Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Orville Wright Engineering And Design Magnet

Public | 6-8 | 786 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 11 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

67 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 20, 2010

My daughter is a 6th grader and loves it. She leaves for school happy and comes home happy every day. She feels safe and secure there, and I feel good that she is so close to home. I am impressed with her teachers and the future projects she will be working on, very involved and challenging. I had a chance to meet the new principal and I was very impressed with his enthusiasm and motivation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2010

It's obvious that the post below is not really a parent. This school is underperforming middle school age children in everyway. As other have noted, the amount of bullying that the adminstration allows is unacceptable. It's unacceptable that this is the only public option for tax payers in this area. This school does not provide a safe and quality education for our children. This area needs smaller schools who properly serve the community, rather than one that fails to provide what children deserve to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2010

Two of my children have attended Orville and both have received an excellent education. The test scores of my children show they're not only learning state standards but are excelling above them. Their honors programs are excellent. The teachers and administration are great and the campus is clean and safe. I recommend taking a tour for yourself to see all the wonderful opportunities offered. I wouldn't consider going to a different school when the one in our neighborhood has great API scores, great teachers, and definately prepares students for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2010

My kids have attended Orville for the past two years and have had a wonderful experience. The staff is very hands on and caring. The curriculum has been challenging and most of all I love that they are attending their neighborhood school. They have friends from the neighborhood that they walk home with and have felt safe on campus. We have a new Principal this year that has set the bar high and I forsee great things happening over the next year. This is one of the few schools that met the subgroup targets. It shows that they are teaching all children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2010

The children that are trouble makers, bully, untrained, rude and curse openly make this school a terrible place to be involved with. Communication is poor and budget cuts has worsened the entire situation. I would look elsewhere if I were a parent of a 6th grader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2010

My son is a 6th grader at Orville and I am very dissatisfied with the school. The teachers and staff show no leadership capibilities. The teachers only care about your child if they earn good grades and sit quietly. My son is talkative so he has been treated poorly even called a bad name by one teacher. The campus is covered in trash on a daily basis and the children are rude and curse openly. Needless to say, this is our last year at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2010

I have a son who attends Wright magnet and is in the 6th grade. I have found since the first day of school many issues with the quality of teaching and management of the children. My son has been involved with many un called for situations. he was suspended for defending himself against another boy who laid hands on my son. The teachers promise to keep you informed about your child, however since day one I only hear from them when the problem is out of control. They also claim that they will rspond to you quickly if you need them. I have e-mailed for months without response. the classes are over crowded and in my opinion the school is a poor choice for any child. My son will not be attending there after this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

I have attended this school for all 3 years, & about to graduate. In my opinion, this school is below average. Examples include right on the students. Most are highly disrespectful, very rude, and there are many fights & arguments amongst the students. Sometimes there are racial discriminations from students towards other students. In my 7th grade year, I can recall a 'rumble' between the Hispanic/Latino against the African-Americans. Of course, the fight was stopped right when it occurred, but the violence is clearly unncessary. In my case, I believe the teachers I've had is good in most cases. They can teach fairly well. Most will help you and they do care about your grades. The school has some good extra curriculum actvities, such as the Flight Simulator. I'm not pleased with the environment, though. The halls and school grounds are always covered with trash. Overall, the school is below average.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 8, 2009

I had just graduated from this school and I think this school is pretty average. I was in the high honor classes throughout my three years at Orville Wright and my teachers were great. My teachers cared about me and my grades. If I was behind they would personally help me out until I got the lesson. My councilor really helped me out and in my opinion the best councilor ever Dr.Kobashi she has the dedication to help out students and understands the students. But to honest i am not very fond of our new principal Mr.Stapleton and think that the schools old principal understood the students better.I also liked the electives offered but a language elective would be a nice edition.Orville Wright is pretty good school I enjoyed my years a Iot I would have no problem recommending this school to parents.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 1, 2009

I attended Orville Wright for 2 years now and I still am highly unimpressed.This school doesn't provide a safe environment for its students. Also the relationships between students are terrible in my opinion. The children are just plain rude and mean, and the school is dirty. Children here believe they can have the last word in an argument and are highly disrepectful. The school work is far from challenging,and teachers don't seem to care. I wonder how much worse the school will become now that LAUSD has no money, they are already taking away some electives and i think getting rid of the library.I'm not sure how other children feel about this school, but if anything it probably isn't about education since here at Orville most of the children worry about social status.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2009

I realy think that this school is a realy good school. I tink that because this school offeres sooo much for us students, there is yearbook classes, flight simulator clases, book club, enviormental express which is a club, basketball teams, and alot of other things. It has a wonderful counciler for all three grades, the 6th grade coulciler is Ms. Cheffy, the 7th grade counsiler is Ms.White, and the 8th grade counsiler is Mr. Mandell. Also our loving and caring principal is Mr.Staplton. They also provide honer clases, HighHoners clases, and S.A.S clases. I am mostl likly amnot going to be there next year because of the move i am going to do. But i am going to miss it alot.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2009

This is a great school. We have great teachers, supportive parents and smart kids. i currently attend orville as a seventh grade and cant wait for my last year there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2009

i think that this school is okay. i'm a seventh grader here, and the play production is awesome! :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 18, 2008

This school is great. My 8th grader son likes it and he is learning alot. He really liked the Youth Summit Summit that was held for the first time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

My son is currently attending Orville in the 8th grade. He really likes his school and feels great support from his teachers. This has motivated my son to excel in all subjects and not just the ones he cares for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2008

I went to Orville Wright Magnet and I must say it is a great school. My teachers were outstanding and really did care about the well being of the students. The Magnet staff is the most caring and supportive.The Honors and SAS classes are great and challenging. Their Drama and Music programs are excellent and make students want to participate. Most Teachers are very good but others are lacking. All in all I believe it is a great school and you should definately check it out.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2008

Im very please with orville keep up the good work
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

My son has attended Wright since the 6th grade. I am very happy with Wright. Overall it's a great school however, like any school it needs to work on the communication with the parents, students and teachers. don't wait until the very end of a grading period to notify a student that he is not working up to par. Keep up with the phone calls when the parents call and keep a breast of what the child is doing in the form of academics. It takes the teacher , the student and the parents to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2007

I was not pleased with the overall concern of the teachers. I felt that the teachers forgot what good teaching is, and is focusing on the negative rather than the positive. A lot of good is happening at Wright but is being overshadowed by the discipline problems that is being dealt with on a daily basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2007

Class are operating at sub-standard level, teachers have little control of classrooms, homework is not graded; admin. is disorganized.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

737

Change from
2012 to 2013

-38

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

737

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-38

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

218 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
56%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
49%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
9%

2011

 
 
0%

2010

 
 
20%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

233 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

222 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students50%
Females47%
Males52%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disability9%
Students with no reported disability53%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented79%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)40%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate62%
Parent education - declined to state47%

Math

All Students34%
Females32%
Males36%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disability33%
Students with no reported disability34%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only35%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented74%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate8%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)37%
Parent education - college graduate63%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate54%
Parent education - declined to state29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students47%
Females52%
Males42%
African American39%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino51%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disability9%
Students with no reported disability49%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)34%
Parent education - college graduate52%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate76%
Parent education - declined to state42%

Math

All Students40%
Females43%
Males37%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disability9%
Students with no reported disability42%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only41%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented84%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)28%
Parent education - college graduate58%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to state35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students24%
Females28%
Males20%
African American18%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)27%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability25%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only24%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented63%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate14%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)18%
Parent education - college graduate25%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate69%
Parent education - declined to state20%

English Language Arts

All Students47%
Females52%
Males42%
African American41%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disability21%
Students with no reported disability49%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate36%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)43%
Parent education - college graduate66%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state39%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students38%
Females37%
Males40%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disability13%
Students with no reported disability42%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only39%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented82%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate31%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)33%
Parent education - college graduate52%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to state33%

Science

All Students49%
Females46%
Males50%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disability31%
Students with no reported disability50%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only49%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate36%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate57%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate77%
Parent education - declined to state41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 67%
Hispanic 22%
White 7%
Asian 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/AN/A
English language learners 3%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dana Perryman
Fax number
  • (310) 568-8942

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Engineering
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6550 West 80th Street
Los Angeles, CA 90045
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 258-6600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ballona Creek Academy
Los Angeles, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT