Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Yorkdale Elementary School 3

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
Some teachers seem to care about the students but other just don't care. My son has been attended yorkdale since kinder (he is now in second grade) and has had one terrible teacher. As for the principle she is really rude you will not listen to you the office staff is really nice. But i have heard other parents complain about the principal and i clearly do no understand why she is still there...

Yorkdale Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 27, 2014
- a parent
Well my child started TK here and all seemed great at first. Then i began. to have concerns. For example when you pick these 4-5 year old kids they vring them through the same gate as the big kids and the teacher doesnt ask you to sign them out. So anyone in you family can baisically pick them up because the child sais they know the person. (Whats is the point of an emergency card then?). Then the restroom in my childs classroom does not work and has been out of order for more than three weeks. Lets remember that these kids are 4-5 and they have to walk a good distabce unsupervised!! And when i spoke to the principle she was so rude, like she didn't want to hear it. As a parent we want to feel comfortable to be able to speak to the principle and not have to be belittled. So this has been a nightmare for me, we as parent should not have to settle just because we cant afford a private school.


Yorkdale Elementary School 2

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
This school it's was great until my daughter got to 2nd grade and got Mrs Steeg as her teacher she was really rude and really noisy when it came for absence and tardy. I as a mother understand the responsibility of getting my daughter on time or getting her to school so she don't miss but What I mean she is noisy is when one of the time my daughter missed was when my grandma witch is my daughter great grandma was really ill we had a family praying for her all day that day so I send the note and she still questioning my daughter asking her what's does my grandma have and my daughter got sad cuz she.brought out the subject again things like this she would do which I didn't like at all! Her kinder teacher was amazing her first even way better but her second she just needs to be concern on her teaching and not to much on the students life outside I send the notes with details and my number so she can call me and ask me not my daughter overall the principal didn't do much at all she just suggested to chance my daughter to school which I did but that was not the point she also does it to other students she also told my ex husband that I was a mother that didn't care 4 my daughter.

Yorkdale Elementary School 4

Posted May 01, 2014
- a teacher
Overall test scores went up these past few years. Teachers are .awesome...Computer leader knows his materials and great with students.

Yorkdale Elementary School 3

Posted January 08, 2009
- a community member
As with all kids it's not the job of the techers to raise the kids that attend any given School. The parents need to be involved in the life of their child in all aspects if they are to succed in School/life. The school has great teachers who do a great job, the leadership of the principal needs to improve in a positive way in many aspects, but most of all the parents need to be more involved with their child/children to cause a positive effect in their life, and in the overall grade this School recives.


Yorkdale Elementary School
no rating

Posted June 16, 2008
- a parent
My daughter is finishing up her Kindergarten year with Mrs. Tang! She is the best teacher....my daughter has a wonderful year with her. She learned to read, write, and do simple addition and subtraction. I don't know if I will keep her at the school...but Mrs.Tang is amazing:)!!

Yorkdale Elementary School 5

Posted April 23, 2007
- a parent
The Kindergarden program is excellent, my daughter has learned almost to a 1st grader level. I love the incentives that the school gives as the Panther Bucks to promote good behaviour.

Yorkdale Elementary School 3

Posted June 08, 2006
- a parent
My daughter was in the Pre-K program at Yorkdale with Mrs. Larson in 2004. It was a great experience. Mrs. Larson is actually teaching the children a kindergarten curriculum. It was a great start for my daughter's education.


Yorkdale Elementary School 4

Posted September 07, 2005
- a parent
I love this school. The teachers are excellent at what they do. The principal welcomes parental participation.

Yorkdale Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2005
- a parent
Yorkdale proved to be a great school for my children. Thanks to strong, caring, motivated and dedicated teachers and an enthusiastic Principal, I feel Yorkdale provided both my children with far beyond basic education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Yorkdale Elementary School
5657 Meridian Street, Los Angeles, CA  90042-1850
(323) 255-0587
Last modified Yorkdale Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Yorkdale Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top