Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
45 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 57 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Windsor Hills Math Science
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 27, 2015
- a teacher
Professional Development is provided every week to keep teachers informed and improve their teaching ability. District professionals provide insight into new curriculum and how to implement it in the classroom. Teachers work in collaborative model to enhance the educational experience for all students. Grade level meetings are held twice a month to exchange curriculum ideas and plans to assist the students that need extra accommodation to meet state standards.

Windsor Hills Math Science
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a teacher
Respect is the foundation of the pillars and it is reflected daily. Counsellors are available to impart the importance of respect and assist with solving bullying issues on a daily basis. Parent meetings are held monthly to discuss concerns and provide pointers that parents can use to improve student respect.


Windsor Hills Math Science
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a teacher
Every morning assembly students are reminded that they are not mediocre but exceptional. Posted are the 4 pillars or core of the new behavior pact to remind students of the great scholars they are and the engineers they will become.

Windsor Hills Math Science
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a teacher
New behavior program addresses these areas and encourages students to take responsibility for their own actions.

Windsor Hills Math Science
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 06, 2015
- a community member
This school is extremely dissapointing. Windsor Hills does not live up to even the basics of potential. There are too many students that are obnoxious, dysfuntional and constantly fighting. The students that are there to learn, blossoming, mannerful and kind are being drowned out by the negative behavioral students. For children that are very impressionable, this is NOT the school to enroll in. There are teachers and staff members that are rude, disrespectful and should not be in the educational field.


Windsor Hills Math Science 1

Posted October 18, 2014
- a community member
I am a student at Windsor Hills and kids are getting bullied, saying bad words, unkind, every grade has a fight every day and some teachers are mean.

Windsor Hills Math Science 1

Posted July 02, 2013
- a parent
DO NOT send your child to this school, my son started this school in 2nd grade highly above average as indicated by california standardized testing and is leaving this school going to 4th grade now at average, over the summer we will be brushing up on the skills that this school failed to provide and foster , disgusted

Windsor Hills Math Science 2

Posted May 16, 2012
- a parent
DIsorganized! This stems from the principle lack of leadership, dis-organization and poor judgement. As stated in other reviews the princple only has her "pet" teachers in her best interest, fund raisers 2nd and the children last. There are a handful of great teachers but just as many poor teachers. They also allow family members of current teachers as well as the principles mother to sustitute the classes. The school is just poorly managed, which is unfortunate for a school that has so much potential.


Windsor Hills Math Science 5

Posted April 18, 2012
- a community member
i went to Windsor Hills since Pr-k all the way to %th grade. i loved it i enjoyed all my teachers and the principal. i didnt want to grow up when i realized i would have to leave the school. This school taught me everything. i am now a freshman in college and i wish i can go back to when times where great in windsor hills. i graduated there in 2004 and here it is 2012 and im still wishing for a chance to go back and see all the loving people who molded me into the intellegent young lady i am today. I have a 6 month old son and i guarentee he will be in windsor hills if it stands. i love and miss this school and when iim done with the army i will go back and visit.- Shanice Mahone c/o 2004

Windsor Hills Math Science 4

Posted December 01, 2011
- a parent
This is my son's first year at this school. He came from a school where he was bullied by both his teacher and some of the students. So this school is definitely a big jump from there. So far, things are okay. The school is very clean and the principal seems dedicated. Many of the teachers seem a little detached however. I've found that his current teacher has very short patience. I thought this was a little odd as a 4th grade instructor. I understand that teaching children is a challenge and I do acknowledge my son's lack of attention. But he's come a long way from his school last year. Teachers kept quitting or getting laid off there and my son's class had 6 teachers within one year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Windsor Hills Math Science
5215 Overdale Drive, Los Angeles, CA  90043-2020
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 57 reviews. (323) 293-6251
Last modified Windsor Hills Math Science is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top