Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westwood Charter Elementary School

Charter | K-5

 
 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $584,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

190 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2014

I cannot think of anything significantly horrible or wonderful that personally happened while our child attended Westwood Charter. The thing that has kept this school thriving with wonderful reviews is the parent involvement. It feels very much like a co-op/community type of enviroment. We made lots of friends we will always adore. Your experience does heavily rely on which teacher you get. Communication is below average between parent/teacher and parent/office staff. The cirruculumn is outdated and its sole purpose is to produce high test scores at the end of the year. And unfortunetly I have witnessed (4 times) and personally had to intervene (1 time) a teacher who was screaming for an extended period of time at 2 of her students in an older grade. Safety measures are in place but rarely used. If we stayed at Westwood Charter we would be accepting below average and hoping for something better. We are looking for a more progressive school with better safety measures and consistency in teachers who really want to love and teach our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Westwood is about community. The parents, teachers, administraiton and students all work together to create a safe but challenging environment for the students to learn and flourish. Westwood is a place where all kids can grow, make friends and learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2013

Caring, active teachers and parents along with our new principle make WWC a great school! There is a terrific Arts, Music, and Gardening program too! We love WWC!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2013

This school is only as good as the teacher you get each year. Two kids can go to this school and get completely different educations. My oldest son had a wonderful education here. I pulled my younger child from the school-he didn't have the luck of the draw when it came to teachers. Another issue is that the teachers and administration support each other to a fault-if there is an issue, even if a teacher or administrator is off base, the staff rallies around one another and turns the issue around so that the child or parents are the culprit. It is only natural for professionals to look out for each other, but at Westwood Charter this is done to a fault, and to the detriment of the students. We experienced it as have a few of our friends. That said, if you get the "right" teachers there is a good education to be had-it's the luck of the draw.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2013

I have been very impressed with this charter school, it is run by a strong group of involved parents and caring, creative teachers. My son has done well in K and now 1st grade and has formed lasting friendships and blossomed in his learning. There is much here to be admired, including the innovative ways the community raises money, stays organized and takes action -- the new principal this year was just ousted for not stepping up and being a positive, present leader. The only cons for me personally -- the large number of students, the lack of real-world diversity and the ongoing issue of campus security.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2013

Westwood Charter is a very warm nurturing inclusive school. Both of my children went there. There were fun after-school programs as well. It rivals many private institutions. Children blossom there. The teachers and Administration do care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2013

It's quite obvious that Westwood Charter has a great sense of community. As a possible future attending family, I'm curious to see more reviews about academic instruction: is there a lot of ditto/text work or more holistic approaches, such as Writer's Workshop, literature groups, Cognitively Guided Instruction for math, Foss kits / inquiry based science, etc? I ask because our older child attends a highly reputable school, state scores off the charts, but her classroom could NOT be more teacher and test centered - I couldn't be more disappointed. The classroom sorely lacks lifelong learning skills needed for success the 21st century. I hope it's a different story here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2012

I used Great Schools to research the best elementary school for our daughter when we moved to LA. We really lucked out that Westwood Charter Elementary was our first pick and we were able to move nearby. Unlike so many charters it is truly a neighborhood school. No competitive lottery with donations flying around from rich donors who buy their way in. If you live in the district, you're in. The acedemic level of excellence is very high, and the only complaint I hear is that some parents do like the challenging academics. I don't mind and my daughter has grown SO MUCH since we started in the middle of 1st grade. There is also an amazing art teacher, music teacher, P.E. teacher, and even a full time gardening teacher. A brand new library and so much parental involvement. When LAUSD makes cuts, the WISE board kicks in with $ and I'm amazed by their fundraising success. It's been a charter school for over 20 years so it's been around... The old principal was incredible and I'm not surprised that the new principal who replaced her seems just as special. I guess any principal would love to be at Westwood Charter! Highly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2011

Well, I guess I'm a parent of one of those "slightly above average" students that the previous two reviewers had the misfortune of having in their little genius' classes. I feel awful that my child has skewed their learning opportunities. However, I have found the teachers overly caring, supportive, and constantly encouraging my child to be the best she can be. The parent involvement is great. True, the office personnel are horrible and rude. But if you can look past that, your will find an excellent, neighborhood gem that prepares children very well for the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2011

If your child is average, then send them here. They have a lot of enrichment that you won't find in other cash strapped schools. However, if your child is highly/profoundly gifted then you need to find a better match for them. They do not know how to help extremely bright kids. They misdiagnosed my son and gave him services that were not appropriate for his needs. Thank goodness I had the foresight to pull him out before more damage was done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2011

We found the teaching methods were not consistently rigorous and yearned for a teacher who required regular spelling tests and the basics even in the lower grades. One teacher did not challenge my older child and required him to do "busy" math exercises instead of accelerating his learning. She was incapable of educating a gifted student. Despite its fierce nature to raise money from parents, the Charter school (and Charter administration) refused to pay for testing needs and we didn't feel that the the money raised should go into teachers' assistants. It's a good school, but we wished for more rigorous academic standards and received an opportunity to transfer my children to a magnet. When I asked my older child what the difference was between his current school and Westwood Charter, he felt that the lessons at Westwood flowed like molasses with too many students who didn't understand math concepts. As a working mother, I felt that it was very difficult to obtain information from the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2011

In general Holy Angels prepared my daughter well for college. (This also applied to the older child, a few years ahead) She had a good background in most subject areas and was able to take on both the quantity and the individual responsibility aspects of college work. She acquired a love of Italian and (in the earlier grades) of French. The partnership with FDU enabled both girls to get a head start at college as they received Middle College Program(MCP) credits for some subjects - allowing them to bypass some core credit requirements and either move ahead faster or do more interesting electives at college. The one area of concern was math which was a struggle and where I found I had to pay extra for tutorial assistance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

This is a school full of wonderful teachers that work with each childs strong points and help with the weak points. My daughter has excelled in academica and confidence in this very supportive environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2010

The commitment of the staff and parents in brilliant.


Posted October 5, 2010

As a parent whose child went to 3 different elementery school I could fairely call myself a good Judge. In no other school I have seen such a close neat of parents teamwork and so much caring and sensitivity to every child's needs. It is a place where all talents are tended and flourished.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2010

We are new to the school this year, and have found the office staff to be HORRIBLE. They are consistently rude, unfriendly, and unhelpful. If you can get past that than you will find an incredible school filled with teachers and parents who truly care about your child s learning. It is refreshing to see the teachers and parents working so well together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2010

It's such a great neighborhood school with an amazing group of families that share the common belief that it takes a village to raise a child...
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 3, 2010

The culture of the school dictates that teachers and parents must work as a team in order to bring success to each and every student. This is a constant reminder when the grades are refered to "family" (e.g., 1st grade family).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

Westwood Charter is incredible. It's a save learning environment with a comprehensive cirriculum. Emotional and intellectual support is there for all students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

I have been very impress the couple of times we have visited the school. My grand children have been involved in some very wonder classes. The theater department is fantastic. My grandchhildren love the school and I think that is important. They respect their teachers. When I visited the school last year and couldn't find my grand sons class, every one was very pleasant and helpful


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

945

Change from
2012 to 2013

+5

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

945

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+5

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Females88%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disability50%
Students with no reported disability87%
English learner69%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state69%

Math

All Students89%
Females93%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disability75%
Students with no reported disability90%
English learner77%
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to state69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Females89%
Males73%
African American75%
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disability67%
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students89%
Females92%
Males85%
African American83%
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disability64%
Students with no reported disability91%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Females89%
Males97%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disability91%
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students88%
Females83%
Males94%
African Americann/a
Asian88%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disability82%
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Females98%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability99%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only99%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate99%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students91%
Females85%
Males95%
African Americann/a
Asian89%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students96%
Females94%
Males98%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only96%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 17% 11%
Hispanic 9% 52%
Black 4% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A54%
Female 249%N/A48%
Male 251%N/A51%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 525 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
70%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
68%
 

Students

This school

 
72%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
69%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
82%
 

Employees

This school

 
57%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
81%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
94%
 

Students

This school

 
63%
 

Employees

This school

 
85%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
65%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
65%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
61%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
61%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents21430%
Students29876%
Employees1313%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2050 Selby Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90025
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 474-7788

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Paul The Apostle
Los Angeles, CA


St. Timothy School
Los Angeles, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT