%
Employees2252%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Susan Allen
Fax number
  • (310) 654-4258

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6011 West 79th Street
Los Angeles, CA 90045
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 645-5611

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Carousel School
Los Angeles, CA


Carousel - Airport Blvd
Los Angeles, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT