Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Magnolia Science Academy 6 School

Charter | 6-8 | 168 students

Our school is known for safe small class-school size and STEM.

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $497,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,550.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 17 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 13, 2012

Magonolia Science Academy 6 is an amazing school we moved our son from Culver City Middle School, we were a little apprehensive at first by the school Principal and office staff made our child and us feel at home, with regards to the academics we have seen our child improve in his math and all his core classes, the after school programs are truly amazing they are helping our child get his homework done and is like receiving free tutoring, with my wife we feel we are getting private school treatment and education at no cost. We HIGHLY recommend Magnolia Science Academy 6, it has been the best move we have done for our kid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2012

My younger brother currently is attending his second year at Magnolia Science Academy 6 and as an older sister I have seen great improvement in his work and social habits. Magnolia is a small school, which in this case has many advantages. Of course, the school is not perfect, no school is, but I say it's just the kind of environment kids should be in. I went to CCMS, and honestly I wish my mom would've found the school before I graduated. Having been able to visit the school many times I have experienced the way the school runs. The kids there are brilliant, thoughtful, considerate, and of course a bit mischievous. Each adult working at the school knows and learns EVERY SINGLE kids (and parents) name. That was not the case at my school and I wish it was. The staff makes sure that your child gets the exact help and attention that they need, because they do not think of your kid as just any other student, but as an individual. The principal at Magnolia is very considerate of the parents thoughts, ideas, and suggestions. He tries, and succeeds, to create a family atmosphere at the school. I highly recommend this school. DFTBA (Dont Forget To Be Awesome)


Posted August 22, 2012

This school is brilliant and I highly suggest going here. The place is spectacular and your child will have no problem making friends. Most of the teachers are great and as long as your child behaves, he/she will succeed. Go here, as the after school programs are fun and exciting, and so is mostly everything else, or so my child says. They even have a special program for your amazing math wiz, where he/she will compete in tournaments against many other smart students. Try MSA6 and you will definitely be satisfied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2012

I came here from a very caring elementary. Thinking, its a small school the principal at the time was so encoring. In the middle of the year several teachers disappeared and so did the principal. The newly formed parent group tried to get things moving and everyone working together, but the non-sense of the administration chased them away. The education is below average- lets just say I feel so guilty my child has to make up and entire year and came in at the top of the class. Math and science ?? seems there was none. Teachers are not helpful and very mean. They will not log in a grade on coolsis but yet sign that is was done? I wanted to be a part of a smaller school- but this education is worse than neighborhood over crowded middle schools. We are gone! They need better quality teachers and leadership. Lining the kids up for a morning meeting is not considered leadership. It is not challenging and offers little to opportunities. After school activities is like a free for all not helpful. Oh not to mention some students steal and there is little to no discipline. This is a business for the money not for the education of our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2012

I would caution anyone looking into this school to do a lot of research prior to enrolling your child. MSA 6 has had a 99% turn over rate with teachers and 100% with administration since the inception only 3 years ago. Although they have tried to rectify a very sub-standard principal by replacing him, there have been little-if-any sign of improvement to the teaching standards or the curriculum since the arrival of the new principal. He is also unwilling to work with the parents so much so that there is no longer a parent group in existence. The educational environment is rote with virtually no hands on education or higher learning oportunities. Even the advanced math program is using the exact handouts from last year rendering it useless to those previoulsly enrolled. The Math/Science/Technology programs are all very weak with no science equipment and no useful technology programs. For example, the typing program only teaches the home keys because "we would have to pay to go on to the other keys". The only reason I can even give one star is for the small class sizes, but given the lack of all else it should hardly be a decision making factor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2012

I just want to say that this school has done an amazing job this year. I do hear that there are parents who complain all the time, but you get that everywhere. Check out this article...http://www.cnn.com/2011/09/06/living/teachers-want-to-tell-parents/index.html. This is just a group of parents though. For the most part, the parents here are more than satisfied with this school. Every month there is a newsletter that helps bridge the communication between the school and the students/parents, a breakfast with the principal, and there are assemblies twice a week. Also, there website is updated all the time. Some of these reviews do not give this school the just rating that it does deserve. If you are able to go to this school, you should attend here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2012

This is our 2nd year and it had not gotten better. They seem to care more about are the children in uniform then if a child needs help. Admin does not communicate well with parents. A few , a very few teachers are gems, while others do not communicate well to parents and the students. Coolis seems like a great idea however many teachers do not keep current with the kids grades. My son tells me many class mates may not be returning for 8th grade due to parents not feeling childrend are getting proper education , I am thinking maybe I need to investigate that as an option.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2012

The school is average. The administration is average as well. Most of the teachers are great, some not so great. The school lacks organization and professionalism. My child has attended this school for two years. The first year was average with so many changes in the administration and with teachers, very unstable. I had hopes that this year it would improve, but unfortunately its still very unstable. I'm glad this is my child's last year. She is graduating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2010

This is my child's first year in Magnolia Science Academy 6 (MSA-6). MSA-6 has excellent learning environment for students both in academically and non-academically. Its curriculum has been designed to challenge students and to encourage parents to be involved in students' success. As a parent I can follow my child's daily school activities via school's COOLSIS system, through which I communicate my child's teachers easily. Principal, teachers, and administrators, and parents have been working together for the success of students, especially in this under funded environment. It is evident from its API score, 841, which is way above the state average; I can say that MSA 6 is very accomplished school given the second year of its operation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2010

I am very happy as a parent that my child is going to this school.The school is offering a variety of activities as an after school program. Students sign up for two programs and all teachers are involved with their programs till the end of the day four days of a week consistently. Because the the school is small, teachers and administration are giving good care for the students. The school is well known for preparing the students statewide science projects and nationwide math and scince competitions. I wish the school had senior hs as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2010

This is my child's second year at Magnolia and I have no complaints so far. The size of the classes are what I appreciate and the quick email updates from the teachers, staff and principal. Their CoolSIS system keeps me in touch with whats happening at the school which is reassuring. It's really hard to fail with such a great system. They are a diamond in the rough, but that's fine with me! I'm happy and so is my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2010

This is my second year at the school. There is a new prinicipal. I have had GREAT experiences with him. He has an open door policy, is extremely attentive and responsive both in person and via email. My child absolutely loves the school and is thriving. My child is doing EXTREMELY well both academically and socially. This year they implemented a sport sprogram. My child can not wait to start soccer. If you are an involved parent, and willing to participate and work with the school, this school is for you. If are a complainer but never show up or follow through on your parent commitments, this is not the school for you! This school also provides one on one tutoring academically, this school is very challenging. Please remember this is middle school not elementary school. Students are starting to experience being accountable and responsible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2010

We came into the school under new leadership which we were not aware of when we signed up. The new principal is very condescending. He treats the kids like "friends" instead of students, so they really like him. However, he has a "my way or the highway" attitude along with lots of talk and little action. There is no working with parents, sadly, because there seems to be a very strong parent group here. Secondly, there are several teachers who cannot speak english. My child does not understand 90% of what is going on in these classrooms due to the language barrier. These are Science & Technology teachers - the backbone of this school! Math is weak as well. Sad, because on the other hand there seems to be a group of very good teachers here who are stuck under the leadership of one very bad principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

Happy to report that Magnolia 6 should be a role model for other schools. Teachers are very accommodating and are eager to teach. Students will benefit from classroom routine to prepare for highschool and college. This is a diamond in the ruff, but the word is gettting out. They may need to expand very soon. Great atmosphere for 6th graders transioning to middle school and zero bullying tollerance makes it ideal for students entering the pre-adolence stage of life. Would recommend this school to parents who care about their children's education and well being.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2010

My child joined last year as a 6th grader. She is rather shy and joined later, after switching from a bigger Middle school, but the teachers are very attentive, respond to email queries promptly and the school has a strict non-bullying policy. The school community as a whole - parents, students really does have a family feel about it; I was especially impressed by the Fundraising fair last Spring which was well organized and had a great turnout! What else can I say? With the small classrooms, supportive caring environment, and stimulating extra curricular activities, I have peace of mind knowing my child is in good hands.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2010

we are new to MSA 6 so don't have a lot of experience, but wanted to share that we are feeling very positive and excited about it. orientation was thorough and friendly. staff seems generous, sincere, and hard working.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

828

Change from
2012 to 2013

-17

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

828

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-17

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
n/a
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students50%
Females68%
Males32%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged40%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only51%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate35%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students41%
Females36%
Males45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged24%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability42%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only49%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate35%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Females92%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students41%
Females50%
Males36%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino14%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged31%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability41%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only41%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students15%
Females6%
Males23%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino11%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)17%
Economically disadvantaged14%
Non-economically disadvantaged18%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability18%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only15%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students65%
Females62%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate58%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate73%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students50%
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability50%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students70%
Females57%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students82%
Females67%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate91%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 58%
Black 22%
White 8%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/AN/A
English language learners 9%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
Korean
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Korean
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 4:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • John Terzi
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (310) 842-8558

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Kickball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


4 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
70
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
183
Students typically come from these schools
El Marino ES
Palms ES
Shenandoah ES

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Magnolia Science Academy 4
University High School
Culver City High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3754 Dunn Dr.
Los Angeles, CA 90034
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 842-8555

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Augustine
Culver City, CA


Angeles Workshop School
Los Angeles, CA


The Little Flock Academy
Los Angeles, CA




Park Century School
Culver City, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT