Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
63 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 77 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Goethe International Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 26, 2015
- a community member
Thank you Frau Calnon and Mrs Newman in TK K for making our school experience amazing, magical, and fun. Your classrooms are safe and full of learning, my daughter already speaks a second language, and she is learning how to be a good citizen everyday. Truly the best teachers, thank you!

Goethe International Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 18, 2015
- a student
All my teachers have made learning fun and encouraged us to feel confident about ourselves.


Goethe International Charter School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 18, 2015
- a student
At Goethe they teach us how to manage our time well, because we have a lot of projects. My teacher doesn't want us to do more home work than an hour.

Goethe International Charter School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a student
yes, because a lot of the kids are not only academically strong, but also are accomplished in out of school activities, such as sports, art and music.

Goethe International Charter School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a student
The students are encouraged to respect everybody on the campus and out of school and the teachers respect what the kids feel.


Goethe International Charter School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a student
You see less people alone at recess since the buddy bench came to GICS, kids see how each other feel when they are on the buddy bench and it's easy to make friends. The buddy bench is a bench where kids sit down on, if they have nobody to play with, other kids will walk past the buddy bench and ask to play together.

Goethe International Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a student
I strongly agree, because we communicate, solve conflict, teachers are easy to approach and open minded to your thoughts.

Goethe International Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
Dear Staff of Goethe School Thank you for exposing my child to multiple cultures, for teaching him how to sing Happy Birthday in Turkish (plus many other languages), appreciate the deeper meaning and create artful lanterns for the German Lantern festival, for seeing my child for who he is and enriching his day with challenge, fun and encouragement. I feel very blessed being able to send my son to this wonderful environment.


Goethe International Charter School 5

Posted September 27, 2015
- a community member
What does our family truly LOVE About Goethe International Charter School (Goethe or GICS for short)? Here it is in a nutshell: FREE education International Baccalaureate World School Small Class Sizes German Teachers Are Actually From Germany with 50% day in German, 50% in English Amazing After-School Program from Coach Derek Soccer Team Music & PE & Art Classes for all Spanish starting in Grade 3 Volleyball Team Coached by South African Olympian Andor Gyulai Goethe Cafe Every Friday Established Facebook Groups for each grade and PTA for easy communication Amazing Parent Involvement Super Fun and Themed Yearly Gala where you get to dress up and bid on awesome stuff (last year we had ELLEN tickets and so much more) Thank you so much for your help and we hope you tour Goethe and love it as much as we do.

Goethe International Charter School 1

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
i had so much discrimination on my child. they give preferences to the German background kids. the kinder garden teacher at the first day of school put my child 3 times timeout and at lunch time she put my child separated from the other kids.they just get a few kids from any other races just because is the law and when they in the school, they do this kind of things to the kids to let them leave by they own.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Goethe International Charter School
12500 Braddock Drive, Los Angeles, CA  90066
(310) 306-3484
Last modified Goethe International Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Goethe International Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 77 reviews. Top