Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


UCLA Community School 5

Posted October 02, 2013
- a parent
As part of UCLA s Graduate School of Education, you can expect that the curriculum will reflect best practices for teaching. After years of rotating principals, the school now has an excellent leader, Norma Silva, who is committed to recapturing the school s position as a national leader in education. The school s emphasis is on the whole child, looking at children s social/emotional learning but also offering differentiated instruction in multi-age classrooms. Under Silva s leadership the academics have improved substantially and while it is true (as one writer complained) that some families have tutors, this more likely reflects the aspirations of the parents than any deficiencies in teaching. The teachers know what they are doing, and while the process may occasionally seem mystifying to parents who attended more traditional schools, one cannot argue with the product. The children are incredibly happy and extremely self-confident and move on to the top middle schools. Cool Tools, which may seem a bit strange to some parents, gives children behavioral and ethical guidelines that they can use for their entire lives. The community of families is racially and economically diverse.

UCLA Community School 5

Posted August 16, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school with great teachers :-) The staff keeps everything very organized, and the teacher are easy to be reached at any time.


UCLA Community School 5

Posted May 08, 2013
- a community member
My school is the best you be at. Teachers, that care the most about you, even though they make you do hard work, you learn to explain it in many different ways. We don't only teach subjects for school, but also things you need for life. We have Gearup, and its a program for 7th and 8th grader. I feel every conferrable in my school. I don't wish for any more to change We are united Were we all grow together

UCLA Community School 4

Posted April 27, 2012
- a parent
My daughter goes to this school because we live in this school's area. We're lucky that her 2nd grade teacher was Ms. Kate Beaudet. She's a great teacher. Now my kid is in 4th grade. Unfortunately we're not satisfied with her current teacher now. This school doesn't have advanced programs such as SAS or magnet for advanced skill kids. So we have to move.

UCLA Community School 5

Posted February 24, 2012
- a parent
This is such a fantastic school!! Teachers here show how much they want to make a difference in the lives of these students. I feel its a very safe school, they dont tolerate bullying here. These students come out of school really happy. I have never seen any fighting after school. Staff are very helpful,the principle is also great. Love their afterschool programs. My child loves this school and has learned so much here. I cant wait until my son attend this schoo next year.. :)


UCLA Community School 5

Posted June 28, 2011
- a community member
I love learning Spanish here everyday as my third language(apart from English & my Asian language). I also enjoy the artwork in the afterschool program. This school is so beautiful. We also go on a LOT of fieldtrips and we go to UCLA to watch shows by UCLA university students. I feel safe in our afterschool program. My classmates are all great to be with. I love my school!

UCLA Community School 5

Posted June 27, 2011
- a parent
Bilingual classes offered to all students starting in Kindergarten, either Korean/English or Spanish/English staffed by qualified teachers. It is up to the school administration to maintain its quality level of instruction & peaceful school environment. Nice location in the heart of the city.

UCLA Community School 5

Posted January 18, 2011
- a parent
Huge K-12 school in a great business district, with free afterschool programs like homework tutoring from UCLA staff. Bilingual classes of your choice, either Korean or Spanish, which is a good deal for children nowadays because United States is mostly comprised of Spanish speaking residents. Given solid leadership, this school will produce excellent students because of parent involvement.


UCLA Community School 5

Posted September 21, 2010
- a parent
My child goes here & I am happy that there is an option of either Korean or Spanish immersion for the students. Nowadays, it is essential to know a second language to be a global citizen. This school works like a charter school & run by UCLA administrators. Great location too. I'm glad we live in the area.

UCLA Community School 5

Posted September 10, 2010
- a community member
i am a student soon attending this school and thinks its certainly is going to be a excellent community school

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

UCLA Community School
700 South Mariposa Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90005
(213) 480-3750
Last modified UCLA Community School is a Public school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
UCLA Community School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top