Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
68 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 94 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Goethe International Charter School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
Nope, I don't see that the school teachers determination with their students and staff. thank you

Goethe International Charter School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
I don't have much to say about that and respect should be taught at home.


Goethe International Charter School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
I believe there is of compassion for student and parents. They use more of a accusing tone though students when thing do not go there way.

Goethe International Charter School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
No, I do not believe there is fairness when it comes to the student and staff.

Goethe International Charter School 3

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
When my child started this school in Kindergarten, I thought it had great potential. But now I feel that they do not have the children best interest in mind. Here is a list of a few things that I believe that is wrong with the school: - Mismanagement of money/or always asking for money. - Cater more to the German speak students and parents. - Lack of support for nonnative speaking students when it come to the children learning German - Not much diversity in the student body and teachers. - In the three years that my child has been attending, the school has a high turner of teachers, staff and students. - Student’s safety is a concern because the school is house on Marina Del Rey middle school and there have been incidents with the middle school students and Goethe students. My advice is to dig a little deeper to find out what is truly going on at the school. Parent


Goethe International Charter School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 12, 2016
- a community member
Our Executive Director, Gwenis Laura, is AWESOME! She's very dedicated, loves the students, and has the experience to run a world-class school such as this one.

Goethe International Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 12, 2016
- a community member
Teachers are so dedicated, innovative, always looking for new and creative ways to teach. The teaching team system works very well.

Goethe International Charter School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 12, 2016
- a community member
I like the school's "low homework" policy. The students are accountable to complete assignments but most of the time, class time is enough to finish, with small amounts for reinforcement.


Goethe International Charter School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 12, 2016
- a community member
Yes-students are encouraged to stretch themselves and learn new things. Mastering a new language can be challenging but my kids have done great with it, which has built determination and confidence.

Goethe International Charter School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted April 12, 2016
- a community member
I feel the classroom culture is highly respectful of the teachers. Each student has a "job" or role in class and it's their responsibility. There are "buddy" reading partnerships between classes - my sons really enjoy working with the younger kids to share knowledge.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Goethe International Charter School
12500 Braddock Drive, Los Angeles, CA  90066
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 94 reviews. (310) 306-3484
Last modified Goethe International Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top